Good football teams win on the road...

• Good football teams win on the road...

Big field, likkle field, wet field , dry field...matters not!

It may be a tough pill to swallow...but a top heavy NPL RB team cannot play at top levels.

Honduras returning home with an AWAY win will not be an easy task.

US beat Cuba 1 nil AWAY!!!

Pardna, the team actually followed the 8:3 ratio of farinahs to localz. I think it was the inadequate tactical planning that did us in. Add to that the fact that the middle had no creativity at all. The middle was missing a Jerry Hue, a Sean Fraser, or even a Jermaine Johnson.

Here's the starting ratio:
    Ricketts (Village United, Jamaica)
    Jermaine Taylor (Harbour View, Jamaica)
    Evan Taylor (Reno FC, Jamaica)

Tyrone Marshall (TFC, Canada)
    Pepe Goodison (Tranmere, England)
    Bibi Gardner (Bolton, England)
    Rudolph Austin (SKBrann, Norway)
    Andy Williams (RSL, USA)
    Demar Phillips (Stokes, England)
    Ricardo Fuller (Stokes, England)
    Deon Burton (Shef Wednesday, England)
    Last edited by Farmah; September 6, 2008, 10:49 PM.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

More like 7:4
      Austin just landed in Norway last week and had one game for his new team. Do you not think he needs a few more weeks and some matches under his belt before we start consider him foreign based?
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Razor sharp.

Blessed

No Tatics couldn't save us. Jermaine Johnson and Omar Daley with this ref we end up with 10 players on the field.

No Tatics couldn't save us. yes assasin juss write it off and work on a coceeding ratio as per goals ,That was Simoes plan.

Apologist.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Let me ask you. you think Mexico wasn't planning too? Before this game all a unnu write off this as a lost so now how unnu disappointed?

We all knew this was going to be our hardest game so what is new?

So what was our plan , seeing that no tactics could save us and this is our hardest game etc etc ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

It is simple. Go in and play. Give Mexico the wing and block up the inside, let them come and beat us and then we see attack in the second half. That was the plan but a goal in 2 minutes change everything.

The second goal Ricketts should have held it or punch it to the side, not in front of him. If we had gone in 1-0 at halftime that would have been a respectable score. But innu rush fi criticise unnu no see that. Unnu also nuh see the ref also changed the tempo of the game with cards and fouls for good tackles which put a lot of pressure on the youths.

Well the plan didn't work today and that is football especially when you playing against a better team so what is the big deal?

Yeah, it's Cuba though...how good was that?

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
                      Pardna, the team actually followed the 8:3 ratio of farinahs to localz. I think it was the inadequate tactical planning that did us in. Add to that the fact that the middle had no creativity at all. The middle was missing a Jerry Hue, a Sean Fraser, or even a Jermaine Johnson.

Here's the starting ratio:
                      Ricketts (Village United, Jamaica)
                      Jermaine Taylor (Harbour View, Jamaica)
                      Evan Taylor (Reno FC, Jamaica)

Tyrone Marshall (TFC, Canada)
                      Pepe Goodison (Tranmere, England)
                      Bibi Gardner (Bolton, England)
                      Rudolph Austin (SKBrann, Norway)
                      Andy Williams (RSL, USA)
                      Demar Phillips (Stokes, England)
                      Ricardo Fuller (Stokes, England)
                      Deon Burton (Shef Wednesday, England)
                      ...inadequate tactical planning did us in?

One instance that was shown - 1st goal.

...and the view could be taken that Simoes could not have arranged the wall = judge opennings the opposition would have had and taken the appropriate measures to limit those. There is no "wall" = defensive position - that can be taken to eliminate all possible positive "free-kicks" i.e. "free-kick" in and around the Penalty-Area that can result in a goal.

The Reggae Boyz allowed two members of the opposition to stand in the their wall. The simple counter measure, ...and I can speak on it being taught at Mico College while I was a student in 1966 through 1968...and when I went back to teach in the physical education department in the '80s (I think it was!)...is to break your wall and regroup in front of the attackers who have joined your wall. ...our Reggae Boyz did not.

Having said that in the preceding paragraph, the goal was scored because it went over and above a Reggae Boy who never jumped to attack the ball. A simple touch could ahve at the least deflected the ball upwards...and possible over the goal. Was that Reggae Boy taken by surprise - speed with which ball came at and passed over his head?

Taking away Mexico's good game...we lost, not because of tactics or tactical preparation, we lost because, we did not as Mexico did, keep possession by passing and moving. Our technical ability to 'control', put into play effective passing....we too often gave the ball to Mexico was the over-riding problem. That and that only killed us. That was highlighted by a 2-5 minute period in the second half where we passed...completed passing...and moved and keep possession and looked as if we knew what we were about.

Fact: Excepting for 'own-goals' there is the simple truth that if 'you' have the ball the other team....your opponents...cannot score.

We handed the ball to Mexico too often. Our midfield players Austin, Philips, E. Taylor and the other midfielder...and our defender J. Taylor gave the ball so often to Mexico that it is no stretch to say Mexico played with 14-15 players against the Reggae Boyz!
                      Last edited by Karl; September 7, 2008, 10:05 AM.

1-0 against Cuba?

The game was very close at that.

Mek them gwaan playing away to Cuba is the same thing as playing away to Mexico.

Big field, likkle field, wet field , dry field...matters not!

It may be a tough pill to swallow...but a top heavy NPL RB team cannot play at top levels.

Honduras returning home with an AWAY win will not be an easy task.

US beat Cuba 1 nil AWAY!!!
                          Agree that good teams win away games no matter the size of the field. And you cite the US and Honduras away victories.
                          But putting things in perspective: Honduras played away to Mexico in their first game. What was the result? Now try to recall the last time, if any, that the US has won a game at the Stadio Azteca.
                          Now my pill gets bigger than yours: what is the ratio of CONCACAF teams beating Mexico in the Azteca?
                          With errant turnovers in the defense and midfield the Boyz kept the defeat in Mexico to a respectable result.

[B]
                            The Reggae Boyz allowed two members of the opposition to stand in the their wall. The simple counter measure, ...and I can speak on it being taught at Mico College while I was a student in 1966 through 1968...and when I went back to teach in the physical education department in the '80s (I think it was!)...is to break your wall and regroup in front of the attackers who have joined your wall. ...our Reggae Boyz did not.
                            Karl - GET REAL!!! What are you talking about? Any where the wall regrouped to the Mexicans could regroup in front of the wall itself! Is that so hard to understand!!?!? What am I missing here?

[B]
                            Having said that in the preceding paragraph, the goal was scored because it went over and above a Reggae Boy who never jumped to attack the ball. A simple touch could ahve at the least deflected the ball upwards...and possible over the goal. Was that Reggae Boy taken by surprise - speed with which ball came at and passed over his head?
                            There is a very popular view that walls should be stationary. Brazil and some other teams have made a living kicking low into a wall because the players in the wall jump. There is nothing more frightening for a goalkeeper to see a ball come through (under) the wall that he set. To just simply say that they didn't jump - ludicrous!

Y'all got carried away with the draw in Canada, not realising that Mexico is a different kettle of fish.

Do we really believe that we could have gone there and WIN , or that they would have let us out with a point ?

Was it Sass that posted some months ago that " Mexico was ripe for a beating" and how Mexico not that good.

Others believed that we could kill them with our "speed", and come away with a 3-1 win !!

All this game did was give the coach a in your face look at the deficiencies of our team. Now that it is plain to see I expect that in the remaining games we should get better.