2 worth looking at

• 2 worth looking at

Jamaica could do with a few quality players to strengthen their squad.
    Here are two who could make a difference.
    1.Jermaine Beckford(Leeds United)
    2.Marvin Elliott(Bristol City).
    With The Boyz struggling for goals Jermaine Beckford would be an exellent addition to our squad he is quick, good with both feet and carries an aerial threat and is the hottest striker outside the EPL already scored 10 this season.Marvin Elliott is a hard working midfielder with a terrific engine he runs and tackles all day passes it simply was Bristol City's player of the year last season.

I am ABSOLUTELY AND TOTALLY against the continued search and inclusion of players who have not done a thing towards warranting a Reggae Boyz jersey other than some family tree connection. It is embarrassing and an admission of incompetence and failure. No other country in the entire world does this any where near the desperate levels we have over the last 1o years.

I agree...the continued search for 2 dollar ballers have to stop

I am ABSOLUTELY AND TOTALLY against the continued search and inclusion of players who have not done a thing towards warranting a Reggae Boyz jersey other than some family tree connection. It is embarrassing and an admission of incompetence and failure. No other country in the entire world does this any where near the desperate levels we have over the last 1o years.
        Some people may not agree with that policy but even the super powers in football use whatever they can use to their advantage. England,Germany,Republic of Ireland,Ghana,Nigeria,Ivory coast and to a greater extent France,i am sure all these countries have got more resources than Jamaica and if they can use the system why cant we?

Yes, but lets ensure that the players of quality and want to play for jamaica as opposed to us convincing them.

England - first of all is not a "superpower in football"...they don't have naturalise foootballers...

Germany - tell me one baller them have that was born in a foreign land and hasn't lived there for most their lives apart from Podolsky....

Ghana, Nigeria, Ivory Coast - all their "great international ballers" all came up through their youth system and were discovered either during the Olympics or the under 17 system. Most of them have spent a good portion of time in their countries.

We on the other hand...just send out invite to some 2 dollar baller based on them salary and expect them to reproduce in a foreign land...

England - first of all is not a "superpower in football"...they don't have naturalise foootballers...
              England is currently ranked 15 in the world by FIFA. They have been in the top ten for years. They in my mind are a super power, they are only working on their organization and form right now.

Since when they do not naturalize footballers? Wasn't John Barnes a footballer who was naturalized by them?
              Last edited by Tilla; September 13, 2008, 04:44 PM.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Originally posted by Culture Sound View Post

Germany - tell me one baller them have that was born in a foreign land and hasn't lived there for most their lives apart from Podolsky....

Ghana, Nigeria, Ivory Coast - all their "great international ballers" all came up through their youth system and were discovered either during the Olympics or the under 17 system. Most of them have spent a good portion of time in their countries.

We on the other hand...just send out invite to some 2 dollar baller based on them salary and expect them to reproduce in a foreign land...
                So a weh Owen Hargreaves born and grow up,Podolski,Kirani from Germany what about them Christian Vieri play fi Italy weh him come from,Eduardo a Croation a how many a de France side weh win world cup actually born a france.Why Nigeria did a try fi cap Agbonlahor,why the English born Everton Striker play fi Nigeria in a the Olimpics,Why my son tell me say a Jamaica him want to play for even though him born a England. Uno can stay deh

Mr Chelsea man...first of all congrats on your impressive victory.

You see how far back you haffi go to find one for England
                  You are basing your determination of a super power off the flawed fifa rankings...so Czech Republic have been ranked in the top 10 for at least 10 years....are they a super power....Turkey is ranked 10th, are they a super power. When England start leave Wembley and go to other nations with reputation and beat them consistently then they can be considered a super power. For me the only super powers in football are:
                  Brazil, Argentina, Germany and Italy

France - only win big tournaments in France and always "under achieve"
                  England - get a free pass because they are the birth place of football

Compare dem man deh who lived in the Nation that they are representing for years to the 2 dollar baller them people want represent Jamaica that don't even know how many parishes are in Jamaica. Every one a dem baller you hear....born to such and such parents but have lived here for all their lives

Any country in the world will use the system if the players are better than what them got,its the same thing for other sports as well wether it be cricket, athletics or whatever.If them big countries use it why cant little jamaica.

Thank you sar!
                        I was on the street and thought the game was starting 11AM my time. I was rushing got home at 11:20, only to find it was actually 11:30 that it was starting. Felt so good.

The team played well, although they allowed Robinho to have a small moment of glory. Anyway, the real class shone through.

Back to the world power argument, it is all relative. If you think only Brazil, Argentina, Germany and Italy are super powers, then so be it. It seems as if you use the teams with the most World Cup wins as a yard stick. I think of it differently however as those teams can be beaten by the Czech Republics, Croatias, Portugals, Turkey's etc on their day.

When are we going to ever achieve the level of play of England? MAybe not in your or my lifetime. You notice that the two top teams in our conference (Mexico and the USA) cannot beat England? That should tell you something.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Originally posted by Culture Sound View Post
                          Compare dem man deh who lived in the Nation that they are representing for years to the 2 dollar baller them people want represent Jamaica that don't even know how many parishes are in Jamaica. Every one a dem baller you hear....born to such and such parents but have lived here for all their lives
                          Like most of us,people go foriegn fi try and better themselves some return home some dont,i try and take my youth them to Jamaica at least every two years while some people cant afford to take them youth at all. But one thing is for certain most youth of Jamaican parents love Jamaica and if them want to represent Jamaica and are better than what we got they should be given the chance.

Culture, have you ever considered that because they are not tapping their player pool of foreign born like France, Portugal, Germany etc, they are at a disadvantage? Maybe they need to start looking into that. Yuh nuh see the USA going in that direction now? That means we are going to have a hard time beating them in the future.

What did Davian thorpe do to earn a Jamaica Call up? Woodbine? Evon Taylor?

You have to be consistent Mosiah...
                              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)