• Keane brands Jack Warner 'a clown'

Keane brands Fifa rep 'a clown'

Keane's outburst came in the build-up to Sunderland's match with Wigan

Sunderland boss Roy Keane has branded Fifa vice-president Jack Warner "a clown" and a "disgrace" in a furious war of words over striker Dwight Yorke.
    Trinidad and Tobago star Yorke was set to face the United States in midweek but was allegedly withdrawn by Keane.
    Warner, a Trinidad Football Association adviser, said Keane had shown "a callous disregard for small countries".
    But Keane retorted: "Yorke is retired. I've told Jack what I think of him and where to go. He's a clown, a disgrace."
    Yorke, who played in the 1-1 draw with Guatemala at the weekend, was quoted in the Trinidad Express newspaper before he missed the 3-0 defeat by the US as saying that he was "feeling caught between a rock and a hard place with my club and my country".
    The situation prompted Warner to send an open letter to the media, in which he said Keane's actions "will not endear you or Sunderland to such countries". He continued: "Your insensitivity and disrespect for countries such as Trinidad and Tobago are hereby noted."
    However, Keane, speaking ahead of the Black Cats' Premier League match against Wigan on Saturday, stated: "Yorke has played one reserve game for us since busting a cheek recently.
    606: DEBATE
    Give your reaction here
    "The agreement I had with the player was that he was not up to match fitness or speed and therefore wouldn't play in the match. He's 36 - he can't play two matches in a week.
    "I love it when my players represent their countries at the highest level - I'm not like other managers in the Premier League and play silly games - but he's not fit and he says he's retired from international football anyway.
    "Obviously, My Warner is making all these threats and a lot of them through the media but he doesn't really care about these players - he makes out he does but he doesn't.
    "It's ridiculous. I'll be writing a letter back to Jack but - unlike him - I won't be giving it to the media. Basically, if he's the vice-president of Fifa, God help us all."
    And the former Republic of Ireland and Manchester United midfielder warned that the player could face a reprimand too, saying: "Yorke has got to look at himself as well, mind. "He's told me he's retired from international football about five times and then I switch on the TV and he's running about with the squad. I don't know if it's an ego trip or whether he likes the odd cameo. "But I do know, for example, that we wouldn't have offered him a one-year deal this season if he'd said he was going to be playing for Trinidad. I'll be speaking to him today."

Dem pale face yah nah nuh manners iyah, di side need di man fi play an him nuh allow it and den ah come call di man "clown". Jack Warner a nuh wi favourite, but dis ah disrespect to di highest degree. An den wi a clamour fi guh play ball ah inna dem yah country. Mi did rate dis yah Irish, kah di Irish an one a di bettah pale dem, but from now fiyah bun him an Sunderland, dem muss guh dung, watch it. Renk outah ordah an facey.

Keane may very well be right. This is the same Yorke who, when playing for Man U, and when he had the semi final of the Champs League in Spain, allegedly requested time off so that he could watch his bredrin Lara play cricket.

Roy Keane may be an animal on the pitch and in the pubs but I believe him when he said he hired Yorke with certain conditions such as Yorke being retired from international competition, etc.

I believe him when he said he hired Yorke with certain conditions such as Yorke being retired from international competition, etc.
        It is quite likely that Keane and the club cannot make York's retirement from international football one of the criteria for signing the player. FIFA rules says you cannot stop a player from representing his country. What if York decides to come out of retirement?
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Keane brands Fifa rep 'a clown'

