I will not compromise my principles - Simoes …surprises in s

• I will not compromise my principles - Simoes …surprises in s

Does anyone have the full letter from Simoes? I wonder which players he is refering to as 'surprise' omissions? Hmmmmmmm.

Taken from www.jamaicawin.com

I will not compromise my principles - Simoes …surprises in store!

July 22,

Football- News
    The final list of players who will represent Jamaica in the semifinal round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying against Canada on August 20 will bring ‘shock and awe’ to some of the country’s ‘big name’ players as…….their names will not be there!
    Simoes, who sometimes speaks in parables, especially in his letters to the media, was very clear in a ‘letter’ that was sent to the press recently. After speaking about discipline, self control, developing a winning habit and developing a positive and creative attitude, perhaps the most telling of all the passages would be the following: “Dear Jamaicans, these are the things we are working with our players, some will be there some will not. I will not compromise my principles in the name of a player, or the clubs or the persons who are connected to them.”
    Though not divulging the names of the players who will suffer the axe, the Technical Director made it clear to JamaicaWin.com that there will be surprises.
    “We have to work as a team,” Simoes pointed out on Monday evening as he waited on his players after a practice match where they beat Premier League team Harbour View 2-1. “I have no time to work with those who cannot fit into the unit. When I came here the first time I had enough time to make changes as we went along. On this occasion, we have to work with those who can fit into the team.”
    In the letter he then went on to say, “I’m getting older and everyday I have learnt how to deal in different ways with who works with me and for me, but I can assure all Jamaicans, that my principles of discipline, respect, sacrifice and hard work are not negotiable. The players know about that.”
    He went on to say that football has changed over the years to the point where any team can do without any one player. “Manchester United has not done badly since David Beckham moved to Real Madrid,” he pointed out.
    At the end of the letter he said, “It is what I dream for………. a player who is under my command, to become a very creative player. An intense problem solver on and off the field. Goal South Africa 2010 will be a more difficult task than it was to reach France, but it does not mean it has to be less tasteful.”
    This would not be the first time that Simoes has picked teams without some of Jamaica’s most celebrated players. Walter Boyd and Onandi Lowe come to mind, but there were others who were left off on various occasions as the Brazilian found them wanting.
    The letter is posted in the commentary section.

Earl Bailey
    Editor -
    www.JamaicaWin.com

Assasin, see yuh letter here!
    Nobody gets a free ride.

Dear Jamaicans.

This is a great quotation. I do not know the author, but I fully understand.

This is the way I have lived my life and it says exactly what I expect from my players and staff that work with me.

For everything you want in your professional or personal life there is a price to be paid.

Your love, passion and desire for what you want will define the price you are able and more importantly willing to pay.

The first price to pay is Discipline. I learnt since I was a boy that it is a necessity for everyone who lives in a harmonious society. However too many people are trying live their lives as if they are completely disconnected from each other. Too many seem to say ‘my rights are the only thing that counts; my obligations, my job description are something else’.

The second price to be paid is “Self control”. You must learn how to control yourself under very high pressure situations. Both in bad and good times. The pressures that comes attached with good results are some times, higher than the pressure that comes in the bad times. The secret is to be balanced, to be in the balance zone.

Don’t feel too depressed when you lose and don’t feel too high when win. This may seem very easy to do, but in fact it is very difficult, especially for individuals including footballers who come from a very poor environment and suddenly become very rich.

The third point is “ develop a winning habit”. Be a champion hunter. It can be a very exhausting goal but nothing other than a championship title is enough for he who has the winning habit. There is a constant challenge in side the person who can generate that energy to himself to go after win after win but it demands dedication , focus, and hard , very hard work.

The fourth point is “develop a positive and creative attitude”. Once we start to develop a tendency that everything must come ready to our hand so we can eat, we will have problems.

