That 2001 Squad

• That 2001 Squad

These are the players who represented us when we qualified for the 2001 Youth World Cup in Argentina. Now, 7 years later, only a few of them can force themselves onto the senior men's team.
    [1]Allien WHITTAKER (GK); [3] Shavar THOMAS ; [5] : Shane STEVENS; [6] Alex THOMAS; [7] Sean FRASER; [8]; Keith KELLY; [9]; Omar DALEY; [12] Craig GORDON; [13] Adam WALLACE ; [14] Kevon HARRIS; [17] Damion WILLIAMS; [18] Allan REID (GK); [2] Sheldon BATTISTE; [4] Fabian BLAKE; [10]Fabian DAWKINS; [11] Christopher NICHOLAS; [15] Wolry WOLFE; [16] Khari STEPHENSON

Where Are They Now!
    A. Whittaker - In an NPL journey that took him from Hazzard to Rivoli and then to Village Utd, the little keeper now suit up for the army men at JDF.
    S. Thomas - Did well enough at UCONN to be drafted in the MLS by Dallas FC. He has made a few stops in the MLS though, playing at Kansas City and making a very brief visit to LA. Shavar now seems settled at Chivas where he plays for his former Kansas team-mate Preki.
    S. Stevens - Simply, if he is not at Arnett FC look him up at BT....and vice versa.
    A. Thomas - Alex seems like a fixture at Arnett FC, except for one season when he dusted off at HVFC.
    S. Fraser - Luck found Matterhorn and flew him away to Miami FC. He also spent a couple months on loan to Boavista in Brasil but for the most part he is an integral part of the Miami FC offensive machinery. What is suprising though, is that he still finds it difficult to force his way onto Rene Simoes' teams.
    K. Kelly - His soccer career has flattered, been battered, been hampered then fluttered when it most mattered. The little general was so impressive at the 2001 Oly that PSG came calling. But a downward spiral saw him being sent on loan, only to return to Jamaica where he went from HVFC to AGFC and then to TnT where he had that dreadful broken foot. After almost two years of rehab he seems well enough to have caught the eye of The Prof in a recent club match against a national selection. Hopefully the little round mound can rebound and lose the nickname of "Keith Belly."
    Omar Daley - Although not a stellar career, Rat has done enough to keep himself gainfully employed, playing actively in competitive leagues and force the JFF to always take notice. The former Glenmuir High and PMU star was once on the payroll at Preston North End before moving to several other clubs in the English league. After failing to maintain his English contract on the first occasion, Rat has once again (via Charleston Battery of the USL) found himself back in England where he now plays for Bradford City.
    C. Grordon - He spent many years on the benches at AGFC. I'm not sure where he is today but he needs a change from the Jungle.
    A. Wallace - Whatever became of Adam Wallace! I know he spent a couple seasons in Belgium at KSV Roeselare but has not been there in the last two years. I once heard (about a ayear ago) that he was trying to get onto the Canadian team's radar. That would be good for him because it seems that he is totally off the JFF's detectors.
    K. Harris - A waste of a wonderful talent, somewhat like the Peter Cargill type which the Prof now searches for. He was also capable of playing well as a right wing back. Kevon moved around in the USL and was last seen playing for the Virginia Beach Mariners.
    D. Williams - Cappo was the real deal and he proved himself at Waterhouse FC. However, ever since he was shot in the foot (about three years ago) his game and swiftness of feet have dwindled a bit.
    Allan Reid - Strangely I do not recall Allan ever being in the NPL. In fact, I do not recall hearing about him since the U20 team returned from Argentina in 2001.
    S. Battiste - Sheldon played a year or two with Hazzard FC but since then has played mostly for TGFC. He has always been good but the national coaches seemed to be more drawn to tall defenders. Sheldon, being vertically challenged, never stood a chance especially under CB who made it known that he liked tall defenders.
    F. Blake - Aahhhh Lexus!! I saw him play once when he was a yute and I was impressed. It is disappointing to see that he never took his skills to the upward levels. He seems planted there in Reno while other Reno players get the national nod over him. Maybe it's time to make a switch to either PMU or HVFC. I know he had a slight run-in with the law but a change of scenery might help to rebuild his career.
    F. Dawkins - The shaved head Dawkins was once known as "Ronaldo." The summer before he went to Argentina he was in Miami and played pick-up games with my team. His skill level then was awesome! I have seen him play many times since then and even though he lit up the USL and the NPL for a couple seasons, I think he plays with his broken leg in mind. Fabian needs to have a fantastic upcoming NPL season in order to serve notice to Rene Simoes. Afterall, he was the only Jamaican to score a goal at the 2001 U20 World Cup!
    C. Nicholas - Ahhh Bway!! Where do I start? The short of it is that Chemo ate his way out of the national pool and out of TGFC. Hopefully he will be a change man at PMU! He is a bag of potential energy which never found the way to become kinetic. If he puts his mind to it I think Chemo could (within the course of this NPL season) force himself onto The Pro's list of strikers.
    W. Wolfe - The elder Wolfe knows how it's done. He is a coach's player. he has carried his game from PMU to TnT and has usually performed fairly well. I don't think he is an outstanding player but he does the basics well and usually carries out the manager's assignments. That in itself bodes well for him. What I would like to him do though is to put more into his pre-season preparations in an effort to take his game to a higher level. From a distance it seems like some workout with a strength coach would also do him well.
    K. Stephenson - Khari is a solid player who I think could fit well into the # 7 position which seems still up for grabs. He is among the less-than-handful of players from the 2001 squad who has done okay on the pro circuit. He is big, strong, solid and technically skilled to either the right back or the holding-mid positions. Since leaving kansas City of the MLS Khari seems to be doing okay in the Scandinavian leagues.

A List Of Other Players Who Also Played At The 2001 U20WC
    ARGENTINA
    Javier Saviola
    Maxi Rodriguez
    Fabricio Coloccini

BRAZIL
    Adriano
    Kaka
    Maicon
    Julio Baptista
    Luisao
    Pinga
    Fernando
    Rubinho

CANADA
    Julian De Guzman

USA
    Oguchi Onyewu
    Damarcus Beasley
    Landon Donovan
    Bobby Convey

FRANCE
    Alou Diarra
    Djibril Cisse

GHANA
    Derel Boateng
    Michael Essien
    John Mensah
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011