Stick to the evils that you know

• Stick to the evils that you know

I am not writing of Nosworthy...is just that all these praises that the man is getting granted is well deserved but my opinion still remains (until I am proven wrong) that the man will struggle playing in our system that generally leaves our defenders on an island...again Roy Keane's system is a counter attack system which puts the pressure mostly on their midfield while the defenders basically play the clean up role. I am not a football guru but I am capable to understand the difference in football systems that is played by different teams. Our defensive system is predicated on smart defenders that has the ability to play with the ball at their feet, Nosworthy hasn't showed that skill to me...and the chances he got he easily gave the ball away. So if unu want to jump pon the bandwagon weh the English media a drive on the man...go ahead. Just remember...England with John Terry and Rio Ferdinand got taken to the cleaners by Baros the whole game last week. Nosworthy's game is taylored off Terry and Ferdinand...and if Baros can make them look like $10 defenders imagine what Mexico will do to Nosworthy...without an England type midfield that eases the pressure off the defenders. Trust me...the best thing for the man to do is try to play for England because he is not suited for Western football...he will struggle over here. I have two words for the "Nosworthy for Jamaica campaigners"...Frank Sinclair. EPL might be the best league in the world but they don't produce the best players from top to bottom...so please throw away that Nosworthy plays against the best players...and replace it with he plays against couple of the best teams in the world (this is coming from an ardent Man U fan). Apart from the top 4 teams in the EPL there is no other team there that plays a true possession type of football (Tottenham is trying but them faltar nuff time)...the league basically plays the ball down the wings and cross into the box...Nosworthy is the perfect defender against that style (tall, good in the air, powerfull)...ummm Western football is not like that...So just because the man a gwan good in England that don't mean say the man fi get a free pass *again remember Frank Sinclair*

I have two words for the "Nosworthy for Jamaica campaigners"...Frank Sinclair.
    What is your beef with Frank Sinclair? Rene Simoes used him in our back line when he was in his prime. All of a sudden, unuh want to say he was no good.

Nosworthy plays against the best players...
    When you can point me to players in our lineup who have to face the players Nugsy does on a regular basis, I will stop. CS, why was England able to swamp us 6-0 about two years ago when their defenders were no good? We could not put up a reasonable attacking build up against them.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Frank Sinclair played very well for us...in his first go round. He fell off over time....and which footballer does not do that.

Frank served us very, very well! Was a key figure on our '98 team.

Most on here use the two own goals in consecutive weekends which happened in the latter part of his career to define the man as a player. Frank was very good in his time, but fell off by the time he was playing with Leicester and the other lower level teams. Some folks may be too young to remember him in the 1998 period.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Rucks!

my youth unu proving my point...Frank Sinclair was a good defender in the EPL but he struggled over here from day 1...bout he did well the first time around...please double check unu records...because if he "did well" the first time why was Shortie Malcolm getting playing time at right back...why didn't he lock down that position like how Bibi lock down the left back position. I will tell you why...his deficiencies were easily exposed because of the style of play (some people call it the lack of professionalism and skill on Jamaica's team compared to the EPL). Sinclair was a hard tackling very fit defender...he didn't have the ability to be a true over-lapping defender that proved a legitimate threat to the opposition...he couldn't cross a decent ball and had a poor first touch. Nosworthy is basically in the same position like Sinclair was. Just another EPL defender that is very good for the league...gain some recognition...sought by the Jamaican public because of the headlines he is creating...and just like Sinclair there is a great possibility that Nosworthy will struggle over here because he will be asked to step out of his normal role and basically change the way he plays over night. The sad part is if he does get a call up and is abused by the forwards some people are going to say the rest of the defense is no good...or worst case scenario people are going to say how over-rated he is...and both will be un-fair.

CS, why was England able to swamp us 6-0 about two years ago when their defenders were no good? We could not put up a reasonable attacking build up against them.

That is such an easy question...

England was playing their last home game before playing in the World Cup...if them did never tear up a side that wasn't going to play in the World Cup after going through extensive World Cup preparations and trying to impress their fans one last time...Sven would have been fired before the tournament began. That was too easy...but is alrite you are a Chelsea fan *a joke*

Sinclair was RUCKS!!! At the very least, we all wondered how he played for a team like Chelsea and won important trophies.

Sinclair was never a very good footballer. He played better for us when he played as the right side man marker in front of the sweeper. he was a traditional British stay at home fullback and not an overlapper, so that position suited him much better. Very Clumsy with the ball.

However, he was Miles ahead of Gerald Neil. Goodness gracious, what a waste of time.

Come now, Gerald Neil?!!? Yet, there were similarities when yuh think about it!

Really have Mexico in mind why I am pushing for Nosworthy to be invited. We have a decent record against teams that plays our(really ours then?) style(the Honduras, El Salvador,T&T etc)and have a problem with teams with differing styles(Mexico, England...).
                      Nosworthy inclusion is not because of OUR style of play, but our opponents'.

Blessed

Rockman, give it up. These folks do not want the man, neither does Simoes.

Originally posted by Culture Sound View Post
                          I am not writing of Nosworthy...is just that all these praises that the man is getting granted is well deserved but my opinion still remains (until I am proven wrong) that the man will struggle playing in our system that generally leaves our defenders on an island...again Roy Keane's system is a counter attack system which puts the pressure mostly on their midfield while the defenders basically play the clean up role. I am not a football guru but I am capable to understand the difference in football systems that is played by different teams. Our defensive system is predicated on smart defenders that has the ability to play with the ball at their feet, Nosworthy hasn't showed that skill to me...and the chances he got he easily gave the ball away. So if unu want to jump pon the bandwagon weh the English media a drive on the man...go ahead. Just remember...England with John Terry and Rio Ferdinand got taken to the cleaners by Baros the whole game last week. Nosworthy's game is taylored off Terry and Ferdinand...and if Baros can make them look like $10 defenders imagine what Mexico will do to Nosworthy...without an England type midfield that eases the pressure off the defenders. Trust me...the best thing for the man to do is try to play for England because he is not suited for Western football...he will struggle over here. I have two words for the "Nosworthy for Jamaica campaigners"...Frank Sinclair. EPL might be the best league in the world but they don't produce the best players from top to bottom...so please throw away that Nosworthy plays against the best players...and replace it with he plays against couple of the best teams in the world (this is coming from an ardent Man U fan). Apart from the top 4 teams in the EPL there is no other team there that plays a true possession type of football (Tottenham is trying but them faltar nuff time)...the league basically plays the ball down the wings and cross into the box...Nosworthy is the perfect defender against that style (tall, good in the air, powerfull)...ummm Western football is not like that...So just because the man a gwan good in England that don't mean say the man fi get a free pass *again remember Frank Sinclair*
                          From a man is a good player he can adapt.When you start talk about Ferdinand and Terry dont forget dem man deh was champions leauge finalist, them knock out teams weh play all kinda different style. and if you really want fi prove something send any one a dem team come play England. Mexico,Honduras,Canada,or JA they wouldn't trouble England backline just like the U.S.A coudn't.

U.S.A have forward fi torture any defender...don't mistake the concept of team with the ability of one player...U.S. have arguably the best team in our region...but they definitely don't have the best player...

Originally posted by Culture Sound View Post
                              U.S.A have forward fi torture any defender...don't mistake the concept of team with the ability of one player...U.S. have arguably the best team in our region...but they definitely don't have the best player...
                              Me never si dem a torcher no body when me sidung ina de wembley stand a watch dem play England a few months ago