MLS v. West Ham....you bound to remembah!!

• MLS v. West Ham....you bound to remembah!!

Nicol excited to coach in MLS All-Star game

TORONTO (AP) - With David Beckham, Landon Donovan and Cuauhtemoc Blanco at his disposal, New England Revolution coach Steve Nicol loves considering his attacking options for Thursday's Major League Soccer All-Star game.

"They're all pretty tasty, to be honest," the former Liverpool defender said Monday in a conference call. "All you're going to get is quality. For me, it's fantastic."
    Nicol is still debating how to best use his offensive-minded lineup when the MLS All-Stars face English Premier League team West Ham at Toronto's BMO Field in the U.S. league's annual midseason friendly.

This is the fifth time in six years that the MLS All-Stars will face a foreign club team; they're unbeaten in the previous four games and haven't allowed a goal the past two years, edging Chelsea 1-0 in 2006 and beating Scottish side Celtic 2-0 last summer.
    Both Nicol and Donovan said it's important for MLS to keep the streak alive.

"We want to show people what we're made of and this is the perfect way to do it," Nicol said.
    With only four defenders on the 18-man All-Star team, Los Angeles Galaxy forward Donovan said keeping West Ham in check won't be easy.
    "Guys understand this is a big opportunity to show we're good enough," Donovan said. "If anyone comes in and thinks this is a walk in the park, I'm going to let them know."

West Ham finished 10th in the Premier League last year, a five-place improvement over the previous season. Led by England striker Dean Ashton, Swedish midfielder Freddie Ljungberg and American defender Jonathan Spector, the Hammers beat the Columbus Crew 3-1 Sunday in a friendly marred by crowd violence.

Donovan, who leads the MLS with 12 goals and seven assists this season, is making his eighth consecutive All-Star appearance. He expects a high level of competition because West Ham's fringe players will be trying to earn regular places once the English season begins in August.

"They're going to be a very good team and they're going to be difficult to play against," Donovan said. "I think they'll be as prepared as any team we've ever played in an All-Star game." Donovan's Galaxy teammate Beckham will be making his first All-Star appearance, as is Chicago Fire midfielder Blanco. The MLS team will also have New York Red Bulls forward Juan Pablo Angel and Galaxy forward Edson Buddle, second in the league with 11 goals this season.

Any predictions? Depends who West Ham dresses.

Time and channel?

Thanks

MLS of course PR...just check the record. They are after their 5th win in playing foreign clubs...

Time and channel you ask?

English side West Ham will face the best of MLS in Toronto. (ESPN.com Illustration/Other)

The MLS All-Stars are bonding on and off the field as they prepare for West Ham (Thursday, 7 p.m. ET, ESPN, ESPN360.com). [+]
      Last edited by HL; July 24, 2008, 02:59 PM.

thanks

Don't fall asleep by the furss 'alf now ...(.......MLS playin')

Becks might just make few long passes and 2 20 footer and walk me up.

erm...who are those fellows?

hohum...a boring friendly between a pick-up side and a team in pre-season training....what's the point?

What's wrong wid yuh? Every major yank sport has an all-star game. This is just another dumb one!

Chill and enjoy!

Well. it's not a "true" all star game where players from the same league line up against eac other. I've been watching the second half (now 87') with MLS 3 WHU 2, and I have to say it's been entertaining.

MLS looks good, Beckham would get a pick in my team for sure; I haven't seen one bad pass yet, with some good crosses, the dead ball kick that hit the back post and a curling one time shot which was, well, not that close. I wish Joseph would stick to distributing the ball, which he does well and NOT try to dribble.

Of course I expected MLS to score another goal or two as they are fitter at this point than WHU, who really haven't put anything together other than in brief spurts.

De Rosario could be dangerous, we have to watch him in the JA game...is Brennan still on the field, if he ever did come on?

OJ and Toronto forumites, is suh the fans in Toronto stand up the whole game? or is it just this game? I like what I saw from the fans btw... Toronto has come a looooong way since the days of the dowdy Blizzard playing on that awful surface that was Exhibition stadium. I expect we will be outnumbered by the local fans from what I'm seeing; in the past JA playing in Toronto was like a home game... things look to have changed.

One last question...did I see the fans drinking beer in the stands? or is BMO dry?

Nice commentary PR.

Sorry you missed the first half. It was just as enterteining!!!

There are pundits who remark that Beckham would be a bench player for them. I am sure you have read the many comments (here) that Becham is not that good....

MLS and the EPL are a contrast in style. The short passes gave WHU problems. I think also that both teams balanced each other in terns of: MLS lacked overall chemistry...WHU not fully match fit and still developing their starting 11.

American fans unlike their English counterparts don't get drunk and disorderly. Beer is available at MLS games. Most expensive beer i've had. It cost $7.50/ plastic cup (or plastic bottle)!!!!!!!!.

Peter R what Can I say.. The game was as good as any All-Star game.. Actually it was not like an allstar game as both teams played with the desire to win. First let me Rubbish the idea of Becks being a limited player.. He is a clever player with lots left.. Blanco is still a dads.. Regarding BMO its like that every TFC game..Ironically the Fans have not not lent their support to the national team though as I dont think the WC Qualifier is sold out yet! where as TFC is sold out every game.. Its a real cozy field and yes the 12$ Carlsberg and Turboug flows as a matter of fact some claims its too rowdy down there with all that drinking.. Yesterday for some part was suppose to be a sit in to protest plans by the City to move the Argos Canadian Football League team to BMO.. We the fans want a soccer only stadium with no expansion so some behind the goal which is normally the mad house was a bit in protest mode last nigh. Good game,

What's wrong wid yuh? Every major yank sport has an all-star game. This is just another dumb one!

Chill and enjoy!
                          Was interesting to see the level of TEAM the 'pick-up side' played?

While we are at it, just remember it is West Ham and Pre-season.

$12 fi a beer!!! canadian $$ ???

Thanks for the heads up.

So where do the Argos play now? That game they play is a lot harder on the turf than football I believe. Don't blame the fans at all.

BTW, the only thing that didn't work so well was the half time entertainment... Estelle... the only malfunction was her lip-syncing.