Keane's outburst came in the build-up to Sunderland's match with Wigan

Sunderland boss Roy Keane has branded Fifa vice-president Jack Warner "a clown" and a "disgrace" in a furious war of words over striker Dwight Yorke.
          Trinidad and Tobago star Yorke was set to face the United States in midweek but was allegedly withdrawn by Keane.
          Warner, a Trinidad Football Association adviser, said Keane had shown "a callous disregard for small countries".
          But Keane retorted: "Yorke is retired. I've told Jack what I think of him and where to go. He's a clown, a disgrace."
          Yorke, who played in the 1-1 draw with Guatemala at the weekend, was quoted in the Trinidad Express newspaper before he missed the 3-0 defeat by the US as saying that he was "feeling caught between a rock and a hard place with my club and my country".
          The situation prompted Warner to send an open letter to the media, in which he said Keane's actions "will not endear you or Sunderland to such countries". He continued: "Your insensitivity and disrespect for countries such as Trinidad and Tobago are hereby noted."
          However, Keane, speaking ahead of the Black Cats' Premier League match against Wigan on Saturday, stated: "Yorke has played one reserve game for us since busting a cheek recently.
          606: DEBATE
          Give your reaction here
          "The agreement I had with the player was that he was not up to match fitness or speed and therefore wouldn't play in the match. He's 36 - he can't play two matches in a week.
          "I love it when my players represent their countries at the highest level - I'm not like other managers in the Premier League and play silly games - but he's not fit and he says he's retired from international football anyway.
          "Obviously, My Warner is making all these threats and a lot of them through the media but he doesn't really care about these players - he makes out he does but he doesn't.
          "It's ridiculous. I'll be writing a letter back to Jack but - unlike him - I won't be giving it to the media. Basically, if he's the vice-president of Fifa, God help us all."
          And the former Republic of Ireland and Manchester United midfielder warned that the player could face a reprimand too, saying: "Yorke has got to look at himself as well, mind. "He's told me he's retired from international football about five times and then I switch on the TV and he's running about with the squad. I don't know if it's an ego trip or whether he likes the odd cameo. "But I do know, for example, that we wouldn't have offered him a one-year deal this season if he'd said he was going to be playing for Trinidad. I'll be speaking to him today."

Once again, Warner works his magic. He has got Keane to show he is manipulating his player...and has flouted the FIFA stated stance that clubs should release players for international duty.

Aaaaah Jack! Bwoy yuh bad tuh blouse naught -

Jack - ...we will not be taking action this time!
          ...or words to that effect. Clearly you have laid the ground (Kean's own words...blab-blab ...we would not have given a contract! ...Dwight had said he was retired from international competition... and how mad you were to see him 'running around with Trinidad', etc., etc.) for a little twisting when next you may need Dwight!

It is quite likely that Keane and the club cannot make York's retirement from international football one of the criteria for signing the player. FIFA rules says you cannot stop a player from representing his country. What if York decides to come out of retirement?
            Huh? Are you saying...no you could not be saying that Keane had to sign him, retired or not.

If Yorke comes out of retirement, the club would have every right to reconsider.

Huh? Are you saying...no you could not be saying that Keane had to sign him, retired or not.

If Yorke comes out of retirement, the club would have every right to reconsider.
              As a practical matter you are correct...Tilla was merely putting out there FIFA's 'sayings'.

"Jack" got Keane!

Let's get serious here. I know the rules and you are right. However, I am sure when Keane was having a frank discussion with his 36 year old former teammate he for sure said that if he was going to consider hiring a 36 year old to help a team in the EPL avoid relegation he would only do so if the 36 year old would be available exclusively to the team to give his 100% when needed. Keane would likely have selected someone else with that money if he knew that Yorke would be coming out of retirement and also being aware of past shenanigans that Yorke perpetrated when he went on international duty and was slow to return. He is also aware of how a 36 year old can be more susceptible to damage and the need for longer healing times. As crazy as Keane is, I believe him and I also believe the vast majority of his players who speak glowingly of his loyalty and commitment.

Jack Warner fires back at Roy Keane's public insult

Jack Warner fires back at Roy Keane's public insult.

Friday, 12 September 2008 15:20 By: Shaun Fuentes (TTFF).

Dear Mr Keane,
                  The disrespectful tone of your reported comments in the press further demonstrates the total disrespect that you and others of your ilk have generally for players and officials from "small" countries. It is obviously difficult for you to accept the fact that someone from a "small" country could rise to become a Vice President of FIFA.

