• Any word on Austin?

AUSTIN SIGNS with Norwegian Premier League side SK Brann
    BY DANIA BOGLE Observer staff reporter
    bogled@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, August 31, 2008

JAMAICA and Portmore United midfielder Rudolph Austin should make his debut for Norwegian Premier League football team SK Brann today following a hurried weekend signing with the Scandinavian side.

Complete Story ...

AUSTIN SIGNS with Norwegian Premier League side SK Brann
    BY DANIA BOGLE Observer staff reporter
    bogled@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, August 31, 2008

JAMAICA and Portmore United midfielder Rudolph Austin should make his debut for Norwegian Premier League football team SK Brann today following a hurried weekend signing with the Scandinavian side.

Complete Story ...
    They lost 3-1

R. Austin's first game for Brann

Well, he seem to have gotten a run of 20 minutes.

Taken from http://www.brann.no/index.php?valg=nyhet&nyhet=6814

Bodø/Glimt get Brann revenge

31.08.08 21:43

In the home game against Bodø/Glimt earlier this season, Brann won 4-1. Sunday evening it was pay back time - and Bodø/Glimt won 3-1 in Bodø.

Bodø/Glimt's Trond Olsen celebrate whilst Brann despair. (Photo: Digitalsport)

But it all started well for Brann at Aspmyra Stadium. Winger Erik Huseklepp made it 1-0 for Brann after 26 minutes. Ten minutes later however the hosts hit back after a powerful shot from close range from veteran midfielder Runar Berg.

Bodø/Glimt's lightning fast winger Trond Olsen has made trouble for Brann before. Sunday was no exeption. Twice the diminutive attacker scored, first after 69 minutes then after 80 minutes.

With this defeat Bodø/Glimt is now seven points ahead of Brann - who is currently 9th in the league.

MATCH FACTS
      Bodø/Glimt - Brann 3-1 ( 1-1 )

Goals:

0-1 Erik Huseklepp (25'), 1-1 Runar Berg (36'), 2-1 Trond Olsen (69'), 3-1 Olsen (80')

Yellow cards: Kristjan Örn Sigurdsson, Njogu Demba-Nyrén, Hassan El Fakiri, Armann Björnsson, Brann.
      Referee: Kristoffer Helgerud.
      Attendance: 6 391

Bodø/Glimt (4-3-3): Jonas Kolstad - Mounir Hamoud, Johan Lædre Bjørdal, Per Verner Rønning, Willis Forko - Runar Berg, Christian Berg, Birkir Bjarnason (Anders Konradsen from 90') - Jan Derek Sørensen, Stig Johansen (Håvard Sakariassen from 46'), Trond Olsen (Robert Vikestad from 90').

Brann (4-4-2): Håkon Opdal - Bjørn Dahl, Kristjan Örn Sigurdsson, Olafur Örn Bjarnason, Erlend Hanstveit - Erik Huseklepp (Armann Björnsson from 83'), Jan Gunnar Solli, Hassan El Fakiri, Petter Vaagan Moen - Njogu Demba-Nyrén, Trond Fredrik Ludvigsen (Rudolph Austin from 70').

God debut til tross for tap

I sin debut viste Rudolph Austin hvorfor han var aktuell for et nyopprykket Premier League lag i England. Med stor duellkraft og presise pasninger tok han over den sentrale midtbanen hvor Glimt hadde herjet store deler av kampen.

Are they calling Austin GOD?
        Anyone here understand Norweigan?
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

When Maestro was in Sweden, I was well on the way to knowing Swedish fluently. Norwegian is similar, but mi cyaan bodda wid dem tings yah again. The Brann site has an Engish version for some news items. "God" means "good".

http://www.brann.no/index.php?valg=nyhet&nyhet=6811

http://www.brann.no/index.php?valg=nyhet&nyhet=6814

Bodø/Glimt get Brann revenge
          31.08.08 21:43

In the home game against Bodø/Glimt earlier this season, Brann won 4-1. Sunday evening it was pay back time - and Bodø/Glimt won 3-1 in Bodø.

