STETHS venue nets profit for Reno

• STETHS venue nets profit for Reno

<DIV class=HTMLTitle><SPAN id=Ar0470000 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">STETHS venue nets profit for Reno </SPAN></DIV><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><BR style="FONT-WEIGHT: normal; FONT-SIZE: 5px; LINE-HEIGHT: normal; FONT-STYLE: normal; FONT-VARIANT: normal"><DIV class=HTMLContent style="OVERFLOW: auto"><SPAN id=Ar0470001 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">By PAUL A REID </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Observer West writer </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">SAVANNA-LA-MAR, Westmoreland </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Sunday’s Wray and Nephew National Premier League (NPL) match between Reno FC and Naggo Head at the St Elizabeth Technical High School (STETHS) in Santa Cruz, St Elizabeth proved a winner in more ways than one for Reno. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">In addition to beating the promoted team 3–1 and scoring their first win since the second week of the competition, Reno also reaped big rewards at the gate. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Reno’s president Ransford </SPAN><SPAN id=Ar0470002 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Malcolm reported they did very well. “Better than the previous two games at Frome,” he said, adding that with two more gate receipts like Sunday’s, they would be able to take care of coaches’ and players’ salaries. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Malcolm told the OBSERVER WEST that after match day expenses on Sunday, they were able to take care of outstanding bills that had piled up, including paying for their transportation to their games so far this season. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">“For the first time, we can go away to games without having to go around and beg money,” Malcolm said. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Reno’s next home game on Sunday will be against champions Waterhouse. Malcolm is already </SPAN><SPAN id=Ar0470003 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">looking forward to a bigger crowd than the estimated 2,000 or so that turned out on Sunday. He estimated that last Sunday’s turnout was hampered by some amount of uncertainty due to a squabble with the Westmoreland Football Association (FA) over permission to move the game, and lack of proper advertising in the St Elizabeth area. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Sunday’s game was the first home game Reno had played away from Frome in 30 years and was due to damages to the playing surface at Frome. The Westmoreland FA had objected to the move and president Everton Tomlinson maintained that the field was not as bad as the Reno team had made it out to be. </SPAN><SPAN id=Ar0470004 style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify"></SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">Malcolm said they were planning to make this Sunday’s game a family day with added entertainment, including a popular sound system, Body Guard, providing music well before game time. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">He said last Sunday’s turnout justified the decision by the club to play their games at STETHS and said they planned on maintaining the relationship even after the Frome field was fixed. </SPAN>
    <SPAN style="TEXT-JUSTIFY: newspaper; TEXT-ALIGN: justify">According to Malcol

RE: STETHS venue nets profit for Reno

We always used to turn out in numbers to watch Santa United play in the National League back in the day. They also used to play right there at STETHS. Santa Cruz people will support a good team playing in their community.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

He said last Sunday’s turnout justified the decision by the club to play their games at STETHS and said they planned on maintaining the relationship even after the Frome field was fixed.

Is the writing on the wall for Westmoreland? Hey...in which Parish did the Portmore United organisation have its birth?...and, what was Portmore United's name before the move to St. Catherine???

Could Reno become St. Elizabeth's 'version' of Portmore United?

Well the St bess FA pres says he would not encourage Reno to stay longer than is neccessary but I see no reason why Reno cant play a few home games in St Bess and the others at Frome when the field is fixed

<DIV>I wouldn't want to see that. Teams must have one home ground. In the meantime, St. Bess must redouble its efforts and qualifya team for the NPL for itself.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Reno needs to move back to Frome and once again endear itself to its fans who have supported them so well over the years. Days gone by, they were among the best fans any team could want! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And the field - when did that get into a state of disrepair?!?!</DIV>

Several issues here Mosiah, as part of the registration process each team is asked to indicate a second field in case of anything.

If you read the story in its entirety, Reno made more money from the net proceeds of one gate at STETHS than they made in two previous matches at Frome, plus the game at STETHS was not properly advertised as up to Saturday there was still some amount of uncertainty as to where the game would be played.

And that game was against minnows Naggo Head, just imagine the crowd against Waterhouse on Sunday?

They said they were able to pay all of the 'external bills' and two more gates likke that and they can pay up their players and coaches. If they had these gates earlier Barriga would not have left nor would Maxwell a few years ago.

As for the deterioration of the Frome field, that started years ago as none of the emntities that use it, the WFA and Reno has done little to maintain it and keep blaming each other.

The bottomn line here Mosiah is money, a lot of the fans who come to watch the team at Frome dont pay as they claim to be 'long time fans' and should not pay.

Imagine if you invested millions in a club and cant recoup anything from the gate?

