Its that time again...

• Its that time again...

....ongle the fittest of the fittest will survive. The semifinal round is here. How confident are you? 6 games and two places up for grabs in a group that many ova bigsoccer say is the "Group of Death".

I had my doubts about Simoes and his coaching staff, player selection, team tactics, management style. Guess what...I still do..moreso now than ever before. He has done nothing to inspire confidence in the team. He also hasnt addressed our problems while dropping some players who are paramount to us getting to SA.

The key to advancing is winning at home and taking at least 1 point in every away game? Is that possible? sure it is... but the question is can this team execute that? Its left to be seen.

Realistically 12 pts should be enough to qualify for the Hex. 4 teams and only 2 spots. Who will advance? We will have our answers at the end of matchday 3. By that team some team(s) will already been eliminated.

your thoughts.....

true....

we all happy. Mexico, Honduras and Canada all perfect teams will qualify.

I am pretty solid with the message that Simoes has put out and some of the selections, i am not happy about the inclusion of Hue and Williams, that will mean a porous and slow midfield, creative maybe but what we need first and foremost is hardcore defense, from the back through the mids.

Anyway we will live and die with the Prof, I agree on King being left out, I saw his attitude of take it or leave it in the Bahamas game and others, he is good but he is not that good. A strike force of Cummings and Shelton will be like the introduction of the ME 262 in the 2nd WW, menacingly potent, a jump to another level of attack, if we can support them. Cummings brings an ability to hold the ball and move quickly at the same time, very tricky in a very straightforward way not a brucky boo like Fuller, hmm maybe the need to serve these two guys is the reason why Prof is pulling in all these slower, maestro types like Kelly, Williams and Hue, they can get the ball to these guys but their defense is woeful and they will not win many 50-50 balls or close down space as quickly as others.

Let's see I will be very happy with a draw, anyway we can get it.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
          I am pretty solid with the message that Simoes has put out and some of the selections, i am not happy about the inclusion of Hue and Williams, that will mean a porous and slow midfield, creative maybe but what we need first and foremost is hardcore defense, from the back through the mids.

Anyway we will live and die with the Prof, I agree on King being left out, I saw his attitude of take it or leave it in the Bahamas game and others, he is good but he is not that good. A strike force of Cummings and Shelton will be like the introduction of the ME 262 in the 2nd WW, menacingly potent, a jump to another level of attack, if we can support them. Cummings brings an ability to hold the ball and move quickly at the same time, very tricky in a very straightforward way not a brucky boo like Fuller, hmm maybe the need to serve these two guys is the reason why Prof is pulling in all these slower, maestro types like Kelly, Williams and Hue, they can get the ball to these guys but their defense is woeful and they will not win many 50-50 balls or close down space as quickly as others.

Let's see I will be very happy with a draw, anyway we can get it.
          It appears to me that Simoes has gone for TEAM...a no brainer! That is what is needed if you harbour any thoughts of climbing higher in world football...

...and...

WINS!

He has gambled on his midfield and forwards creating many chances and outscoring the opposition.

The huge problem we have...Simoes' huge headache...is defense! That expectation of having his midfield create numerous chances...I think he reasons ...will have his opponents on the 'backfoot' often...and take some pressure off the defense.

Can we do enough on offence to 'hide' our defensive frailties?
          I am nervous! The backline has the slow Goodison and we may be missing our best defender, Marshall...or Marshall may not be at his best...who has had a recent injury and may not be fully recovered.

We had the team concept in the first half of the Hex for 98 but we did not truly have the belief, the addition of the Limey Jakes led to another level of belief, performance and approach. We now have pros everywhere we have done this before, so now it is about getting the best on the field in a team atmosphere, i believe we still need Nyron in there to bring more of the Lion quality in the backline, but prof see different so we will live and die with him, anyway maybe he is waiting to get to the hex to make additional moves as in the 98 campaign.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              We had the team concept in the first half of the Hex for 98 but we did not truly have the belief, the addition of the Limey Jakes led to another level of belief, performance and approach. We now have pros everywhere we have done this before, so now it is about getting the best on the field in a team atmosphere, i believe we still need Nyron in there to bring more of the Lion quality in the backline, but prof see different so we will live and die with him, anyway maybe he is waiting to get to the hex to make additional moves as in the 98 campaign.
              You know...he could be thinking that he can create a greater togetherness if he uses more local players...and he may also be thinking that the basic raw 'technical skills' shown by the locals is on par with that of the overseas based players...

...so what does he think he can do with those locals constantly in his care? Teach understanding of the game (philosophy and tactics i.e. understanding of how the game is played - on field responsibilities and how it is great playing TEAM within his system)? ...therefore his expectation is more mature TEAM playing at higher level than a group with overseas professionals coming in for short teaching/training periods?

