Having now heard the real story behind Marlon King's

Nobody said he shouldn't be disciplined .. guh back and read the posts. Fuller is already injuried, why shoot ourselves in the foot by dropping King as well?

Damn it ... I forget .. we have an abundance of talent.

No Mr. President....well not in this case. No Lazie you are wrong. I say drop the player regardless of skill if he can't abide by the coach's rules. The progeam is bigger than one or a few players even if the consequence is a failure to qualify. Because of their indiscipline, where are Nandi and Boyd now? Boyd is/was my favourite player to don the national colours.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Plush, I worked in the Norwalk area up to March of this year, and worked there for 4 years prior (Marshall street, jsut off North Main in the vicinity of the Maritime aquarium.

Now based in Shelton further up north on I-95.
      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

No Mr. President....well not in this case. No Lazie you are wrong. I say drop the player regardless of skill if he can't abide by the coach's rules. The progeam is bigger than one or a few players even if the consequence is a failure to qualify. Because of their indiscipline, where are Nandi and Boyd now? Boyd is/was my favourite player to don the national colours.

Suh fining the player is punishment as well? Reprimanding the player and have him apologize to the coach AND to his teammates cannot work as well?
        Listen ... before the UB40s came on board, those 2 clowns would step out of line time and again. I recall they were suspended for 2 games, a games was upcoming against some quashi Caribbean team. Then out of the blue a big game was scheduled against Mexico at the stadium. There was alot of talk how we gonna beat the Mexico without the indisciplined duo. Boop ... Simoes or Burrell figured it out. They arranged a game against a parish team, maybe St. Catherine, then they came out saying how the players served their 2 games suspension and are now able to face the Mexicans. Make matters worse, they both scored.

I'm not saying he shouldn't be punished, but is this the only method to punish a player?

He was dropped from the time. No one has banned him, at least not yet. What's the big deal about being dropped? Indeed, he simply was not picked, really!

Given his past, regardless of the admin. in charge, perhaps this coach felt the only option is to not pick him for the match.

What's the big deal?

Fining the player? It all depends on the nature of the offense. Sometimes it makes no disciplinary sense to fine a player. Also given King's propensity to cuss off his coaches and people in authority, plus the fact that he was just coming off a 2 year ban, plus the fact that he was seen as a senior player who had the respect of the coaching STAFF and players to be named captain, he should have known better.

I remember those "hurry-come-up" matches also. Hey, maybe the Burrell/Simoes administration DID learn from that lesson that's why they are not about to go down that road again. Burrell does "appear" to be a changed man.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

He was dropped from the time. No one has banned him, at least not yet. What's the big deal about being dropped? Indeed, he simply was not picked, really!

Given his past, regardless of the admin. in charge, perhaps this coach felt the only option is to not pick him for the match.

What's the big deal?
              The big deal is if people serious bout reach Africa. Unuh think a Bahamas we ago play again?

Also, maybe this could be all a show by Simoes. Was his team willing to release him for a NONE FIFA approved date?

I have asked this question on more than one ocassion; Given the choice of establishing a solid football program versus qualifying for the next WC, which one would you choose?

Can't you understand the situation, Lazie? Not trying to diss, but have you ever played a team sport in some organised competition?

It matters not how good you are if your negatives might destroy TEAM. It's as simple as that.

We stand a better chance with this bunch of players who will fight for each other out there and do everything asked of them by their coaches. No one needs to be told about dem modda when the match is on the line.

Full squad: Goalkeepers – Ricketts, Shawn Sawyers; Defenders – Marshall, Ian Goodison, Keneil Moodie, O’Brian Woodbine, Demar Stewart, Jermaine Taylor; Midfielders – Austin, Thorpe, Evan Taylor, Watson, Hue, Gardner, and Wolry Wolfe; Forwards – Deon Burton, Cummings and Williams.

• Originally posted by Jangle View Post
                      Also, maybe this could be all a show by Simoes. Was his team willing to release him for a NONE FIFA approved date?
                      Its a FIFA date Jangle.

I have asked this question on more than one ocassion; Given the choice of establishing a solid football program versus qualifying for the next WC, which one would you choose?
                        Gimme di WC ... the fact that nobody see the need to revamp the current structure of our leagues, figet bout solid football structure. Just ensure we move up the rankings suh the better players can guh inna some decent league guh learn a ting or 2. It harsh ... but smady affi keep it real.

• Ok. So why is there talk about releasing our overseas based players by their (formites to whom it applies, please note the spelling of "their" vs "there") clubs?

• Originally posted by Mosiah View Post
                            Can't you understand the situation, Lazie? Not trying to diss, but have you ever played a team sport in some organised competition?

It matters not how good you are if your negatives might destroy TEAM. It's as simple as that.

We stand a better chance with this bunch of players who will fight for each other out there and do everything asked of them by their coaches. No one needs to be told about dem modda when the match is on the line.

Full squad: Goalkeepers – Ricketts, Shawn Sawyers; Defenders – Marshall, Ian Goodison, Keneil Moodie, O’Brian Woodbine, Demar Stewart, Jermaine Taylor; Midfielders – Austin, Thorpe, Evan Taylor, Watson, Hue, Gardner, and Wolry Wolfe; Forwards – Deon Burton, Cummings and Williams.
                            Based on what I think of the leagues in Jamaica and the fact that yuh used the word organized ... the answer would be no. If yuh tek out organised .. then yes.

Is that the squad for the Canada game? What happen to Shelton? Williams as in Andy Williams?

• Originally posted by Lazie View Post
                              Gimme di WC ... the fact that nobody see the need to revamp the current structure of our leagues, figet bout solid football structure. Just ensure we move up the rankings suh the better players can guh inna some decent league guh learn a ting or 2. It harsh ... but smady affi keep it real.
                              And that is the opinion shared by 90-odd% of the Jamaican fans. So it is counter productive when most here complain about this and this player not being selected from so and so local club and how we can't qualify for Gold Cup and whatever other international competition. As a matter of fact, we may as well just disband the NPL cause a joka league dat. Figet bout better fields and just scrap the Academy and youth programs. Afterall, our local infrastructure is not necessary because we have nuff foreigners fe draw pon.

Ok. So why is there talk about releasing our overseas based players by their (formites to whom it applies, please note the spelling of "their" vs "there") clubs?
                                Wait ... which forumites was talking about clubs releasing players? Yuh affi careful who yuh a use fi arrive at conclusions pon this forum Jangle. Then again, maybe they were discussing the players being released early.

World Qualifiers are played on FIFA dates.