Squad for Canada
Newsletter. Read the bottom part
Simoes upset over state of National Stadium field
ANDREW HANCEL, Observer staff reporter hancela@jamaicaobserver.com
Wednesday, August 13, 2008
Assistant coach Theodore Whitmore uses a ball to demonstrate the depth of a hole in the surface at the National Stadium yesterday. (Photo: Karl McLarty)
NATIONAL technical director Rene Simoes is complaining bitterly about the poor state of the National Stadium field, after staging a training session there yesterday.
Simoes was forced to adjust his training plans at the country's premier football venue because of the shoddy state of the outfield.
Only a section of the field was considered "relatively safe". The southern section of the venue was impossible to practice on because of a huge hole which is visible even from a distance.
"I had to put in a very short practice because the ball was hitting our (the players) shin," Simoes told journalists yesterday.
Explanations such as those attributing the state of the pitch to the recent Independence Grand Gala were dismissed by Simoes, who said there are similar practices in other parts of the world, but the outfield is still maintained at world-class standards.
The Brazilian said the condition of the outfield, which will be the home venue for the Reggae Boyz World Cup qualifiers, has been the same since he returned in January for his second stint.
"Since January I complained, the field has not gotten better. Now they're going to use the Independence celebrations to justify the (poor) quality of the field; for me is foolishness," Simoes said.
On Monday, Simoes praised the Brancourt field in Clarendon where the local-based squad played local team, Waterhouse, in a practice match.
At fields like Brancourt, Simoes said, the "technique of the players will improve".
Today, the TD is expected to announce the team that will travel to Toronto, Canada, for the August 20 CONCACAF World Cup qualifier against that country.
Meantime, Simoes has hinted there could be more local-based players drafted for the Canada match, given that the match is not being played on a FIFA date.
Simoes seemed to be concentrating on local-based players, as overseas clubs with Jamaican nationals are not obliged to release their players.
"If you have players spending a long time with you it is much better; they understand you better and you can put in some concepts, and that's what we're doing," he said.
A squad of 23 local players has been in camp since August 4, but the likes of national captain Ricardo Gardner of English team Bolton Wanderers, Luton Shelton of Norwegian oufit Valerenga and US-based Andy Williams are expected to be among the squad in Canada.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Well ... either Simoes wrong or Blabber is being consistent.
http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/worl...4_en_34822.pdf"Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Looks like we only going to try and get 1 point
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostAugust 13, 2008
Canada Squad for World Cup Qualifier
Harbour View midfielder Jermaine Hue cemented his return to the Reggae Boyz band when he was named in a squad of 20 selected for Jamaica’s opening encounter in the semi-final round of the CONCACAF qualifiers for the 2010 South Africa World Cup.
Hue, 30, only returned to the national squad earlier this month after his last call up for the Ash Wednesday friendly against Costa Rica, in which he did not feature. Accompanying Hue’s return was confirmation that 28-year-old striker Marlon King will not play a part in the game against Canada.
The squad was a largely local-based one with 18-year-old Reno midfielder Davion Thorpe set to travel with the senior team for the first time while fellow youngster and clubmate Evan Taylor who made his debut in June against St Vincent and the Grenadines, keeps his place in the squad. Sporting Central midfielder Jevaughn Watson could earn his second cap for the country following his El Salvador debut as he too is on the list along with Colorado Rapids forward Omar Cummings who made his debut in the same game. Technical director Simoes was full of praise for the hardworking player, especially his movement on and off the ball a quality which will serve the team well.
Also included in the squad are the ever presents in captain Ricardo Gardner, Tyrone Marshall, goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts, Rodolph Austin, Demar Phillips, Luton Shelton and Andy Williams. The team will depart Saturday morning for Toronto, Canada and return Thursday, following Wednesday’s game.
Meanwhile the officials for the game are Referee Carlos Batres, Assistant Referees Rodolfo Gonzales and Alejo Mendez all from Guatemala. There countryman Walter Lopez will be the fourth official while Francis Cezair of Trinidad and Tobago has been assigned the duties of Match Commissioner and Carlos Ortiz, Referee Assessor.
Full squad: Goalkeepers – Ricketts, Shawn Sawyers; Defenders – Marshall, Ian Goodison, Keneil Moodie, O’Brian Woodbine, Demar Stewart, Jermaine Taylor; Midfielders – Austin, Thorpe, Evan Taylor, Watson, Hue, Gardner, and Wolry Wolfe; Forwards – Deon Burton, Cummings and Williams.
O I wish King had kept his mouth shut.The same type of thinking that created a problem cannot be used to solve the problem.
Simoes, I have the greatest respect fro the man, but I dont really buy into his way of thinking sometimes. I doubt very highly that we are the only team that will have the players for only 2 days.
In effect we are going into the Canada game with a less than full strength squad. Looks like about 50% of the players who showed up for the 3 week training camp last year has been ditched.
Anyway, looking forward to a good showing. I'll be happy with 1 point.Last edited by Reggae-Fan; August 13, 2008, 04:00 PM.President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)
yup, me threeHey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Boy Mosiah, you have been the most enthusiastic poster on the message board since Jerry Hue got recalled (a my youth that still)
you even showed some love to Captain Burrell the other day.
Ahh. Happy for you anyway. At least we dont habve to put up with your moodswings anymore.President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)
so who have it wrong? Stoke said both Fuller and Phillips received call for National duties...Guess Stoke wanted to hold on to Fuller because he's just coming back from injury.Mi a work wid Di coach but both di Defence and the forward line look week. Definitely seems like Simoes will be playing with 1 forward and crowding the Midfield and playing Andy behind the 1 striker...tue midfielders are
1) watson
2)thorpe
3)Taylor
4) Austin
5) Williams
6) Hue
7) Gardner
8) Wolfe
9) Phillips.
And then Marshall might be out for Injury so I don't have that good feeling about this one...It all seems now that those international ballers at the camps didn't impress Simoes