Bodø/Glimt's Trond Olsen celebrate whilst Brann despair. (Photo: Digitalsport)

But it all started well for Brann at Aspmyra Stadium. Winger Erik Huseklepp made it 1-0 for Brann after 26 minutes. Ten minutes later however the hosts hit back after a powerful shot from close range from veteran midfielder Runar Berg.

Bodø/Glimt's lightning fast winger Trond Olsen has made trouble for Brann before. Sunday was no exeption. Twice the diminutive attacker scored, first after 69 minutes then after 80 minutes.

With this defeat Bodø/Glimt is now seven points ahead of Brann - who is currently 9th in the league.

MATCH FACTS
          Bodø/Glimt - Brann 3-1 ( 1-1 )

Goals:
          0-1 Erik Huseklepp (25'), 1-1 Runar Berg (36'), 2-1 Trond Olsen (69'), 3-1 Olsen (80')

Yellow cards: Kristjan Örn Sigurdsson, Njogu Demba-Nyrén, Hassan El Fakiri, Armann Björnsson, Brann.
          Referee: Kristoffer Helgerud.
          Attendance: 6 391

Bodø/Glimt (4-3-3): Jonas Kolstad - Mounir Hamoud, Johan Lædre Bjørdal, Per Verner Rønning, Willis Forko - Runar Berg, Christian Berg, Birkir Bjarnason (Anders Konradsen from 90') - Jan Derek Sørensen, Stig Johansen (Håvard Sakariassen from 46'), Trond Olsen (Robert Vikestad from 90').

Brann (4-4-2): Håkon Opdal - Bjørn Dahl, Kristjan Örn Sigurdsson, Olafur Örn Bjarnason, Erlend Hanstveit - Erik Huseklepp (Armann Björnsson from 83'), Jan Gunnar Solli, Hassan El Fakiri, Petter Vaagan Moen - Njogu Demba-Nyrén, Trond Fredrik Ludvigsen (Rudolph Austin from 70').

Good debut in spite of tapI its debut Rudolph Austin showed why he was appropriate for a nyopprykket Premier League team in England. With great duellkraft and precise pasning he took over the central midtbanen where Glimt had ravaged large parts of the match.

Web translator

Thanks, Sass!

(wtf!)

Couldn't have Stoke City sign Austin then loan him out for a season to require the needed amount of professional games & international caps ?
                “I am not a politician..I only suffer the consequences”.......Peter Tosh

Re: (wtf).......no, I don't think so. Most of their games are on the weekends, not Wednesday, Thursday or Friday!

Note: ef unnuh no getti, jus leffi
                  "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

The issue was not amoun of [rofessional games and international caps. If it were those things, Austin would be playing in England now. The problem was Jamaica's current ranking by FIFA. The Home Office which issues work permits will consider players from teams which have been ranked in the top 70 by FIFA for the past two years or something to the effect. The fact that we were in the 90s and now 108 should give you an idea of what needs to happen.

Ricketts got denied a contract with QPR because of the same thing too. Any of our local based players who require their work permits to be renewed will have the same problem under the circumstances.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
                      Re: (wtf).......no, I don't think so. Most of their games are on the weekends, not Wednesday, Thursday or Friday!

Note: ef unnuh no getti, jus leffi

*cricket sounds*

What is even more interesting is that the English Home Office is going to pass some new criteria law for work permits regarding teams signing non EU players ( Africa, Caribbean and North America) making it even more difficult for our players to get signed.

Its currently stipulated that a non EU player must represent his NT in most of their competitive FIFA sanctioned games and his nation also needs to be within the top 70 FIFA rank for 2 years consistently to get a shot at a work permit to play in England. I think its going to become stiffer because of poor performances of the English NT in recent times. The South American players from Brazil, Uruguay and Argentina have it alot easier. In the case of Argentina, people like Roberto Ayala, Javier Mascherano, Juan Seba Veron, Mauro Camoranesi, Lionel Messi, Fabrizio Collocini, Javier Zanetti all carry Italian passports because they have some Italian ancestry which means they are EU players and therfore dont need a work permit to play in the UK or anywhere else in Europe.