Football capital

• Football capital

Is Franno the only person in Jamaica who sees the tons of money to be made from concentrating on developing young Jamaican athletes in Jamaica. Heck I say this is the next big industry. The folly of the current NPL administrators is they bawl about money but they have it all backwards.

Instead of spending every dime on senior team coaches and players and treating their JFF mandated youth squads like unwanted stepkids they should put more of their effort into developing their youth playerswith an eye toselling a few abroad and see if you don't turn a profit off selling youngplayers faster than you can turn a profit selling tickets to watch your senior team in the NPL.

More Fans aren't going to turn out any time soon; the Wray and Nephew sponsorship is welcomed but still peanuts, if there is any tv money I suspect thats negligible - so why not concentrate on developing and selling youth players thats whatclubs do in Brazil Argentina and the Balkans to stay profitable.
    SA 2010: Reggae Boyz coming home!

RE: Football capital

The problem is, we see ourselves a capable of developing T&F athletes, but football is different matter. If yuh not Brazilian and in the habit of wearing shirts that display your religious inclinations, then don't expect to develop any local talent any time soon!

but it's so funny in a sea of wisemen not one except maybe Clyde Jureidini stepping up to the plate. Horace Reid seems to know what to do but should be doing better. Thanks to King Fish The Pharmacists are not out west like before to sponsor the teams so why cant a group of business men, or even a 'dads' who want go straight, take up the mantle knowing how much loot can be raked in by properly developing and shippingeven one forwardabroad?

Could it be that Aaron Lawrence sees this developing and selling of players as big business?

A look at his partners suggests he is thinking 'mucho dinero'.

I think just like our players only think of getting contracts in England the potential football investors in Jamaica also think along the same lines. If you think like that then you are probably thinking of the hardships to overcome with regards to players earning caps etc. to get to England and that may stop people from seeing the positives and profits.

Hopefullyour NPL clubs, especially, will start to realize that even a couple hundred thousand pound transfer fee to smaller leagues around the world that areeasier to get into thanEnglandwould probably cover the budget for their Senior teams for a whole season.