Unlike nuff people I watched the Honduras vs Mexico game from start to finish couple times (dvr)...and this is my observation.
Mexico - work in progress, Sven is feeling out his team right now and with every game played under him Mexico is going to become a dominant force not only in our region but possibly in the world. However, with that being said they are ripe for the picking right now...their defense is not as solid as it might seems...and the way how they played against Honduras from the opening whistle...they can be easily burned on the counter-attack, but when that team galvonise...to beat them you will have to out score them. Don't be surprise if they underestimate Jamaica in a couple of weeks...we will have to take advantage of their possible lackadasical approach. The reason why I think they are going to start out slow is this...remember the last time Ericksson saw Jamaica up close, England vs Jamaica in Wembley before the World Cup (we all know how that turned out). Eventhough he is going to get a different scouting report that game might still be in the back of his mind and he might try to experiment with his side like he did against Honduras.
Honduras - one man team...and that one man isn't Suazo, he is their number 10 (mi nuh know him name)...but the only way Suazo is going to be effective is if
a. - his marker forget who he is and him get a one good through ball from the number 10
b. - he comes to midfield for the ball and then make something from there (after watching him last night...I doubt that is going to happen...he kept cussing and waving his hands when he wasn't getting the ball in the "right spot"...and this was when they were up 1-0)
They tried to play the long ball consistently, even when Mexico wasn't pressuring them...if this is the way they plan to approach Jamaica...the balance will be in our favor because our defenders are strong in the air...and if they continuously bypass their midfield...then our midfielders won't have much defending to do and that will benefit our possession game to keep their defense under pressure. Their defense is solid, fast and physical...our forwards are going to stuggle against them...but they look like they get frustrated easily when they are under a little sustain pressure.
All in all we have a decent chance to at least draw with Mexico in Jamaica...but Mexico can easily score 3 - 4 goals against us anywhere...Honduras against us should see both teams holding serve at home...the key will be if we beat Canada in Jamaica, and how Honduras do against Canada in both games...all we have to do is play solid in the back, take care of home and hope that Honduras slip up along the way...
Mexico - work in progress, Sven is feeling out his team right now and with every game played under him Mexico is going to become a dominant force not only in our region but possibly in the world. However, with that being said they are ripe for the picking right now...their defense is not as solid as it might seems...and the way how they played against Honduras from the opening whistle...they can be easily burned on the counter-attack, but when that team galvonise...to beat them you will have to out score them. Don't be surprise if they underestimate Jamaica in a couple of weeks...we will have to take advantage of their possible lackadasical approach. The reason why I think they are going to start out slow is this...remember the last time Ericksson saw Jamaica up close, England vs Jamaica in Wembley before the World Cup (we all know how that turned out). Eventhough he is going to get a different scouting report that game might still be in the back of his mind and he might try to experiment with his side like he did against Honduras.
Honduras - one man team...and that one man isn't Suazo, he is their number 10 (mi nuh know him name)...but the only way Suazo is going to be effective is if
a. - his marker forget who he is and him get a one good through ball from the number 10
b. - he comes to midfield for the ball and then make something from there (after watching him last night...I doubt that is going to happen...he kept cussing and waving his hands when he wasn't getting the ball in the "right spot"...and this was when they were up 1-0)
They tried to play the long ball consistently, even when Mexico wasn't pressuring them...if this is the way they plan to approach Jamaica...the balance will be in our favor because our defenders are strong in the air...and if they continuously bypass their midfield...then our midfielders won't have much defending to do and that will benefit our possession game to keep their defense under pressure. Their defense is solid, fast and physical...our forwards are going to stuggle against them...but they look like they get frustrated easily when they are under a little sustain pressure.
All in all we have a decent chance to at least draw with Mexico in Jamaica...but Mexico can easily score 3 - 4 goals against us anywhere...Honduras against us should see both teams holding serve at home...the key will be if we beat Canada in Jamaica, and how Honduras do against Canada in both games...all we have to do is play solid in the back, take care of home and hope that Honduras slip up along the way...