No way, Jose!..Mexican Spies...

• No way, Jose!..Mexican Spies...

National technical director Rene Simoes, with the help of local supporters, yesterday ejected a group of Mexican journalists who were intent on video-taping a Reggae Boyz training session held at Winchester Park, North Street.

The senior Reggae Boyz are preparing for a tough CONCACAF World Cup qualifying game against top team Mexico at the feared Azteca Stadium in Mexico City on Saturday.

Although instructed by team manager Vin Blaine not to video-tape yesterday's practice, a Mexican cameraman insisted on getting footage of the team mid-way the training session as the players were about to begin a "full field" squad game.

However, the intruder was spotted by Brazilian Simoes, who gave him a verbal lashing while insisting that he leave the St George's College compound immediately.

Simoes was well backed by a group of local spectators who spotted yet another cameraman upstairs a building at the school and ensured that both men left the venue, along with two reporters whom they had accompanied.

This incident comes against the backdrop of reports out of Mexico yesterday that new team coach Sven-Goran Ericksson was a bit nervous about playing the Jamaicans.
    "I am a bit worried about them," Ericksson was reported to have said at a press conference yesterday. "They are strong, tall, robust and powerful. I believe they proved themselves in the draw against Canada. I respect them a lot."

"I don't know how prepared they are," said Ericksson. "But whatever shape they turn up in, we have to win."

Meanwhile, team captain Ricardo 'Bibi' Gardener watched yesterday's training from the sidelines. The veteran Bolton Wanderers defender was caught icing his groin at the start of yesterday's training session.

But the former Harbour View player assured journalists that the injury was minor and resting was precautionary. The dreadlocked Gardner said he will be fully fit for the game on Saturday, a claim supported by the technical director.

Meanwhile, Trinidad-based midfielder Woolry Wolfe joined up with the squad yesterday, making experienced midfielder Andy Williams the only player missing from the group.

Williams, who asked for additional time, was however set to arrive in the island at 6:30 pm yesterday. Simoes meantime noted that Williams' late arrival could prevent him from playing a starting role in Saturday's important encounter.

The reggae Boyz were set to host the Concacaf kingpins at the National Stadium in Kingston this Saturday, but the passage of Hurricane Gustav saw the game being hastily rescheduled for Mexico City, with the approval of the world governing body for the sport, FIFA.

The Jamaicans will depart the island tomorrow, a mere 24 hours before the start of the game on Saturday. But despite this scenario, Simoes was adamant that the team will be ready for the Mexican challenge at the daunting Azteca.

"These players are very understanding of the team's tactic and positioning... and they are professionals," he declared yesterday.

"... To be able to adjust quickly; that is what makes a player good. So the players and the coaches have to be ready to go out and play the game," he added..

look out for transportation and accomodation debacles to deprive them of rest and practice time.

THat is exactly what I am afraid will happen. However, I think Simoes is capable of preparing them for things like that.
      "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.

Originally posted by Twan View Post
        Williams, who asked for additional time, was however set to arrive in the island at 6:30 pm yesterday. Simoes meantime noted that Williams' late arrival could prevent him from playing a starting role in Saturday's important encounter.
        Andy is obviously not committed to the cause. LET HIM GO

Bricky I have to ask you this with all due respect because you take a swipe at Andy at every available chance:

Andy tek weh a gal from yuh?
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Yep, very likely they'll have a continuous parade of honking automobiles circling their hotel all night long before the game.

We should have also confiscate their video tapes.

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
                Bricky I have to ask you this with all due respect because you take a swipe at Andy at every available chance:

Andy lik him inna him head with brick and then a suh him get the name BRICKTOP !! ..dats why him nuh like him !!

Originally posted by Farmah View Post

Come on now man Andy is bout 5' 5" and have rum belly

Das why it hat yuh suh!

Andy is obviously not committed to the cause. LET HIM GO
                        I know you had no way of knowing, but you shoul cut the man some slack this time. The reports are that his wife is suffering from leukemia and needs a bone marrow transplant. Respect.

WOW!!!! That's some heavy news. I knew someone who died last week of the same thing. My prayers go out to him and his family.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That is some serious news. I wish he and his family all the best. I pray God's healing over his wife.
                            "We're not getting our butts kicked." Lauryn Williams on the U.S.-Jamaica rivalry.

Well I am truly sorry to hear that.