There is a story that I want to share with you about a CEO who needed to promote someone to a top managerial position. After deep thought he decided to promote to the position an employee who was at the company no longer than a year. His decision created chaos for two older employees. One was with the company for the last ten years and the other was six years in the company. They went to the CEO and questioned him.” Why did you take this decision?” The CEO , calmly said “ Look, before I give you the explanation, please do me a favor. I will have a party tonight at my house and I would like to serve fruits, can you go to the supermarket and check the apples?” The employee with ten years left the building, went around the corner and didn’t go to the supermarket, but he returned and said to the CEO “Boss, the apples are good”. The second went to the supermarket, checked the apples and returned to the office and said “ Boss the apples are good”. The CEO called the newly promoted Manager and made the same request to him.

He went to the supermarket and returned and said to the CEO “Boss as I know you and your taste and I know you like to please your invitees, I suggest that you mix the water melon, strawberry and apples, because all of them are excellent and the combination will make your guests so pleased”.

The CEO said “there is an employee that didn’t do what I requested, there is another that only do what I requested and there is an employee who sought to solve my problem and cheer for my success. That is the reason I took my decision”.

It is what I dream for………. a player who is under my command, to become a very creative player. An intense problem solver, on and off the field.

Every Friday, Saturday and Sunday we have in the bar, restaurants and discos a million people who have so many ideas how to solve the world’s problems, but on Monday they don’t do anything.

Let us do what the others only know how to talk.

I’m getting older and everyday I have learnt how to deal in different ways with who works with me and for me, but I can assure all Jamaicans, that my principles of discipline, respect ,sacrifice, and hard work are not negotiable. The players know about that.

Dear Jamaicans, these are the things we are working with our players, some will be there some will not. I will not compromise my principles in the name of a player, or the clubs or the persons who are connected to them.

Goal South Africa 2010 will be a more difficult task than it was to reach France, but it does not mean it has to be less tasteful.

Let us continue working very hard together to accomplish the task.

May God bless you all.

Rene Simoes

suh how dat help to identify the "surprises"?

me tell you and Simoes thanks already but mi will tell you again

Thank you both

Mi granny teach mi good manners and howdy do.

my pleasure. mi dun know say Mama Assasin is a good lady!

There is a story that I want to share with you about a CEO who needed to promote someone to a top managerial position. After deep thought he decided to promote to the position an employee who was at the company no longer than a year. His decision created chaos for two older employees. One was with the company for the last ten years and the other was six years in the company. They went to the CEO and questioned him.” Why did you take this decision?” The CEO , calmly said “ Look, before I give you the explanation, please do me a favor. I will have a party tonight at my house and I would like to serve fruits, can you go to the supermarket and check the apples?” The employee with ten years left the building, went around the corner and didn’t go to the supermarket, but he returned and said to the CEO “Boss, the apples are good”. The second went to the supermarket, checked the apples and returned to the office and said “ Boss the apples are good”. The CEO called the newly promoted Manager and made the same request to him.

He went to the supermarket and returned and said to the CEO “Boss as I know you and your taste and I know you like to please your invitees, I suggest that you mix the water melon, strawberry and apples, because all of them are excellent and the combination will make your guests so pleased”.

The CEO said “there is an employee that didn’t do what I requested, there is another that only do what I requested and there is an employee who sought to solve my problem and cheer for my success. That is the reason I took my decision”.
            Look for Evan Taylor to be promoted to captain.

Every Friday, Saturday and Sunday we have in the bar, restaurants and discos a million people who have so many ideas how to solve the world’s problems, but on Monday they don’t do anything.

Some of us have every solution for Jamaica, but what did they do when they had their chance to help?

ian is proably one of them..

Prof. Do yuh ting an
                nuh worry yuhself.

bwoy a can' tell you the goodness mamy and granny did. The area between Buff Bay and Annotto Bay can attest to it. I coudn't even reflect the goodness if I try. Ask any youth who had the priviledge of meeting them.