My take on Marlon King

• My take on Marlon King

He might have been rude, disrespectful, indisciplined, etc. However, if he can be disciplined while playing in the EPL, granted they are paying him real money, someone must be able to get him to paly international ball for Ja and show discipline, respect and leadership. King's absence in a leading role for Ja has to be seen as poor management in Ja. If we could get Onandi to play for us after really bad behavior, why cant we inspire King?

The real sad part is that if we are unable to take advantage of the mathematical chance of getting to South Africa, he likely wont be worth much fir the campaign to Brazil. Both he and the JFF are likely to be wondering "what if."

The man is class. I would have loved to see him play for us on the road in this campaign. Whoever takes over the team, will have to call King back. Period. No way Deon Burton should be starting over this youth.
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Who wouldn't want him on their side? But...

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
        The man is class. I would have loved to see him play for us on the road in this campaign. Whoever takes over the team, will have to call King back. Period. No way Deon Burton should be starting over this youth.
        I keep stressing he is the best striker available to us right now.Has anyone from the JFF actually come out and say he is not in the squad for disciplinary reasons or Simoes just didnt rate him?

Nandi nuh drink rum.

King has had more than one bout with been drunk and misbehaving.

Good player, I hope marriage settle him down still.

wha you call class? Stan Collymore, Gazza and Nandi were also class.

Are you saying that King turned up for national team game/training drunk? Shed some more light on this please. Or is this just another "hate on Marlon King" post?
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

I saw class in the two goals he scored today. I also saw class in the chip cross he made for Tyrone Marshall to score vs Costa Rica recently. I saw class in that first half hatrick he scored against Haiti a couple years ago, and further class in the brace he hit vs El Salvador in El Salvador last campaign.

Like you, I am perhaps the biggest Simoes fan on this message board, and still is, but his selection policy was suspect. For now, if Marlon King take shots of whiskey at home or get drunk drinking a few beers every now and then, thats his personal business, and has nothing to do with his performances on the footrball field. To compare Marlon King to Paul Gascoigne, a known alcholoic is careless in my mind.

Simoes a history now. While he was there I support. Regardless of what happen he is not afraid to take chances, something our coaches need to do.

At it is with King, what I do know is that 80% of the UB40s are heavy drinkers and come from a drinking culture. King has gotten in trouble a few times because of his behavior and of course a some liquor involved. He is certainly not blameless.

The penalty was sloppy.

Actually didnt see the penalty...saw his other goal.

And what was your take on the other goal?

Excellent! Low grounder to the far corner. A peach! Did just enuff to get the shot off.

thanks.

Oh, left foot shot too!

Not the one I saw, he placed it just outside the reach of a goalie who is known to save penalties