Simoes looks to Thomas for 'libero' role

• Simoes looks to Thomas for 'libero' role

Technical director of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), René Simoes, hopes that the addition of defender Shavar Thomas will bolster Jamaica's defensive unit in World Cup qualifying.

Thomas, who was last called to the national team for a friendly against Trinidad and Tobago, on March 26, was among 11 overseas-based players called to training camp for Saturday's World Cup qualifier against Mexico at the National Stadium.

"We have two challenging games coming up. It is a good time to look at Shavar. It would be good to have a defender who plays the libero role like Durrent 'Tatty' Brown used to do," Simoes told The Gleaner yesterday. "So, we will have a look at him and we will see."

Brown, along with Linval Dixon and Ian 'Pepe' Goodison, anchored the Reggae Boyz's backline, when the country achieved historic qualification to the 1998 World Cup Finals in France.

Thomas, who currently plies his trade for United States Major League Soccer team, Chivas USA, has represented the national team at both the Under-17 and Under-20 levels.

Joining the defender will be in-form striker Ricardo Fuller (Stoke City), Tyrone Marshall (Toronto FC), Andy Williams (Salt Lake), Ian Goodison (Tranmere), Demar Phillips (Stoke City), Luton Shelton (FC Elerenga), Wolry Wolfe (Joe Public), Deon Burton (Sheffield Wednesday) and Rudolph Austin, who recently signed for SK Brann in the Norwegian Premier League.

Surprise omission

Fuller had been a surprise omission from the Jamaica team that played their way to a 1-1 draw with Canada in Toronto a little over a week ago but, according to the technical director, an injury picked up by the striker a few months ago was the reason for him not being included then.

"I didn't want to talk about it because he was not in the squad, but after being injured, I did not want to rush him to play, it may have been too much," Simoes said.

"It was a risk not going with him for the Canada game but I think it worked out," he added.

As for the continued and conspicuous absence of prolific striker Marlon King, Simoes, while maintaining that the doors were never closed, gave no indication as to when the striker would be included in the national set-up.

"The door is never closed once players fulfil what is required of them, but right now we are looking for players who will fit the system, not just the best ones," he said.

The Reggae Boyz will hold a training session at the National Stadium at 7p.m. tonight.

Shavar Thomas is a capable defender who deservedly belongs with the ReggaeBoyz. But The Prof is stretching in thinking that Shavar can play the position like Tatty Brown could. I have watched both players over the years and, while we could say that Shavar is good, he is clearly no Tatty Brown.

Tatty Brown, Twinnybug Anglin, Walter Boyd, Peter Cargill and Tappa Whitmore were exceptional players. There may be many Adu's in Jamaica at this moment but Simoes will have a hard time finding a Tatty, a Blacka, a Tappa or even a Twinnybug. What he should do is identify his positional needs without calling names, which could put addad pressure on the players. Let the players go out and execute to the best of their abilities. If their best is not good enough, we keep searching!
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by Twan View Post
      "We have two challenging games coming up. It is a good time to look at Shavar. It would be good to have a defender who plays the libero role like Durrent 'Tatty' Brown used to do," Simoes told The Gleaner yesterday. "So, we will have a look at him and we will see."
      Look at him? At dem deh late stage yah?

Luton Shelton (FC Elerenga)
        Since when Shelton plays for FC Elerenga? The man plays for VIF in the Norweigan Premiership and wears their #21 shirt.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran