New camp for local Boyz

• New camp for local Boyz

With all the uphoria of track and field, there is still some football going. Local team selected for training.

Taken from www.jamaica-gleaner.com

Simoes names Georges' Holmes in training squad
    published: Saturday | August 23, 2008
    Dwayne Holmes of St Georges earned a first-time Jamaica call-up yesterday, in a 24-man squad released by the Jamaica Football Federation yesterday.

The Reggae Boyz, who are involved in a quadrangular play-off in the semi-final round series, battled to a courageous 1-1 draw against Canada in their opening game at the BMO Field in Toronto, on Wednesday night.

Julian de Guzman gave Canada the lead at the 47th minute, while midfielder Andy Williams made a quick-fire response when scoring directly from the corner spot in the 52nd minute.

The local-based Reggae Boyz are due in camp on Monday.

As was the case the last time a local squad was called up , technical director René Simoes favours a number of under-20 players.
    They are Davion Thorpe (Reno), André Darby (Naggo Head), Levaughn Williams (Sporting Central), Keithy Simpson (Cavaliers), Andre Campbell (Portmore), Andre Clennon (Waterhouse), Alanzo Adlam (Cavaliers) and Romario Campbell of Harbour View.

No senior Harbour View players were invited to the squad as they are preparing for an important engagement against the Mexican club Pumas on Thursday, August 28.

Squad
    Goalkeepers - Donovan Ricketts (unattached), Shawn Sawyers (Portmore), Dwayne Kerr (Portmore); Defenders - Brian Woodbine (Reno), Levaughn Williams (Sporting Central), André Campbell (Portmore), Dwayne Holmes (St Georges), Keneil Moodie (Seba), Adrian Reid (Portmore), Jermaine Taylor (Harbour View), André Darby (Naggo Head) and Keithy Simpson (Cavaliers); Central midfielders - Evan Taylor (Reno), Davion Thorpe (Reno) and Nicholy Findlayson (Reno); Midfielders - Ricardo Cousins (Portmore), Eric Vernan (Portmore), Je-Vaughn Watson (Sporting Central) and Romario Campbell (Harbour View); Forwards - Keammar Daley (Meadhaven), James Thomas ( Portmore), André Clennon (Waterhouse), Alanzo Adlam (Cavaliers), Steven Morrissey (Portmore).
    Last edited by Karl; August 23, 2008, 01:05 PM.

Appalled at Noseworhy's non- inclusion

I am watching Sunderland play Tottenham football club and Noseworthy has shown very good technique. I just hope we cap him before he really chooses England.

This is becoming laughable on our part in wide selection biases and ridiculous exclusion since Carl Brown and Jermaine Hue's saga. What happen to JJ, Claude Davis, Omar at Queens Park Rangers, Bennett among others. This is the same way we excluded De Guzman who score against us. Although we had a credible result against Canada, we do need to be more resilient and proactive with our pool selection...Have all who is available on notice then select team. King for all intention purposes does not merit exclusion based an behavior. My opinion have him in the squad on the bench and explain why. Get him to explain his side and why he doesn't follow instruction. That is how you treat Men....professionally... not banishment.

What happen to Lisbie weh we fight for just to give 2 minute run last campaign. I know the locals will only take us so far.. Wake up JFF and stop let Simoes who work for us have carte Blanche slate in selection; Although I respect what he did in the past, let us not forget that he failed miserably in Trinidad.
    Last edited by Karl; August 23, 2008, 01:06 PM.
    "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Originally posted by PeeJay View Post
      I am watching Sunderland play Tottenham football club and Noseworthy has shown very good technique. I just hope we cap him before he really chooses England.

This is becoming laughable on our part in wide selection biases and ridiculous exclusion since Carl Brown and Jermaine Hue's saga. What happen to JJ, Claude Davis, Omar at Queens Park Rangers, Bennett among others. This is the same way we excluded De Guzman who score against us. Although we had a credible result against Canada, we do need to be more resilient and proactive with our pool selection...Have all who is available on notice then select team. King for all intention purposes does not merit exclusion based an behavior. My opinion have him in the squad on the bench and explain why. Get him to explain his side and why he doesn't follow instruction. That is how you treat Men....professionally... not banishment.

What happen to Lisbie weh we fight for just to give 2 minute run last campaign. I know the locals will only take us so far.. Wake up JFF and stop let Simoes who work for us have carte Blanche slate in selection; Although I respect what he did in the past, let us not forget that he failed miserably in Trinidad.
      Again - Simoes is close to the action! (wry smile! How closer can anyone be than being coach?) ...therefore the decisions he makes must have some basis in personal close observation & 'facts' (facts - It is impossible for the public to know....or hear of unless Simoes divulges same.

Consider that some things the coach must hold...have remain within TEAM...and unto himself...if he really wants to build RESPECT - two-way respect = Simoes to/for players & players to/for Simoes, good TEAM ATTITUDE and TEAM SPIRIT!! Without TEAM, minnows fall but no progression outside of the Hex. With TEAM all things are possible!
      Last edited by Karl; August 23, 2008, 03:11 PM.

Karl, how does one explain the continued exclusion of Nosworthy?
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by Farmah View Post

I do not know. I have really looked at his once...not today's match...the match before and he looks good. As I said when discussing what I saw with Tilla...that was only one match!

I'll look at today's match later. I have it taped.

btw - What if Nosworthy was contacted and for whatever reason could nto attend at any of Simoes' training sessions?

Do we know what form the communication or if there has been communication between Simoes and Nosworthy?

I suspect his exclusion is because Simoes things he wants a England call up.