I am kind of on the fence on this one. I can remember going to Frome Sports Club grounds to watch many matches with Reno and other teams. I also remember the Sunday evening games with Santa United at the same STETHS field against suchteams as Reno, Cavaliers, Santos, Boys Town, Wadadah etc, etc. Being a man from Westomoreland, I do not want to see the West lose its team. I would love to see St Elizabeth get a team though. As Mo said, St Elizabeth should work on qualifying a team for the competition.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Was there a team named Hazard United? ...in Clarendon?

Did that organisation pull up stakes and...pow!...the St Catherine organisation Portmore United was born?

The simple answer to your question is Karl, the NPL clubs are private entities and in most instances operates independently of the 'parent Association' under which they play.

I can speak to the situation in western jamaica where the only time you hear the NPL teams talking about community etc is when they cant deal with a situation by themselves like Seba and wadadah and having no place to play come January.

Other wise from that they have nothing to do with the FAs and does not share any profits they make. Mosat times they do nothing but rob the smaller clubs of players, mash up the community play fieldfs and ride rough shod over everything.

the management of Hazard pulle dup stake and left as Clarendon's economy could not sustain the team and most of their players were from Kingston/ St catherine anyways and it makes sense to move the club nearer rather than paying through their noses to host them.

Even then, the management never sought or got permission from Clarendon FA as really they dont need it so Everton was jmust beating up his gums about stopping Reno.

<DIV>
                    Sickko (10/27/2006) read(ing) the story in its entirety
                    </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>does not change my mind about anything. Yes, I understand that they want to make money and all that, but what about the fans!!!??? Are they the ones, the few that have remained, who have destroyed the fields or the seating stands? What has the club done to upgrade the field and to put in comfortable seating and amenities for the people who have supported them through thick and thin? What have they done to deserve this abandonment? Do Santa Cruz people make more money than the peopleofFrome and the rest of the parish? Because Reno has always been Westmoreland's team.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Imagine if every club just upped and went to greener pastures. Would there be any clubs in many parishes? Wadadah and Seba probably have more spectators in Kingston than in Mobay. Maybe they should strike up a deal with StGC and Arnett Gardens.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And what happens when the deal turns sour? Reno once a had a good field. What if STETHS' field deteriorates, a good likelihood knowing our habit for not maintaining stuff? Does Reno look to return to Frome then, or do they go field hunting to maybe Clarendon and Brancourt? How do you build community as a football team with that kind of attitude?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>If Reno know what good fi dem, dem stay in Santa only as long as they really have to. In the meantime, fix up unnu field and win back unnu supporters, cause heaven knows, if me did live inna Westmoreland (not just Frome) mi woulda tell dem bout dem parents when dem come back!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>AndI know what I am talking about. Renoused tobemy side, but with this latest development, mek dem move and gwey! :hehe:</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Ever wondered why, with all the people who live in Portmore, even Harbour View has a better fan base than Portmore United? Let's see how this wonderful tale in Santa Cruz develops. </DIV>

Sickko (10/27/2006)The simple answer to your question is Karl, the NPL clubs are private entities and in most instances operates independently of the 'parent Association' under which they play.

I can speak to the situation in western jamaica where the only time you hear the NPL teams talking about community etc is when they cant deal with a situation by themselves like Seba and wadadah and having no place to play come January.

Other wise from that they have nothing to do with the FAs and does not share any profits they make. Mosat times they do nothing but rob the smaller clubs of players, mash up the community play fieldfs and ride rough shod over everything.

the management of Hazard pulle dup stake and left as Clarendon's economy could not sustain the team and most of their players were from Kingston/ St catherine anyways and it makes sense to move the club nearer rather than paying through their noses to host them.

Even then, the management never sought or got permission from Clarendon FA as really they dont need it so Everton was jmust beating up his gums about stopping Reno.
                      I wonder what the JFF's constitution and or its competition rules and the local FA'srules and regulations have to say on that?

As Mosiah stated you cannot have teams moving about on whim. If the moving around grows and becomes too frequent the emotional attachment the fans have with teams will erode and the gates, which are already small, will die! There is a saying about, cutting off one's nose to spite one's face!

Dont forget it was under Burrell/Reid that Hazard upped and left Clarendon without even a thank you to the fans there, dont forget that even the former owners the Mings were consulted about the move???

Karl I did say the NPL registration form does ask for an alternate venue so what does that mean regarding rules and constitution?

Also no matter what we think, football is a bussines and even the fans are aware of this and until the teams have their own fields that they can develop and maintain, these thinks will happen.

How long Reno playing football in Westmoreland and still cant get their own place, typical of the western teams.

How long Reno in Westmoreland?

Form former Manning Cupper Bim Williams 'left'/graduated fromStGC...came back homeand started Stylo! That was round about 1962! I was still at Mannings then!

...and, I know the history of Hazard-Portmore.

Portmore's fan base? Poor marketing and public relations activity!