• Austin disappointment

Rudolph red tape stops City switch

Stoke have suffered a big blow ahead of the new Premier League season after proposed new signing Rudolph Austin was denied a work permit.
    The Potters have been trying to sign the Jamaica international for the past 18 months and, after two previous failed attempts, were confident of finally being able to conclude a deal in time ahead of their season opener at Bolton on August 16.

A fee in excess of £1million had already been agreed with the midfielder's club Portmore United and Austin has spent the entire pre-season training with Stoke in the belief that gaining a permit was a formality.
    Tony Pulis attended his hearing on Friday along with chief executive Tony Scholes and director of football John Rudge and the City boss revealed after Saturday's friendly win over Shrewsbury that Austin was denied a permit.
    The Premier League new boys are refusing to give up, though, and are now talking to their lawyers to determine whether the transfer could yet go-ahead.
    Pulis said on the club's official website: "Unfortunately the ruling didn't go for us, and myself and everybody else at the football club are massively disappointed.
    "I believe Rudolph is going to be an exceptional player, so to have worked 18-months trying to get him is disappointing.
    "He is obviously upset by it, but he is a great lad and he will make sure it doesn't affect him.
    "We are looking down all the avenues to see what the next step is, but I am disappointed the ruling hasn't gone for us."
    Seyi Olofinjana, meanwhile, was granted a permit by the Home Office and will now be available for selection following his £3million switch from Wolves. The midfielder was allowed to miss the game at New Meadow to rest.

this is how me see it:
    Join MLS:
    - play in a relatively rich league that offers exposure to European Clubs, let's face it though the American players are going to be pushed to the European clubs way before anybody else and the other players will be seen as fill in. The only way a MLS player gets interest from European teams is if that player is a striker, keeper, or Sweeper....with Austin's position and playing style he is destined to be another Shallery Joseph (extremely under-rated)

-Join Brazil League:
    If him stand out in the league...he will be in Italy or Germany after two successful years (forget about England). But we all know how hard that is with all the future World Player of the year running around.

Either way is a long road ahead for him...but them say if you want good yuh nose haffi run...even though a door look pon you a window will crack, chuck through it, chip up yuh knee a nuh nothing

no eediat mls. mls kill of most lf our players careers.

yeah you right still...but MLS can be used to your advantage...perform exceptionally well and you can make it...but play like your peers or a little bit better and then you stuck like chuch...no yard man apart from Wholde Harris and Tyrone Marshall, really performed consistently in the MLS

When you say "no yard man...really performed consistently in the MLS," are you talking about ReggaeBoyz players or are you including Jamaicans who don't/did not play for Jamaica?

Here are some other ReggaeBoyz who also performed consistently well in MLS: Andy Williams; Shavar Thomas (my opinion); Damani Ralph; Dane Richardson; Cafu Ziadie; Omar Cummingsl; & Khari Stephenson.

And here are some Jamaicans who perform(ed) consistently well in the MLS: Jeff Cunningham; Mark Chung; Robin Fraser & Cory Gibbs.
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Well it is a matter of opinion still...but to me a consistent player in the MLS is Luciano Emilio, Juan Pablo Angel, Tyrone Marshall, Nich Romando, Taylor Twellman (when him healthy), Brian Chin...those are players that you can say will give you a good showing every night...the only person to me that was even close to that is Damani Ralph (when him healthy) after that the rest a baller them, especially Andy Williams and Cunningham standout sometimes but them too sometimish inna the league. Cunningham did a gwan good at Columbus when he had Mcbride beside him...then him drop off and now him a do a little thing again....Andy wi done know how him stay already give you two good game and then 3 game you nuh hear nothing from him.
            Don't get me wrong them youth there a hold dem own but I was coming from the perspective of what it would take to play in Europe which will be like going from Albergo Cup (prep school) to Premiere League....them man deh inna Europe don't want nuh sometimes baller...the somtimes baller dem peel orange and pump up the ball dem...

MLS is a last resort. Anyone who knows anything about that league would realise that.

i haven't got the access to watch many MLS games,is the standard that poor?

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                  i haven't got the access to watch many MLS games,is the standard that poor?
                  I would not say it is poor. It may not be as entertaining as say the EPL. Moreover, if you do not alin yourself with a team in the league, then it is not easy to follow.

The standard is decent and it is still a budding league. Give them time to develop and they will be a force to be reckoned with.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The standard is not the problem. I have a problem with how difficult it is for the players to move on from that league. I also have a problem with the salaries of many players and also the behaviour of some of the agents.

HV did work out a loan deal with Fabian Taylor, but I don't see too many of that in the MLS and league have to negociate trades.

Kenny Cooper making 80,000 a year and was been bought by Cardiff for 4 million dollars and they turned it down.

HV did work out a loan deal with Fabian Taylor, but I don't see too many of that in the MLS and league have to negociate trades.

Kenny Cooper making 80,000 a year and was been bought by Cardiff for 4 million dollars and they turned it down.
                        Perhaps players who move to the MLS from lower level leagues and or have not the clout of say, a Beckham...may want to remember the saying about working for and "owing soul to the company store"? Somewhere in that "owing soul to the company store" maybe where the fault lies in joining the MLS?

they need to send him to belgium for a year.. thats the way around it I believe.

But Kenny Cooper came from Manu.

The MLS really drive a hard bargin. Shalarie Josephs and others feel it.

yah its killed some careers.. got to be careful.. some like adu and Altidore seems to get out because it was the best interest of the US FA but its held back guys like Dwayne Drosario and others who miss the window to go abroad.