• Game analysis...

Donovan Ricketts - man of the match

Referee was for jamaica at least 80% of the time.

Pepe - perform well except for any other day would have been called for a penalty for pulling on canada left back in the box.

Obrian - perform well consider his age and the speed he was up against.

Bibi - I think he is still being wasted in defence.

Jermaine Taylor - Seems much calmer and fitter.

Evan Taylor - Ruff and rugged and off ball movement is ok.

Burton - Still working hard after losing ball. Lucky not be called for a penalty by grabbing canadian player in the box.

Demar Phillips - enthusiatic but still tackling badly and shooting from too far out.

Andy Williams - just lucky with that corner but hold ball too long.

Woolry Wolfe - Do not belong in starting eleven.

Bad taste of the game.

Jermaine Hue 2 minutes game.

Omar Cummings late introduction.

Shelton - Not enought time for his speed to affect the defence.

Overall I think Simoes is 1 year late with these local lads.

Good final result because the ref was against canada even before the game start.

The canadian top players did not performed well so jamaica get a break.

King ,Fuller,Stephenson,Morrison and Marshall would have make a major difference.

Originally posted by No Mercy View Post
    The canadian top players did not performed well so jamaica get a break.
    sigh

We obvisously watched two different games. Ricketts MOM? Ricketts kicked out a ball to the Canucks that start an attack on our goal. There were two times that he should have held on to the ball that resulted in 2 shots on our goal. Bibi did not play in defense and was generally ineffective in the mid field. Andy Williams was my MOM.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

di man name NO MERCY ... now really...

Give credit where credit is due. I thouht that was the best I have seen Julian playing for Canada at the senior level.. He was a general and did well.. Score one and almost scored the winner.. Atiba was himself calm and steady.. DRo is DRO he played intelligent crosses in but what some dont understand the RB tactics was to shut down the the Cannuks midfield and while they did not stifle it they did a great job of isolatiting it and having the canadian playing side to side for long streches... The long diaganoal hurt Woobine in particular but much credit to the gameplan and its execution

Originally posted by OJ View Post
            Give credit where credit is due. I thouht that was the best I have seen Julian playing for Canada at the senior level.. He was a general and did well.. Score one and almost scored the winner.. Atiba was himself calm and steady.. DRo is DRO he played intelligent crosses in but what some dont understand the RB tactics was to shut down the the Cannuks midfield and while they did not stifle it they did a great job of isolatiting it and having the canadian playing side to side for long streches... The long diaganoal hurt Woobine in particular but much credit to the gameplan and its execution
            I was really impress with Rudolf Austin and Evan Taylor in midfield, especially Austin that boy is got the potential to be a top player.Now i can see why Tony Pulis rate him that highly.

re: "I was really impress with Rudolf Austin..."

Dunny it's been about three years now that Mosiah and myself have been singing Austin's praises and saying that he belongs at holding-mid for the ReggaeBoyz. What derailed his progress was an injury (ankle??) that put him on the IR for a season. But Austin has looked good, even from his CC days. He showed his class a few years ago when PMU played the Mexican club twice in CONCACAF play.

On another note, very disappointed that Hue was not given more time. The Prof - for all his chat and boast about compromising of principles -seems to be catering to his favourite players. If you are loyal to him he will play you until God-Kingdom comes! Cost it what it may! The upcoming matches will get far tougher that what we just faced against Canada, so I hope The Prof will come to his senses and put the horse in front of the buggy. It is time to summon the warriors!
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Farmah, I can always depend on yuh fi give your fair opinion. Is suh mi seet tuh!
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I think that Hue wasn't put in the game as we were in with a chance of drawing. If we were still behind he would have put Hue in the game earlier.

It is a good sign however that he got a few minutes and I look forward to see him get a longer run.

I was impressed with Austin and Evon Taylor as well. Taylor shield his ball very well and along with Jermaine Taylor had good composure. Taylor was maybe the first player to take a shot at goal from about 49 yards out. I think he kinda open up his teammates a little.

tactically I did not think hue fit in what they wanted. It seems at the end they wanted to expose the canadian by adding omar cummins and shelton but I thought they did it late.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                      tactically I did not think hue fit in what they wanted. It seems at the end they wanted to expose the canadian by adding omar cummins and shelton but I thought they did it late.
                      Good observation OJ. They actually wanted Hue and the 2 other forwards on earlier, but Simoes was sweating with Austin's cramps. Had Austin had no problem, all three would have been on much sooner to go all out for the win. Great strategy on Simoes part.

the hue to shelton connection has promise and it will be unleashed!!!!!

I haven't seen Hue play in a long time, but if he retains is ability he is the ideal man to unleash in our home games where the focus will be on attack. cant see him playing with Bomber though, it's one or the other.

yes... i see the pairing as a defensively challenged midfield.

them can gwaan talk.

Again I said Jamaicans don't like defense. They don't understand the building of a team. The first stage is stopping the bleeding. How many times our star balla them a play and nuh look good cause them only a pick the ball outa them net?

Man can gwaan talk but as mi said month ago and nah back down that Goodison is the best Center half we. Again mi nah back down now matter what the expert them say. Jermaine Taylor look steady and you nah worry bout cane cutting penalty or miss kick. Evon Taylor stand up over him ball like any big man and both Taylor pass the ball very good.

Defense is what we need.