I know you are talking to Karl but if you don't mind I will like to offer my opinion
              1 - the recent squad he picked is all local based...Nosworthy wouldn't have been there regardless.

2 - I saw the Tottenham game Nosworthy has great field awareness, strong in the air but he is not fast kinda like Pepe and he has a poor first touch on the ball and seems to get rattled too easy....so the only way he is going to be in the squad is if he starts over Goodison (we know that won't happen under Simoes)...there is no way that him and Goodison will start in the cener of the defense together...CONCACAF forwards will run around them all day everyday. Example Dos Santos easily ran around him a couple of times

3 - Claude Davis...don't forget about him...I think before Nosworthy become a regular in the squad Claude or Pepe would have to be completely out of the picture...pretty much sticking to the evil that you know plus Taylor had a good game

No Dread noooo! Nosworthy was asked if he wishes to play for England, and his response was that it was totally Jamaica for him...not England. I posted an excerpt of that interview some time ago but if needed I'll pull it and repost.

Nuggsy's coach (Keane) has told him that he should play for England but the player still harbours hopes of playing for the Boyz...if only The Prof would make up his dang mind!!!
                "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

No Dread noooo! Nosworthy was asked if he wishes to play for England, and his response was that it was totally Jamaica for him...not England. I posted an excerpt of that interview some time ago but if needed I'll pull it and repost.

Nuggsy's coach (Keane) has told him that he should play for England but the player still harbours hopes of playing for the Boyz...if only The Prof would make up his dang mind!!!
                  I saw that article as well, but that was more than awhile ago. Still, he got called up by Tappa but got injured so he couldn't represent. Something else must be going on that we are not yet privy to.

Originally posted by Culture Sound View Post
                    I know you are talking to Karl but if you don't mind I will like to offer my opinion
                    1 - the recent squad he picked is all local based...Nosworthy wouldn't have been there regardless.

2 - I saw the Tottenham game Nosworthy has great field awareness, strong in the air but he is not fast kinda like Pepe and he has a poor first touch on the ball and seems to get rattled too easy....so the only way he is going to be in the squad is if he starts over Goodison (we know that won't happen under Simoes)...there is no way that him and Goodison will start in the cener of the defense together...CONCACAF forwards will run around them all day everyday. Example Dos Santos easily ran around him a couple of times

3 - Claude Davis...don't forget about him...I think before Nosworthy become a regular in the squad Claude or Pepe would have to be completely out of the picture...pretty much sticking to the evil that you know plus Taylor had a good game
                    It look like we forget what level of football Pepe play and what level of football Nosworthy is playing. Remember Nosworthy a play against Players like Tevez,Adebayor,Torres,Owen,Keane,Berbatov,Rooney,R onaldo week in week out and performing consistently. The EPL is a million miles away from leauge one.

Nosworthy is a better version of Claude and Stew Peas. He is not good enough for England although after some hype I could see them giving him a call and him eventually getting exposed against some of the more technically capable teams.

Simoes said that there was one or a couple players who wouldn't commit to the team because of England. Although he has stated he wants to play for yard and not England, I suspect he may have been one of them. I can't think of many players of Jamaican heritage who could get a call from England.

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                        It look like we forget what level of football Pepe play and what level of football Nosworthy is playing. Remember Nosworthy a play against Players like Tevez,Adebayor,Torres,Owen,Keane,Berbatov,Rooney,R onaldo week in week out and performing consistently. The EPL is a million miles away from leauge one.

So can I quote you as saying that Nosworthy is better than Pepe...the league that you play in really doesn't matter in football...eg Canada vs Jamaica. Oh and how can I forget...Mr Frank Sinclair (at the time record signing defender for Chelsea)...I guess he was better than Dean Sewell . Dont get me wrong Nosworthy is a good defender...but does he vastly improve Jamaica's backline...

Did anybody see how Giovanni run round him 2 time as he came off the bench for Tottenham (Mexico have bout 4 more a dem man deh a come). Nosworthy is the prototype European defender, powerfull, strong in the air and tall. He is not fit for our region...probably as a sweeper but he doesn't have the composure on the ball for that position. The man will shine inna EPL because they generally play to his strength...not over here...this region is a possession cut up man and left him a gully side style of football...mi might be wrong bout him...but the truth is he hasn't showed me anything that will improve our back 4 enough that it is worth the risk to implement him in an important part of our team

So can I quote you as saying that Nosworthy is better than Pepe...the league that you play in really doesn't matter in football...eg Canada vs Jamaica. Oh and how can I forget...Mr Frank Sinclair (at the time record signing defender for Chelsea)...I guess he was better than Dean Sewell . Dont get me wrong Nosworthy is a good defender...but does he vastly improve Jamaica's backline...
                            Yes that is a fact that is the reason Pepe is still playing for Tranmere in League one. that is his level, he is been playing League football long enough if he was that good one of the big boys would've signed him.

Did anybody see how Giovanni run round him 2 time as he came off the bench for Tottenham (Mexico have bout 4 more a dem man deh a come). Nosworthy is the prototype European defender, powerfull, strong in the air and tall. He is not fit for our region...probably as a sweeper but he doesn't have the composure on the ball for that position. The man will shine inna EPL because they generally play to his strength...not over here...this region is a possession cut up man and left him a gully side style of football...mi might be wrong bout him...but the truth is he hasn't showed me anything that will improve our back 4 enough that it is worth the risk to implement him in an important part of our team
                              Culture Sound wa kind a stereotype thing that,from a man a baller im is a baller and 9 times out a 10 the best ballers end up at the best clubs in the best leauges.At this present time Nyron Nosworthy is the best centre half available to us.