He could be on the right track! Let us wish him all the luck with putting together a high quality TEAM that moves through the qualifiers and go on to the World Cup where they outperform...tremendously outperform the '98 squad!

The livafool vs Sunderland game is still going on, and it's the first time I am really taking a look at this Nosworthy guy you all rate. He IS good.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

we all happy. Mexico, Honduras and Canada all perfect teams will qualify.
                  ongle 2 teams can advance out of the group stage therefore smaddy WC dreams will be over at the end of the 6 games.

The livafool vs Sunderland game is still going on, and it's the first time I am really taking a look at this Nosworthy guy you all rate. He IS good.
                    Been saying that all along. It beats me why Simoes hasnt given him a chance. He is solid at the back and reads the game very well. That is one of the areas we need to solidify because we are weak.. Nyron doesnt get a chance.

He is the best centre half available to us. Got to give Claude Davis a mention, just watched him play a full game for Derby in their 1-1 draw with Bristol City. He looked a bit rusty but he will benefit from getting some games.

Why unuh keep harping nut Nosworthy? Unuh caan read between de lines wen Simoes sey im tell one ah de UB40 sey if yuh 100% nuh botha. De playa in question stated that im a wait fi si if inglan will come calling before im commit to Yard. Shortly afta dat Nosworthy name start get call in de England setup circles by pepes like im coach and chairman. Nosworthy nuh innah de national colors cause Yard is no longer im first choice. De man have three lions ambition Yard a kitty to im right now. move on, de man nuh waan play fi Yard it nuh ave nutten fi duh wid Simoes.

Originally posted by Brush View Post
                          Why unuh keep harping nut Nosworthy? Unuh caan read between de lines wen Simoes sey im tell one ah de UB40 sey if yuh 100% nuh botha. De playa in question stated that im a wait fi si if inglan will come calling before im commit to Yard. Shortly afta dat Nosworthy name start get call in de England setup circles by pepes like im coach and chairman. Nosworthy nuh innah de national colors cause Yard is no longer im first choice. De man have three lions ambition Yard a kitty to im right now. move on, de man nuh waan play fi Yard it nuh ave nutten fi duh wid Simoes.

Now in all fairness, I have yet to hear Nosworthy make those comments regarding his options in playing for us. If you would be so kind as to pull up the article I would appreciate it.

While youre at it.. maybe you can explain the exclusion of Claude Davis and Damion Stewart as well.

Nosworthy on Quinn's England call

Nyron Nosworthy

By Ian Laws
                            Nyron Nosworthy has spoken for the first time about Sunderland chairman Niall Quinn's flattering talk of a possible England call-up.
                            The centre-back is enjoying his summer break after helping Black Cats stay in the Premier League.

Nosworthy is the first to admit he has a lot of work still to do on his game after experiencing only two top-flight seasons.

But Quinn recently pointed to the success of young Middlesbrough centre-back David Wheater as an incentive to the former Gillingham defender.

Wheater was in England boss Fabio Capello's squad for the recent friendlies with the USA and Trinidad & Tobago.

Quinn said: "Nyron's got to look and think one or two of Boro's players have had a sniff of the England set-up; they have been named in squads.

"Nyron is playing in the same position and he should be looking at that next year.

"He's been a top player in the Championship and he's had a good, steady year in the Premier League.

"It's time for him to kick on. He can do it – it's there for him."

Nosworthy was twice called up by Jamaica – the country of his father, Paul – last season.

But a proposed game with Ghana in London in October was called off and he then suffered a hamstring injury after being included in a squad to play Guatemala in November.

Nosworthy said of Quinn's compliment: "It's nice to be thought of that way.

"I just try to do well for myself, the club and my family and it is nice to be recognised as a good defender.

"I like working hard and I'm going to keep doing that next season.

"What will be, will be, as they say.

"I've not heard any more from Jamaica for a while so I don't know what's going to happen on that side of things.

"I'll just look to try and perform well in games next season and it would be very nice if people think I'm worthy of a call-up."

Source: Sunderland Echo
                            Unuh can believe de "I have not heard from Jamaica in a while..." line if unuh waan.

Originally posted by Brush View Post
                              Unuh can believe de "I have not heard from Jamaica in a while..." line if unuh waan.
                              That article did not tell us the man is not interested in playing for Jamaica. Surely it is our porogative to pick the best players available and Nosworthy is the best Centre half available to us. Give him the call and see what he says. then we can put the situation to bed. The Sunderland Chairman is not Nosworthy's spokesman.