Jamaica vs Canada; My player ratings

• Jamaica vs Canada; My player ratings

Ricketts would be my Man-of-the Match. Kept well, looked better on the crosses, definitely leading from the back. He was always giving instructions to his players. Well, the man wants to go back to England, so him have to keep good. 8

Defense

Goodison played like how a man of experience should play, he was the marker on Friend, he played him really well. He got away from Goodison on two occasions, but Goodison was there to give him a nudge. 8

J Taylor played ok with Goodison, but i still reserve that place for Claude Davis. He has improved on his speed work, but Goodison was a calming influence on this young man. 6

Gardner looked match rusty in the early stages of the game, but u can always depend on this man to deliver. Playing with a five man midfield, i thought Gardner would have been more effective playing a midfield role. 6

Woodbine, i honestly think that this is above his league. He's obviously a talented young man, but i wasnt impressed. i think this place belongs to Omar Daley. Rosario realized he was the weak link and took advantage of the opportunity on his side. 5

Midfield

Andy Williams scored the winning goals, so he gets extra points for that, but i dont think we can depend on the man to carry the team. He goes to ground too easy, he's always on the flanks trying to go through players. 6

Austin didnt have a great game. I've seen Austin play, this boy can play. 6

Evan Taylor, i wasnt impressed with his ball distribution, his shooting ability but he did the job that was asked of him, which was to close down the Canadan midfield. I think this position belongs to that guy from Boys Town, Oneil Thompson 4

Phillps wasnt getting the distribution he wanted, so when ever, he got the ball, he held on to it a little too long. He wasnt present in the game really, we cant blame him either, he just wasnt getting the ball. 4

Wolfe, his game has definitely improved, looked like a man on a mission, especially when he came to tackle De Guzman, you can tell that he wanted to prove on this guy. He gave a canadian player a nice salada, di place pull up. 6

Deon Burtin, this man still cant control a ball, i cant even tell which foot he uses, right or left. But you cant fault him for courage and heart, this man have some unseen trickery. I think he did a great job of holding up the ball for the unrushing midfield. I think King would have done a better job with this formation but the man nah no manners.6

Shelton did a decent job [playing with another forward, he couldnt have started with this formation due to the fact that he cant hold up the ball. Thats one of the reasons he's not playing in the English league. But he came on and definitely stretched the canadina defense. 6

Cummings, he came on and i thought that if he had gotten a good touch to shelton mistime pass, we could have scored, because we had a player waiting in the box for a tap in. 4

with this scale I wouldn't want to see their ranking if them lose ...but mi see what you saying still

I know I am going to surprise T.K., but I must say I was satisfied with Ricketts' game. Someone said he had a bad day off, I hope he continues to have some more of these if it makes him play as he did last night.

Honestly, I think the guys game is improving because he is spending time with the national team almost full time.

I also thought Goodison had a good game. He held his own and gave the necessary experience in the back.

While I do not think the team played exceptionally well, I think they did enough to get th eresult they needed.

Good job by Prof Simoes and his team!
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Deon Burton 'still' cannot control a ball ???

Is how long yuh watching him play.. since last night ???

Burton is well known for his first touch control.. that game was the worst I have seen him.. which was not bad compared to the rest of the team.. must have been the turf..

I know! Roger5's entire post went in the trash once he said that.

"Deon Burtin, this man still cant control a ball, i cant even tell which foot he uses, right or left. But you cant fault him for courage and heart, this man have some unseen trickery. I think he did a great job of holding up the ball for the unrushing midfield. I think King would have done a better job with this formation but the man nah no manners.6"

Deon may not have the best skill but I disagree with you on his first touch! always correct and to the benefit of the next action. He was also tireless and tactically no other of our forwards would do the defensive work or showed the tactical discipline that he did.. Also Pepe showed his leadership at the back with the yongsters..

Deon Burton 'still' cannot control a ball ???

Is how long yuh watching him play.. since last night ???

Burton is well known for his first touch control.. that game was the worst I have seen him.. which was not bad compared to the rest of the team.. must have been the turf..
              Nuff man don't seem to realize that Burton has one of the best first touch and control of any player on the JA team...the turf appeared to be somewhat of a problem for us.

Bar none Dreadie, big talk dat!! I have been watching Jamaican football from mi yeye deh ah mi knee and Burton's control and first touch is among the best I've seen. I'm going as far back as the days of Russell Bell, Derick Denniser, Sweetie Smith, Lorne Donaldson, Bancroft Gordon, Herbert "Dago" Gordon, Peter "Dove" Marston and Lenny "Teacha" Hyde who had excellent ball control and first touch. In recent times we have seen the likes of Paul "Tegat" Davis and Walter "Blacka Pearl" Boyd with the same excellent technical skill of control and first touch. But among present-day Jamaican ballers none is better that Deon Burton.
                "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                  "Deon Burtin, this man still cant control a ball, i cant even tell which foot he uses, right or left. But you cant fault him for courage and heart, this man have some unseen trickery. I think he did a great job of holding up the ball for the unrushing midfield. I think King would have done a better job with this formation but the man nah no manners.6"

Deon may not have the best skill but I disagree with you on his first touch! always correct and to the benefit of the next action. He was also tireless and tactically no other of our forwards would do the defensive work or showed the tactical discipline that he did.. Also Pepe showed his leadership at the back with the yongsters..
                  Me agree with you about Deon's workrate and his effort no one can fault it. the youth will run through a brick wall fi Jamaica, however if we gonna play a lone striker away from home we need someone with a bit more skill and pace, someone who can turn defenders and run behind. with all respect that is not Deon's game he is better in around the box, playing with a partner.

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
                    Bar none Dreadie, big talk dat!! I have been watching Jamaican football from mi yeye deh ah mi knee and Burton's control and first touch is among the best I've seen. I'm going as far back as the days of Russell Bell, Derick Denniser, Sweetie Smith, Lorne Donaldson, Bancroft Gordon, Herbert "Dago" Gordon, Peter "Dove" Marston and Lenny "Teacha" Hyde who had excellent ball control and first touch. In recent times we have seen the likes of Paul "Tegat" Davis and Walter "Blacka Pearl" Boyd with the same excellent technical skill of control and first touch. But among present-day Jamaican ballers none is better that Deon Burton.
                    I have seen most of those ballas and they were wicked. I watched Dove play alot when I played for Santos and Franklin Town youth teams. I seen that man pluck balls out of the air and mek some killa passes that I have yet to see on the world stage. Dove was a real ace....if only him never go mad.

How you nuh mention a bredda name ROHAN PALMER?

ONE

How you nuh mention a bredda name ROHAN PALMER?

ONE
                        Rohan was more forward...than midfielder!