I chose to respond on a FIFA letter-head because that is a privilege afforded me owing to my said status and the fact that your callousness showed utter disregard for FIFA's regulations re the release of players for international duty. regrettably, but not surprisingly, you did not grasp the message.

Your reference to the injury sustained by Kenwyne Jones during an International Friendly between Trinidad and Tobago and England bears no relevance to the matter in question as, contrary to what you would have others believe, we have been monitoring his progress and I have even extended to him, through his Agent, Mike Berry, on more than one occasion my words of comfort and continuing concern.

In closing may I remind you that a player's greatest honour is to represent his country in spite of the fact that you chose to walk away from yours during the 2002 Korea/Japan World Cup after publicly abusing your Manager.............an indictment that you will no doubt be proud of up to today. Poor Sunderland ! ! !

Yours sincerely
                  JACK AUSTIN WARNER 100 YEARS FIFA 1904‐2004
                  FIFA Vice President
                  September 12, 2008

The Letter

Jack Warner sends letter to Roy Keane

Tuesday, 09 September 2008 17:09 Inshan Mohammed

Mr Roy Keane
                    Manager
                    Sunderland F.C.
                    English

Dear Mr. Keane,

Your continuing insensitivity and disrespect for countries such as the twin island Republic of Trinidad and Tobago are hereby noted. Such insensitivity and disrespect were again most recently displayed by your having summoned Mr. Dwight Yorke to return to England last weekend, thus rendering him unavailable to represent the country of his birth in a crucial World Cup qualifying preliminary vs USA tomorrow (September 10, 2008).

Your callous disregard for the rights of "small" countries to have their players represent them as enshrined in FIFA regulations reveals a mean streak in your character and one which will not endear you or Sunderland to football aficionados of such countries. It is a dangerous path to tread.

Yet the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation will, in this instance, at least neither insist on nor pursue its rights to have you and Sunderland make Mr. Yorke available to represent his country but such refusal or reluctance on its part ought or not to be interpreted as a sign of weakness by the federation.

Please be guided accordingly

Yours faithfully
                    Jack Warner
                    Vice President
                    FIFA.

Jack's tie is disrespectful

not to mention the other fellow's! dag!

Both Keane & Warner are out of order. The facts appear to be on Keane's side. Regardless of the facts, however, Warner leveled an unfair accusation in public instead of trying to work with Keane and the Sunderland hierarchy. Keane reacted by calling him a clown, which is just as wrong. Then Warner comes back and talks about his little country, the right to use FIFA stationary and how Keane previously walked on his country and bad mouthed his country's manager six years ago. All this has nothing to do with the basic issue.

Jack does behave like a clown and has too vaunted a view of himself. Keane never backs down from a bar fight. So, like the upcoming US election, Jack has distracted Keane from the real issue and now they are arguing personal stuff. Both end up looking bad.

The real bad guy is Yorke. I have no doubt he scammed Sunderland and Keane. From the days of his prime form he has always been prone to displaying antics and less than genuine commitment when it suits him. It may be best for Sunderland to just get rid of him. One thing is for sure, Fergie and Keane still talk. I bet Fergie called Keane and said something like this. "Roy, you got bloody well scammed. Now the powerful FIFA is going to come down hard on you. Ha, ha."

Agreed 100!

Keane and Warner's war of words takes new twist

The controversy between Sunderland manager Roy Keane and Jack Warner took a new twist on Friday with a letter from the FIFA vice-president hitting out at the former Manchester United star.

Keane was initially angered by Warner's criticism when Sunderland striker Dwight Yorke withdrew from Trinidad and Tobago's World Cup match against the United States two days ago, with reports saying Keane had a lot to do with the player's decision.

But Keane hit back to say: "Yorke is retired. I've told Jack what I think of him and where to go. He's a clown, a disgrace."

The Sunderland boss described Warner, a special advisor to the Trinidad and Tobago FA, added: "If he is vice-president of FIFA, then God help us", and suggested he wrote letters on FIFA-headed writing paper "just to impress everybody".

(continue)