Simoes agrees that we have 25 Adus!

• Simoes agrees that we have 25 Adus!

Well, not really, but maybe we might begin to give our local players some respect if we hear it from the Brasilian.

While admitting that including somewhat untested local-based players in the crucial qualifying round is a risk, Simoes said it is one that he is willing to take.

"It is a risk either way if you use too many overseas players or local players, but I believe that the players are talented enough," he said
    - Gleaner, 14-8-08

You know how long we deh yah a point it out!

its all about belief and the youths dem see black players on tv a dweet and think they can do it too and what else is new

We used to watch cowboy and western shows and call ourselves names like Lee Van Cleef and Josie Wales etc

We used to watch war movies and make our own guns and one man is Colonel, one name general, one a five star general etc. etc.

Now ever man want a AK-47 so why we think football is any different?
    We never lacked in physical gifts, all we lacked were the mental and the scales are falling off our eyes.

Who was the gangsta prophet that predicted all this?

respect

Simoes a drink too much yaad wata. Adu just moved from Portugal to France, just represented his country in the Olympics, played Champions League football last season. Wah di so-called 25 Adus a duh? Play NPL? Kiss teet! Lets hope Adu's agent nuh come cross this thread ... him bound fi sue unuh and Simoes.

I guess a lot of variables went into The Prof's formula for selection but yes, he does believe that we have a lot of talent in Jamaica. Check this other quote also:

"The players have been excellent so far, they behave well, practice very hard and I think that we have a lot of talent available," Simoes said.
        Gleaner 08/04/08
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Adu had an advantage over NPL ballas. He was playing in the MLS which has a greater visibility than the NPL and, furthermore, the USA being ranked in the top 70 (about # 21) serves as a platform for USA players to enter the European leagues. If Jamaica was averaging a FIFA rank of 30 or better year-round then many more of our young players would get offers to play in these top leagues. Until we can command a good average in FIFA's top 70, our players will not get a fair shake of the bingo bag.
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
            I guess a lot of variables went into The Prof's formula for selection but yes, he does believe that we have a lot of talent in Jamaica. Check this other quote also:

"The players have been excellent so far, they behave well, practice very hard and I think that we have a lot of talent available," Simoes said.
            Gleaner 08/04/08

Oh .. well ... I guess since there are various levels of talent, Simoes may be right. I can juggle to 20, dat mek mi talented tuh? Then again, what else is Simoes going to say?

To me ... Tappa was talent .. he may have disappeared time and again during the game .. but ... most times he was if not the most talented player on the field.

Tatty Brown was talented .. mi nuh need fi explain .. and anybody whey need an explanation figet bout football.

Gone are the days when mi used to rate up a player cause him a star inna schoolboy football or NPL. Very few are able to carry on their performance at the international level.

Jimmy Graham, Byron Earle .. Pele .. no dats blasphemy .. Kevin Wilson, Kwane Richards to name a few ... all players I expected to do things at the int'l level due to their exploits in local football. They simply proved that they're just that ... local footballers.

Too many times people brag how we have more talented players than the USA ... when we ever beat their senior team? They effortlessly qualify for major events time and again, yet we with our 25 Adus and abundance of talent keep coming up short.

Some ppl might vex ... but mi affi keep it real.

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
              Adu had an advantage over NPL ballas. He was playing in the MLS which has a greater visibility than the NPL and, furthermore, the USA being ranked in the top 70 (about # 21) serves as a platform for USA players to enter the European leagues. If Jamaica was averaging a FIFA rank of 30 or better year-round then many more of our young players would get offers to play in these top leagues. Until we can command a good average in FIFA's top 70, our players will not get a fair shake of the bingo bag.
              Suh Farmah ...look how many years we had a ranking higher than 70? How many of our players went into top leagues as a result? T&T was ranked close to us, but they had many players in SPL, EPL, Championship etc.

How many of our talented ballers guh inna the same MLS with greater visibility and failed to get an extension for a second year?

Until the local players proved otherwise then Simoes

comments will remain his comments. Given that statement why were we wasting money to invite overseas players instead of use that money to train the local players better and for longer period of time. I think that statement is use to motivate the players so that Simoes can have at least 5 local players to compensate for local support. Either way if it is local players then we have to have short term plan for 2010 and long term plans for 2014.
                Simoes must not be fool by the result in texas. Overall we have to trust his decision based on his previous result. Let's hope the local step up to the plate and proved otherwise to the fans who really nu trust them. This is a cheaper arrangement for J.f.f and it will give Simoes more time with the players if the right ones are selected.

Regardless I hope we can make it to South Africa because too much is there to lose if we don't .

Yard man need to step up and show Concacaf that we belong ...

Good luck and even a draw in toronto will be a good start for the locals.

Lazie, you think if Adu was in Jamaica he would even be playing profesional football today? The USA has more resources to market its players better than we could ever dream of. with all the hype and exposure Freddy Adu got, I believe where he is today is jsut about where he should be...nothing more, nothing less.

Freddy Adu is nothing spectacular in my books. Just that the kid grew up in a system that is far better than ours.
                  President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Lazie there ARE 25 Adus in Jamaica, maybe more. Adu was/is nothing special. He was merely a little more skilled than other AMERICAN kids his age group. However, the MLS and the American media machine (which can make you into a star overnight...literally speaking) wanted a face and a story to boost its popularity and fill stadium seats.
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                      Lazie, you think if Adu was in Jamaica he would even be playing profesional football today? The USA has more resources to market its players better than we could ever dream of. with all the hype and exposure Freddy Adu got, I believe where he is today is jsut about where he should be...nothing more, nothing less.

Freddy Adu is nothing spectacular in my books. Just that the kid grew up in a system that is far better than ours.
                      Appreciate the first line in yuh post. Suh yuh basically agree that our leagues need revamping or yuh ago tell me not to mess wid tradition?

Adu may not be spectacular ... but when he is out there him never look like him nuh belong. How many WCs Adu play? How many Olympic games has he played?

Now compare that to the 25 Adus people talking bout?

Which system the Tattys and Tappa grew up in?

Lazie there ARE 25 Adus in Jamaica, maybe more. Adu was/is nothing special. He was merely a little more skilled than other AMERICAN kids his age group. However, the MLS and the American media machine (which can make you into a star overnight...literally speaking) wanted a face and a story to boost its popularity and fill stadium seats.
                        Two twos mi ago hear say mi is a Adu fan club member. Anyway .. Adu ever play gainst yaad yet at any level? Since him more skilled than the other kids, why our players whey SOOOOO skilled have problems beating a USA team?

Thats the problem Jangle, we (yes, mi include miself) have been to quick to sing praises about a player who buss a salad and pile inna games at the schoolboy level. It get tuh dem head and dem tink dem reach.

To answer your question. It comes down to coaching Lazie. Plain and simple.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Sometimes you have to focus on what you have and what you can "tek your hand tun fashion" with. That way you can build from the bottom to the top.

Lamenting what you have will see you sitting down and never ever starting.

Its time to take stock of what we have and what we can use now to get it all started.

Over the last 2 years we have made steady progress in sending players away to professional environments so lets continue that trend and the best way to do it is to get on the internet and market our products

Let the world then decide if they like what we have
                            respect

Mi nuh sure bout any 25 Adus in Jamaica. Maybe 25 Adu's in terms of what he finally becomes as a senior player. When Adu was a little youth (if his age is correct), he shredded the Jamaican defense to pieces. Our so called "skillfull" ballers could not deal with a defense composed of Jamaica's best defenders the way Adu dealth with them when he was a Junior player.