Boyz game shifted to Mexico this Saturday

• Boyz game shifted to Mexico this Saturday

FIFA has determined that the Group B World Cup encounter between Jamaica and Mexico will be played this Saturday in Mexico City instead of at the National Stadium. JamaicaWin.com was informed that the decision was taken in a conference call between the FIFA Stadiums review Commission and the Jamaica and Mexico Football Federations. President of the Jamaica Football Federation, Captain Horace Burrell confirmed the change.

The condition of the pitch at the local venue, which was under repair, has reportedly deteriorated with the passage of tropical storm Gustav.

FIFA looked at the following options before making its decision:

1- That the game be played at a neutral venue

2- That the game be played on a different date

3- That the fixtures are reversed, with Jamaica playing Mexico in Mexico City this Saturday and Mexico returning to Jamaica on October 11.

The first two options were difficult to meet as Jamaica would not cede their home advantage and the logistics of playing on a non-official FIFA date would not suit the coaches. They would have access to the players for 48 hours instead of the 72 on official match days.

Therefore the most popular option was for Jamaica to play away this Saturday and host Mexico later.

Jamaica held Canada to a 1-1 tie while Mexico beat Honduras 2-1 in the first set of games played on August 20.

Well the positive is that we get 3 consecutive HOME games.....9 possible pts..if we can pull it off..

Does Simones make changes to the squad, now that we have 2 away games back to back ?

Is this a blessing or curse ?

Group B World Cup matches remaining:

6.9.2008 Jamaica - Mexico 19:00 now in MEXICO..

6.9.2008 Canada - Honduras 20:00 Montreal, Quebec CAN

10.9.2008 Honduras - Jamaica TBD TBD, HON

10.9.2008 Mexico - Canada 20:00 Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas MEX

11.10.2008 Mexico - Jamaica 21:00 Ciudad de Mexico, MEX

11.10.2008 Honduras - Canada TBD TBD, HON

15.10.2008 Jamaica - Honduras 19:00 Kingston, JAM

15.10.2008 Canada - Mexico 19:00 Edmonton, Alberta CAN

19.11.2008 Jamaica - Canada TBD Kingston, JAM

19.11.2008 Honduras - Mexico TBD TBD, HON

Only last week, regional body CONCACAF cancelled a CONCACAF Champions League game between Harbour View and Mexican club Pumas FC on the back of news of the passage of Gustav. The game was originally scheduled for Thursday night, but was later rescheduled for Friday. It was later cancelled, forcing Harbour View to play the deciding game in Mexico.

WTF???!!!! It's a good ting me neva buy me plane ticket yet!!! So dem couldn't shift the match to Trelawny?
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

WTF???!!!! It's a good ting me neva buy me plane ticket yet!!! So dem couldn't shift the match to Trelawny?
          Yuh neva see de Trelawny pitch during de Bahamas? Jamaica well overdue for a football specific stadium. Lickle TT can do it so what's stopping us?

hosting the game in Trelawny would be a fiancial disaster for the JFF. No other sporting arena in Ja can generate gate reciept revenue like the national stadium.
            President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

even in making a loss!!!!

this is bad for us.
                After playing on saturday in Azteca the players will need more time to rest for Honduras.

Lickle TT can do it so what's stopping us?
                  Let us be realistic here Brush. Money is what is stopping us.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                    Well the positive is that we get 3 consecutive HOME games.....9 possible pts..if we can pull it off..

Does Simones make changes to the squad, now that we have 2 away games back to back ?

Is this a blessing or curse ?
                    It's a blessing in disguise. I'm sure Simoes has a contingency game plan for the unexpected or maybe he knew when Gustav was approaching Jamaica.

What about the altitutde? Isn't that going to affect us? This change could be a real disaster to our campaign. We have lost the advantage of our home supporters and the high of the our Olympic performances. S*&6t!!!!
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Will the kick off time be the same?

Let us be realistic here Brush. Money is what is stopping us.
                          I don't agree wid dat Tilla. It cost money fi build de one a Trelawny even wid de China money but it still get build. Wi need fi look pass how much it ago cost and look into how many new jobs and opportunities it will create to build and maintain it.

I would not be surprised if Simoes makes changes to the squad to adjust for the change of location.

Omar Cummings could be called in because of his high-altitude experience of playing at the Mile High stadium and now playing at DSG Stadium located near the Rocky Mountains.

Marlon King - though only a remote possibility - could also get a call given that he rested over the last weekend for Hull but has remained ready to take the field at any moment.

Would also not be surprised to see the speedy and energetic J C-Ryce, though hardly likely!

Causalties could be: The not-so-young Ian "Pepe" Goodison and the never-100%-fit (though highly skillful) Jermaine Hue.

Andy Williams too could become a causalty because he too is never totally fit enough, especially now to battle the rarified air in the Azteca.

But then again, Simoes is Simoes and he just might elect to battle on with the soldiers he already has in camp.
                            "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

I think JRC is out injured.