• Cuban defector Galindo pulls for homeland against USA

Former Cuban star turned defector pulling for homeland in qualifier

Maykel Galindo won't be here on Saturday for Cuba's historic World Cup qualifier against the United States. The former star forward of the Cuban national team defected to the U.S. in 2005, boarding a bus in Seattle during the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Cuban officials now view Galindo as a shamed figure whose example has spurred nine other defections by Cuban soccer players to the U.S. since 2005. Meanwhile, Cuban exiles see Galindo as a beacon of hope who now earns $79,750 a year playing professionally in the States.

But understand this: Galindo, who now plays for MLS's Chivas USA, has no confusion over his cheering interest on Saturday. "I'm rooting for Cuba," he says. "I'm Cuban, I played for the national team for a long time and I hope Cuba can advance in World Cup qualifying."

(continue)

YAY!!!!

Zeppo, that is no big thing. Many of us love the US, but hate it's politics.

Dread, Cuba fi cut out di foolishness now and leggo di yutes! Look pon China! Yao Ming and company mekking big bucks overseas and sending home to help China's economy. Cuba would be somewhat better-off ef dem 'low di yutes fi get pro contracts overseas. Di extra plus to that (not including the financial benefit), is dat dem will be able to keep their good players such as Galindo and di yute who play for Miami FC going back home to strenghten di team. Without a doubt, Cuba would gain much benefits from giving the players freedom to come and go!
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
          Zeppo, that is no big thing. Many of us love the US, but hate it's politics.
          Where does Galindo mention anything about U.S. politics?

He states that he's supporting Cuba because he's Cuban -- which he is.

Nothing wrong with that.

Ungrateful youth! Send him back to Cuba.

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
              Dread, Cuba fi cut out di foolishness now and leggo di yutes! Look pon China! Yao Ming and company mekking big bucks overseas and sending home to help China's economy. Cuba would be somewhat better-off ef dem 'low di yutes fi get pro contracts overseas. Di extra plus to that (not including the financial benefit), is dat dem will be able to keep their good players such as Galindo and di yute who play for Miami FC going back home to strenghten di team. Without a doubt, Cuba would gain much benefits from giving the players freedom to come and go!
              No argument from me Farmah...sound logic.