Burrell on the warpath again

• Burrell on the warpath again

IN THE wake of Stoke City-bound Reggae Boy Rudolph Austin being denied a work permit by the United Kingdom Home Office late last week, the president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), Captain Horace Burrell, has once again lashed out at the previous administration for what he called "selfishness" and a "lack of understanding".
    "It is a sad situation, just a huge disappointment for all that are involved," Burrell told The Gleaner.
    Gross incompetence
    "I believe that today our young talented footballers are paying the price for gross incompetence, a lack of understanding and selfishness during the previous administration," he said.
    After pursuing the 22-year-old for more than a year, a transfer fee estimated to be somewhere in the region of £1 million (J$140 million) had been agreed to last month between the Austin's local premier league club Portmore United and the recently promoted Stoke. However, the completion of the deal was subject to the granting of a work permit and that was turned down last Friday.
    Whereas on previous occasions, Austin's permit was turned down based on the fact that he had not taken part in the requisite number of friendly internationals, this time - having satisfied that requirement, Jamaica's falling outside of FIFA's top 70 on an average of two years, prevented the deal from going through.
    According to Home Office stipulations, "a player must have played for his country in at least 75 per cent of its competitive 'A' team matches; and the player's country must be at or above 70th place in the official FIFA world rankings when averaged over the two years preceding the date of the application".
    Currently ranked at 94, Jamaica's average over the past two years stands at 82.
    Austin, who has sparkled in the central midfield role for the national team, isn't the only player to feel the sting of Jamaica's lowly ranking. Just a few months ago, Jamaica's number-one goalkeeper, Donovan Ricketts, albeit under different circumstances, failed to secure a permit after attempting a move to Championship team Queens Park Rangers from League Two side Bradford City. Without the requisite documentation to stay in England, the player was later forced to return home.
    "I can recall statements from former technical director 'Bora' Milutinovic to the effect that FIFA rankings were not that important and he was allowed to play against lowly-placed opposition with weakened Reggae Boyz teams losing heavily to countries who demolished us," Burrell said.
    "Is there any surprise that our youngsters are now being denied the opportunity of attaining work permits to England, the most organised football league in the world?" he asked.
    In 2006, under the tutelage of Serbian technical director, Milutinovic, the team plummeted a jaw-dropping 32 places from June-July.
    Development
    The period, which was labelled as an experiment geared towards fostering the development of local talent, saw the national team play without its overseas-based players. A tour of Asia saw the Reggae Boyz suffer losses to teams several places below them in the rankings, Indonesia and Vietnam, and then they were hammered 8-1 by Iran.
    When contacted by The Gleaner, former president of the JFF, Crenston Boxhill, opted to comment on the issue at a later date.
    While pledging that the administration would do everything possible to get the nation out of its current ranking plight, Burrell also pointed out that the onus was on the players.
    "The current administration is determined to pull out all the stops in an attempt to correct the current ranking issue, but this will, by no means, be an easy task," he said. "Fortunately, the second round of the World Cup qualifiers begin on the 20th of August. All players are aware of the precarious position and we hope that they will give some excellent performances," he said.
    Quality opposition
    The current low ranking of Jamaica's national team is also reported to be a major cause in the team being unable to secure quality opposition, which is the best way to climb up the FIFA charts. Jamaica has not been the only country stung by Home Office rulings in recent times. Recently, Liverpool manager Rafa Benitez was frustrated in a bid to sign Argentine winger Sebastian Leto and, closer to home, the United States have seen players like Cobi Jones, Brad Friedel, DaMarcus Beasley and Bobby Convey all have permit issues.

The link cutoff, and like mi say, agents & clubs fi stop giving the yutes false expectations of a work permit in England. We are having some success in Norway & Sweden that's where the focus should be.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      The link cutoff, and like mi say, agents & clubs fi stop giving the yutes false expectations of a work permit in England. We are having some success in Norway & Sweden that's where the focus should be.
      Bredren, mi nuh understand the thinking. Everybody want to play in the English leagues forgetting there are other leagues in Europe ... France, Portugal, Norway, Finland, Sweden etc.

See Freddy Adu gained experience in Portugal last season and now moved to Ligue 1.

what you mean by this? "false expectations"?

The only player who didn't work out was Austin and Ricketts.

Stoke felt they had a chance since the first time Austin was turned down it was just about games played and since he fulfiled that requirement there was a chance.

You still need work permit for Norway etc. although it not as bad as England.

I could be wrong, but didn't the jaw-dropping 32 place fall down the charts occur when FIFA changed the ranking system?

The best way to climb out of this hole is to start beating teams like El Salvador and T&T. What did we do when we played those teams recently?

I could be wrong, but didn't the jaw-dropping 32 place fall down the charts occur when FIFA changed the ranking system?

The best way to climb out of this hole is to start beating teams like El Salvador and T&T. What did we do when we played those teams recently?
            Games such as those humiliations in Asia impacted on our ranking.

Fine!

Now, how do you fix that? Draw with lowly-ranked El Salvador and higher-ranked, but no good T&T? Twice?

At some point, we have to stop living on Boxhill name.

You buy into the ranking system change and that is why we deh so far down? Is that the primary reason or the fact that we embarass ourselves over the last two years pickup up nothing but 6-0, 5-1, 8-1 etc to respectable teams? How quick we forget. No matter what kinda ranking system with dem deh score on a regular basis bredda you will be nowhere near the top. You coulda beat El Salvador and Trinidad 100 times.

Let's not be foolish about this. A lot of other countries that were not losing like that also fell drastically. How do you explain that? That has been discussed on this forum ad infinitum.

Yuh know what - carry on amongst yourselves. I see we refuse to be honest about this. Mi nuh have nuh time fi waste.

Fine!

Now, how do you fix that? Draw with lowly-ranked El Salvador and higher-ranked, but no good T&T? Twice?

At some point, we have to stop living on Boxhill name.
                    You sounding like Ronnie Thwaites and Ralston Hyman now. Boxhill crashed the program, I have no problem with people being reminded of that. He should have been sent into exile.

Whats it with you people? Y'all sit back and watch .. better yet .. allow incompetent people mess up but as soon a new admin tek over unuh expect an instant turn around.

true you can think of better things to think about.

Mi nuh know bout the other countries, mi know bout our scorelines in the past few years.

Who said anything about "instant turnaround". Read and COMPREHEND!!!!

You can not get a work permit if the ranking is below 70.

you can but in special cases.

Our players are not the only ones been rejected. Manu tried with the Angolian striker and got turned down so you think they were giving false hope or they really thought they could get it?

Austin was the only one who stand a chance because he applied before. People thought Ricketts stood a chance as he played in England for a while. Goodison didn't play for Ja for a long time and he still got his work permit renewed.

the real issue for our demise ranking wise is not being in the gold cup as those games are weighted a bit more ....