after all the publicity that our Olympic athletes are giving them, they definately should be more willing now to sign our footballers to a US$10M per year kit sponsorship deal. The JFF should be positioning themselves to reap some of the benefits...even if its to have us wear their football boots. Unfortunately, the Kappa contract runs until 2010.
Puma
Read to the end of the post you will see where I acknowledged that fact. The Kappa deal is worth something like US$1.3M. We definately should be able to pull something in teh region of US$10M. T&T gets paid US$14M to wear Adidas...we should be able to command twice that.President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)
RF - why do you think we could get $28M for a kit deal? Keep in mind that T&T qualified for the last world cup, wouldn't that be a major factor in their current deal?"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Not even if Bolt negotiates on our behalf would we get a deal that good. In addition, the Captain talked to Puma and was turned down... then again, the last time we had Kappa for a sponsor and the Professor as coach, look what happened then!Usain "Lightning" Bolt - 9.58 secs. WR.
Not picking on T&T, just using them as an example. I am almost certain that Jamaica (in sporting terms) have a bigger following than T&T, regardless of wether or not we play in the world cup finals. Jamaica's world record breaking performances and gold medal tally at the Olypmic games thus far has a wider reach than T&T's 3 games at the world cup . I'm not saying that we are worth 28 Million, I'm saying we are at least worth twice whatever they are paying T&T when you look at the return they could get from the association with Jamaica (total package).President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)
WE don't need a PUMA deal, we need to develop and market our own brands and jerseys worldwide.
Time for us to step out and start doing things on our own. Build it and they will come. Garvey told us that in these days it will be all about self-reliance.
Thanks to PUMA for their publicity and truth be told PUMA got repaid ten times over. Their brand was brought back to life and their bottom line exploded.
Now that we have seen what we can do. its time to do it ourselves. No one else volunteerily puts themselves in second place or beneath a next person all the time like we do.
WE have been down this Brand Jamaica road before and so there is nothing more to be said but sitting down and asking ourselves how can we cash in on this global branding opportunity?
We know what we don't have
Here is what we have
The internet
The world asking what is it that we are eating and drinking?
The music and the vibes
Once our music hits you thats it you are hooked
So use our music as a tool in the presentation(trojan horse) along with the food and its a wrap.
Good music and good food puts anyone in the mood to do business
Plus our natural mystic energy
First things first our MINDS have to move from what we don't have to what can we do? We have to stop asking others to do for us what we can do for ourselves and stop waiting on government and understand that it comes from grassroots.
Money is key and with the diaspora galvanize and the Jamaica vs Canada match showing us the way with the internet feed all we need is a presentation to the world about what we are about.
ITs a global economy so lets go after the Dubai, Colombia, Angola, Nigeria, South Africa, Bangladore India money
Why are we limiting ourselves? LEts think global as after all our thing done global so we are we undervaluing ourselves?
A fi wi time now and you know how long mi a wait fi run out pon dem?
YOu think a yessiday mi see this and had to wait for the rest of us to catch up.
This opportunity NAAAH pass this time round as man hungry
I got kids to feed. In case unnu no notice it rough out deh
Mi never know say a so much money fi child care and she just turn one August 7th gone(Leo like Bolt and mi can see say she ago be a runner like her Daddy, long and mawga too)
respect
Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Postafter all the publicity that our Olympic athletes are giving them, they definately should be more willing now to sign our footballers to a US$10M per year kit sponsorship deal.
The Jamaican track athletes are world superstars. Your footballers, on the other hand. Well, that's a different story..."Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Reggaefan my LORD in these times you have to conserve your energy. Don't waste time trying to convert people or arguing with them.
Its best to put that energy to use BUILDING and if you read spiritual books like "Wisdom of the Ages" 60 days to spiritual enlightnment by Wayne Dyer you will see that anger diminishes your spiritual power so ignore dem when dem come around as all dem can do is keep us divided
As long as we are not building they are winning
its time now to ignore them and build
lets focus on what we can do
We don't have to argue about how large our brand is
just go out there and find out
respect
Ausar aka the good sheperd
Originally posted by Shatta View PostWE don't need a PUMA deal, we need to develop and market our own brands and jerseys worldwide.
Italy wears Puma -- a German brand -- and won the World Cup wearing it, too. And this despite the fact that there are several domestic Italian sportswear brands to choose from (Kappa, Lotto, Diadora, etc...).
The smart federations take the best deal they are offered, domestic or not. It's not about nationalism."Donovan was excellent. We knew he was a good player, but he really didn't do anything wrong in the whole game and made it difficult for us."
Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View PostNot picking on T&T, just using them as an example. I am almost certain that Jamaica (in sporting terms) have a bigger following than T&T, regardless of wether or not we play in the world cup finals. Jamaica's world record breaking performances and gold medal tally at the Olypmic games thus far has a wider reach than T&T's 3 games at the world cup . I'm not saying that we are worth 28 Million, I'm saying we are at least worth twice whatever they are paying T&T when you look at the return they could get from the association with Jamaica (total package).
RF,
Endorsement deals arent negotiated like that. There are alot of other factors involved. For starters, football and track and field are two different type of sports with different endorsement standards. We can have the fastest men and women but that will not translate into more money for our football team.The fact that T&T qualified for the WC helped in getting that staggering amount of money in sponsorship. The problem here is PUMA isnt as big as Adidas or Nike and therefore will not throw that type of money our way. Same thing with Kappa. Until we get good enough to attract sponsors like Nike or Adidas... we will continue to get monkey money.