• Nigeria make Cole call-up blunder

By Oluwashina Okeleji
    BBC Sport, Lagos

In a bizarre move, the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has called up an ineligible player for their forthcoming 2010 World Cup qualifiers.

West Ham United striker Carlton Cole is in the squad for the games against South Africa in September and Sierra Leone in October.

Cole, who has a Nigerian father and Sierra Leonean mother, has played for England at under-21 level.

But he cannot switch allegiance to Nigeria as he is now 24 years old.

Fifa allows players who have represented one country at junior level to switch to another country.

But the statutes of world football's governing body state that this can only happen if they are still under the age of 21.

Cole, whose full name is Carlton Cole Okirie, was born in England.

In the past, he had apparently been keen on playing for Nigeria, but he accepted an England under-21 call-up when he felt he had been overlooked by the Super Eagles.

Another surprise name included in the 20-man squad released by the NFF is defender Daniel Ola, who holds a Ghanaian passport.

The former Lazio and Chievo player, is now with Italian Serie B club AC Cesena.

Newcastle United striker Obafemi Martins, who missed all four first round qualifiers in June due to injury, has been recalled.

Didn't know Boxhill is running Nigerian FA.

LOL! Low Blow !
      President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        Didn't know Boxhill is running Nigerian FA.

Dis quote need to be framed!

True talk. On a serious note though, boxhill could definately pass as a Nigerian based on his physical appearance. All he needs to do is wear African attire.
          President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Cole, who has a Nigerian father and Sierra Leonean mother, has played for England at under-21 level.

But he cannot switch allegiance to Nigeria as he is now 24 years old.

Fifa allows players who have represented one country at junior level to switch to another country.

But the statutes of world football's governing body state that this can only happen if they are still under the age of 21.
            Somebody needs to show this to X the next time he starts rambling on about calling up Jermaine Pennant for the ReggaeBoyz.

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
              True talk. On a serious note though, boxhill could definately pass as a Nigerian based on his physical appearance. All he needs to do is wear African attire.
              Interesting. If that picture above is an accurate likeness of yourself then you could also pass as a Nigerian without any african garb.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                Somebody needs to show this to X the next time he starts rambling on about calling up Jermaine Pennant for the ReggaeBoyz.
                Zeppo: Jason Euell was an England under-21 player in his younger days. He was 27 years old when Jamaica called on him to represent us and he was allowed to do so by FIFA.

Fedric Kanoute was born in France to parents from Mali. He was also a member of the French youth teams, but then opted to play for Mali when they came calling when the player was 26 years old. FIFA allowed him to play.

I could cite other examples, but I think the two should suffice. If Jamaica wants Pennant and Pennant wants Jamaica, it can happen. Jermaine is 25 years and still has a lot of football in him. It would not be the first that FIFA has allowed a player to play for another country despite their rule.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yeow ! The rules changed since Euell did that...the man is correct !

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                    Interesting. If that picture above is an accurate likeness of yourself then you could also pass as a Nigerian without any african garb.
                    LOL !! Yuh mus b BOXHILL....a lang time mi want tell yuh bout yuh !! LOL !

Originally posted by Twan View Post
                      LOL !! Yuh mus b BOXHILL....a lang time mi want tell yuh bout yuh !! LOL !
                      Den tell me nuh?

I am in fact wearing African garb in that picture boss. Look closely.

"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Zeppo: Jason Euell was an England under-21 player in his younger days. He was 27 years old when Jamaica called on him to represent us and he was allowed to do so by FIFA.

Fedric Kanoute was born in France to parents from Mali. He was also a member of the French youth teams, but then opted to play for Mali when they came calling when the player was 26 years old. FIFA allowed him to play.

I could cite other examples, but I think the two should suffice. If Jamaica wants Pennant and Pennant wants Jamaica, it can happen. Jermaine is 25 years and still has a lot of football in him. It would not be the first that FIFA has allowed a player to play for another country despite their rule.
                            And Martin Vasquez, Klinsmann's no. 2 at Bayern Munich, played for both Mexico and the USA.

But these are all examples from before FIFA updated the rules to what they are now.

Don't you remember some of those UB40 Trinis being denied the possibility to play for T&T in the 2006 World Cup?

Read the quote from this article, which also happens to explain the Kanoute case:

However, FIFA rules state that a player may only switch national association before his 21st birthday.

A `grace period' of 12 months ran from January 1, 2004 allowing players over that age who had not played in senior international competition for their registered association to switch allegiance.

Former Tottenham star Fredi Kanoute was one of the players who took advantage of the change in rules to switch from France to Mali.
                            The only way that a player can now switch from one country to another is if he is still under 21 and the international games he played in are youth level friendlies; friendly games are not binding.

Jermaine Pennant played for England in official youth tournaments and he is over 21 years old.

That is why he cannot play for Jamaica.

What ignorant talk?!? What does a Nigerian look like? What does a Jamaican look like?