Looking at the current Midfield

• Looking at the current Midfield

the only way Reggaeboyz make it to South Africa is if Tappa and Andy Williams are asked to play into their late 30's... either that or bring back in from the cold the likes of Langley and Hyde.

Don't see how anyone can expect to qualify without a quality midfield.

Dem coulda bring in 10 Bora.

RE: Looking at the current Midfield

Maudib (10/25/2006)the only way Reggaeboyz make it to South Africa is if Tappa and Andy Williams are asked to play into their late 30's... either that or bring back in from the cold the likes of Langley and Hyde.

Usually quality young players emerge after old quality players retire! Who is getting Keith Kelly back to his old self...and, is willing to take him beyond where he was...on towards developingfull potential before 2010?

...and, where are the new young midfield generals?

Are we seriously still talking about Keith Kelly? Could someone please stick a fork in him? Thanks in advance. Him done. - T.K.

You know it is funny. It is only in Jamaica I ever hear the excuse that the reason the mid-field looked so bad is because the defenders kept bypassing them. It makes you wonder why the defenders would have to bypass them so often. In other countries if the mid-field is not influential it would be that the mid-fieldersplayed poorly. Go figure.

I agree with you our mid-field is weak. Especially straight down the center. I disagree however that it requires an aged Tappa or an uninterested Andy back. Our only hope is the UB40's to strengthen the spine of the team so that we don't get overrun in the middleas we are prone to do against the better teams in concacaf. Just my opinion.

Truth to tell Ben you never really replace a player like Tappa. It will takea generation of players before we can find someone comparable. For right now it is what it is.....We will not qualify for another world cup in my life time. - T.K.

For your information, Jamaica does not have any problem finding a quality midfielder or quality playersfor that matter. However, our real problemis finding a coach whoknows real talent when he sees it, knows how to use talented players and can actually coach! My friend, there are loads of quality young players all over the island who are being ignored and simply not given a chance. Case in point, Tappa who is arguably one of our best midfielders ever, did not play schoolboy football and Pepe Goodison, one of our best defenders ever was not even playing in the NPL when he was discovered. Based on my experience with football in Jamaica,I would be utterly shocked if we don't have numerous cases like those begging for a chance. Look at the maestro Jerry Hue! The man plays midfield and was overlooked for a period of about 5-7 years while being the absolute best player in the NPL, and what happened? Players who were playing in a similar midfield role and 10 times below his level were constantly called up for the senior squad while Hue was not even a thought. I still can't figure it out. Hue is now the best player on the team...just imagine how good he was 5 years ago and how much better he might have been doing national duties and playing in a top league somewhere outside of the US or the Caribbean?

:hehe:

Sensi (10/25/2006)For your information, Jamaica does not have any problem finding a quality midfielder or quality playersfor that matter. However, our real problemis finding a coach whoknows real talent when he sees it, knows how to use talented players and can actually coach! My friend, there are loads of quality young players all over the island who are being ignored and simply not given a chance. Case in point, Tappa who is arguably one of our best midfielders ever, did not play schoolboy football and Pepe Goodison, one of our best defenders ever was not even playing in the NPL when he was discovered. Based on my experience with football in Jamaica,I would be utterly shocked if we don't have numerous cases like those begging for a chance. Look at the maestro Jerry Hue! The man plays midfield and was overlooked for a period of about 5-7 years while being the absolute best player in the NPL, and what happened? Players who were playing in a similar midfield role and 10 times below his level were constantly called up for the senior squad while Hue was not even a thought. I still can't figure it out. Hue is now the best player on the team...just imagine how good he was 5 years ago and how much better he might have been doing national duties and playing in a top league somewhere outside of the US or the Caribbean?
              On our full squad Hue may command a place..but, he is not in the top 3 of the best! ...and,that's my fact!

Aside: Oooooh the Avatar? Plains of Kingston & St Andrewas seen froma balcony in Norwood, St Andrew!

Which midfielder, defensive or otherwise, is better?

Karl be careful...you are losing credibility very fast! Hue is not in the top 3 on the squad!? I would really like to hear your top 3 because it is going to be extremely interesting to see your explanation for excluding Hue, because ther is simply no justification. Jamaica's top 3 players are Hue, King and Bibi. No dancing around this topic bredrin, just give it to us straight...NAME YOUR TOP 3 PLAYERS IN THE REGGAEBOYZ TEAM!!

Mosiah (10/25/2006)Which midfielder, defensive or otherwise, is better?
                    King is miles and away a better player than Hue- forward

Jason Euell is miles and away a better player than Hue. - midfielder

Hyde - midfielder

Gardner is miles and away a better player than Hue - Defender/midfielder

Ricketts also more important to the TEAM

I hope that satisfies you. ...scratch that. You will never be satisfied.

Hue deserves his place on our current TEAM but...please do not get carried away? Pleease?

Sensi (10/25/2006)Karl be careful...you are losing credibility very fast! Hue is not in the top 3 on the squad!? I would really like to hear your top 3 because it is going to be extremely interesting to see your explanation for excluding Hue, because ther is simply no justification. Jamaica's top 3 players are Hue, King and Bibi. No dancing around this topic bredrin, just give it to us straight...NAME YOUR TOP 3 PLAYERS IN THE REGGAEBOYZ TEAM!!
                      Must have been typing while you your posting. Kindly look within thread for my answer.

Sensi I am not sure what you are disagreeing with me on as I agree with everything in your post. - T.K.

My top 3 King, Euell and Gardner. Not necessarily in that order.

Maudib (10/25/2006)the only way Reggaeboyz make it to South Africa is if Tappa and Andy Williams are asked to play into their late 30's... either that or bring back in from the cold the likes of Langley and Hyde.

Ben J, is Tappa still playing ball (competitively I should say). What condition is he in now? I think Andy could still be an option. Andy also did not rule it out. He basically said the JFF should get their act together and he would reconsider.
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

<DIV>HA! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Which one of them can win a game for the Boyz?</DIV>