• JFF query FIFA over Canada concerns

JFF query FIFA over Canada concerns
    August 7 2008
    Football- News

The Jamaica Football Federation will be seeking clarification from FIFA regarding a few areas of concern as the Reggae Boyz prepare to meet Canada in CONCACAF World Cup qualifying on August 20.
    “They always water the field before a game and at half time,” Rene Simoes pointed out to JamaicaWin.com. “This makes the field extremely fast and gives them an advantage. We would like to know if this practice is permitted.”

The Brazilian went on to say that this query is part of the preparation for the game. “We would want to know everything,” Simoes said. “We would like to prepare before the game and not wait until afterwards and then we complain. If it is OK to water the field, we will have to water our field and practice sometimes.” Simoes said that if it is permissible for the Canadians to water the field, which is artificial and does not need water, the JFF would be ensuring that when the Reggae Boyz practice on the pitch before the game, it is properly watered similar to a game situation to give Jamaica’s players the opportunity to familiarize themselves with the slick surface.

The Technical director said that the JFF will also ask FIFA to look at the dimension of the BMO field where the game is scheduled to be played as it appears to be much smaller than the FIFA minimum dimensions.

Simoes also pointed out that the JFF will also seek clarification regarding the amount of days that the players will be available to him before the game. August 20 is not an official match date on the FIFA calendar but rather a day for International Friendly games. On official match dates, the clubs are obligated to release the players four days in advance. However, on other dates they are only obligated to release the players only two days before.

Simoes said that preparations for the game are ongoing. “We have been watching all the videos that we can get our hands on,” Simoes told JamaicaWin.com. A squad of local-based players has been called to camp starting on Thursday and ending on August 14. He also said that one of his assistants, Lucio Gama, has been assigned to attend and spy on the game between Mexico and Honduras at the Azteca on August 20. Jamaica host Mexico at the National Stadium on September 6.

JamaicaWin.com will have minute by minute ‘LIVE TEXT’ coverage of Jamaica’s World Cup games as well as twice per day updates starting one week before each game. Send a link to your friend all over the world so they can be informed.

uhmm I have been to most games at bmo and only seem them water the field one and that was at the mls all star game.... keep in mind canada has only played 1 game on this field...

I believe Its done more during club games (TO fc)...The complaint is not neccesarily that the Canadian authorities do it.... I think whats Simoes is trying to get at is wether or not he would be within his rights to request that the stadium authorities water the field before his troops train there, if he so desires.
      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Or he wants to be sure of what condition they will have to deal with when they get there. Are they going to play on a dry pitch or or is it going to be watered. Does Canada have the right to water under FIFA rules?

I am sure FIFA rules has not addressed that, but they will find a way to address it.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

How the hell a concacaf qualifying game date is not a offici

al fifa date. This is what Simoes need to question and stop worrying about wet or dry field. Simoes have Marshall to advise him about the pitch and we have to decide to win the game even if it is below -40 degrees.

Suh if a dat Simoes really think, why not wet fi wi field, mussi a wait pon rain.
            The matches in the Boyz' group is no different than those expected in the next round, we have to put our best foot forward(the perceived best team)and not the feel our way as we go strategy, I am mindful of the absence of King and Nyron. There can't possibly be an excuse for not taking a look at Noseworthy. We do however have an intriguing blend of local players and foreign based players.
            I suspect we will be okay though.

Blessed

That's the first thing - how is it not a FIFA date?!?

OJ, is the field small or not?

I know some older type artificial turf fields require a damping before games. I didn't think the new ones needed it.

Originally posted by No Mercy View Post
                al fifa date. This is what Simoes need to question and stop worrying about wet or dry field. Simoes have Marshall to advise him about the pitch and we have to decide to win the game even if it is below -40 degrees.
                You seem to have missed the point with the field. Simoes wants the team to be prepared for game conditions, hence the need to know if the field will be wetted down or not so that he can duplicate it for practice.

Suh if a dat Simoes really think, why not wet fi wi field, mussi a wait pon rain.
                  The matches in the Boyz' group is no different than those expected in the next round, we have to put our best foot forward(the perceived best team)and not the feel our way as we go strategy, I am mindful of the absence of King and Nyron. There can't possibly be an excuse for not taking a look at Noseworthy. We do however have an intriguing blend of local players and foreign based players.
                  I suspect we will be okay though.

Blessed

Well wetting our Field won't create the same experience as the turf...it will actually be the opposite...it will be like comparing playing in mud to playing on ice....and you need to know what type of boots to carry...and my experience with turf is watering two times in a game will create a different experience in the second half compared to watering one time at the start...unu member when England played Russia in Russia....it was the same field and it was wet...England knew what the conditions were going to be like but they still weren't prepared for the way the ball moved

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
                    You seem to have missed the point with the field. Simoes wants the team to be prepared for game conditions, hence the need to know if the field will be wetted down or not so that he can duplicate it for practice.

That mi say too cause mi play on that type of field already and trust me...it can be a possesion team nightmare...that's why me think say if Simoes get him wish and we get a good idea of how the turf will play...there is a reasonable chance that we going score bout 3 goals on Canada cause our game is predicated on speed and unless Canada change overnight them can't out run us

dry ball on a wetfield? hmmm.

Thats what I am saying RF.. never saw it a TFC games and I am at most...

Well the field is short.. the width is good but its a compact field. Again I have season to TFC and also went to most of the U20 WC and have not seen them water it.. Keep in mind this is close to the lake so it is a fast pitch.. They did water it in the MLS allstar game but I am told this was for the benefit of the West ham players some who did not play because they have clause in thier contract that forbids playing on synthectic and to prevent injuries. I will say because the field is next to lake ontario its gets that dew like effect anyway.. Both teams will play on the watered pitch.. I would say dont wear turf or muilti-- a pair of 13 pegs will do well...

how does he do that.. he has a wet field turf field?

whatif it rained.. This field in next to lake ontario.. My understanding is that the wet turf decreased injuries.....