• U-20s face Puerto Rico in World Cup qualifier

Taken from www.jamaicaobserver.com

U-20s face Puerto Rico in World Cup qualifier
    LIVINGSTON SCOTT, Observer staff reporter
    Wednesday, July 23, 2008

GEORGETOWN, Cayman Islands - Jamaica's Under-20 footballers face unknown Puerto Rico in their opening first-round World Cup qualifiers here in the first match of a double-header this evening at the Truman Bodden Sport Complex, starting at 5:30.
    In today's other game, hosts Cayman Islands take on Bermuda at 7:30.
    The young Jamaicans will enter the contest without top striker and former Under-17 captain Dever Orgill, who was left out the squad at the last minute after the Vancouver Whitecaps forward failed to recover from an ankle injury sustained two weeks ago. He was replaced by Shavon Brown of Portmore United.
    According to coach Donovan Duckie, Orgill's presence will be missed but he believes the squad can easily make up for the loss.
    The team trained for 45 minutes yesterday, with Duckie and head coach Walter Gama taking the young Reggae Boyz through their paces, working on tactical awareness, technical and shooting skills.
    Duckie, the former St George's United coach, said the team is in the right frame of mind and are ready for the challenge ahead.
    He said the artificial turf at the Complex was much faster than the grass fields back home in Jamaica, while the size of the Puerto Ricans will present a physical challenge.
    However, he was confident after yesterday's session that the Boyz will get past this first test.

"The guys are fully aware of what is ahead. The Puerto Rico team has big players, so I expect it to be a bit physical... The moral (in the team) is good... but we don't want to be over-confident because we have never seen Puerto Rico play," Duckie added.
    Meanwhile, Puerto Rico's Brazilian coach, Charles Gatinho, believes his team can beat the Jamaicans and top the four-team tournament, of which the best two advance to the next phase.
    "I expect everything from my team and I think my players have what it takes to make it to the next round," Gatinho said.
    "For me there is no favourite; we are awaiting the challenges and the results will be taken care of on the field," he added.
    Gatinho said his team was here not to just participate in the tournament, but to ensure they make it to the next round.
    "We're confident of accomplishing our goal... as our team is... very united," he declared.
    The Brazilian refused to name players who could make the difference for his team this afternoon, stating that "you'll find out after the game".
    Possible starting XI - Andre Blake, Andre Darby (captain), Keithy Simpson, Andre Campbell, Levaughn Williams, Romario Campbell, Theo Brown, Damion Thorpe, Ramone Palmer, Andre Clennon, Alanzo Adlam.

Jamaica's U-20 Reggae Boyz beat Puerto Rico's U-20s by a goal to nil in World Cup qualifiers.
    The goal was scored in the 34th minute. Goal scorer unknown at this time.

Boyz top P'Rico

Taken from www.jamaicaobserver.com

Boyz top P'Rico
      Winning start for U-20s in World Cup QualifiersLIVINGSTON SCOTT, Observer staff reporter, in the Cayman Islands
      Thursday, July 24, 2008

GEORGETOWN, Grand Cayman - Jamaica opened their first round Under-20 World Cup qualifiers with a 1-0 win over Puerto Rico as Group B action kicked off at the Truman Bodden Sport Complex in the Cayman Islands yesterday.
      Ramone Palmer netted the game's only goal, scoring from an unselfish pass from Alanzo Adlam in the 34th minute as the Jamaicans secured three valuable points.
      "When I watched the Puerto Rico team yesterday (Tuesday), I predicted that it was going to be a difficult game. They are an organised team, a quality team that is technically good and physically they had the advantage," noted head coach Alfredo Montesso.
      "But we were composed, we passed the ball a lot and that created some openings and it was a good team effort from our players," he added.
      Puerto Rico's Brazilian coach, Charles Gatinho, said he was not overly disappointed with the result and he added that he was confident that his team would advance.
      "It was a good result, because the goal Jamaica scored was the only difference. But the rest of the game was pretty level," he said.
      Jamaica created the first chance of the match after 12 minutes, when Andre Clennon forced a diving save from Christiana Meija in Puerto Rica's goal.
      They continued to look the better team after the first quarter-of-an-hour, but the Puerto Ricans had a good chance to level the scores in the 20th minute, but Wilfred Cotto's tame effort from 12 yards was easily handled by Andre Blake in the Jamaican goal.
      After 30 minutes the Boyz continued to have the better off play, but were finding scoring opportunities difficult.
      But in the last 15 minutes of the first half, the game opened up and the Boyz had four great opportunities to score, but only took advantage of one.
      In the 33rd minute, Clennon lifted the ball over the cross bar from four yards after a perfectly-weighted cross from Palmer.
      However, Palmer put the Boyz ahead a minute later when Adlam stole possession and with only Meija and a defender to beat, set up the midfielder, who slotted home from about the penalty spot.
      Five minutes before the break, Clennon and Adlam combined to rob the Puerto Rican defence, but Clennon failed to beat the advancing Meija from inside the area.
      Then in the 45th minute, Romario Campbell sent the striker clear on goal with a through pass, but this time he shot wide of the target.
      After the break, Clennon came closest to increasing the score, but his header from a Levaughn Williams cross just went wide.
      The fleet-footed Williams then forced the Puerto Rican custodian to parry a fierce shot across the face of his goal two minutes later.
      The Jamaicans play their next game against the Bahamas tomorrow. At half-time last night, the Bahamas were tied 0-0 with hosts Cayman Islands.
      Teams:
      Jamaica - Andre Blake, Andre Campbell, Levaughn Williams, Ramone Palmer, Alanzo Adlam (Shavon Brown 70th), Romario Campbell, Davian Thorpe (Yannick Salmon 75th), Andre Clennon, Theo Brown, Keithy Simpson, Andre Darby.
      Booked: Andre Campbell (36th)
      Subs not used: Andre Steele, Romeo Parkes, Sean Fogah,
      Dennis Taylor, Damaine Thompson.
      Puerto Rico - Christian Mejia, Steven Enrichs, Anthony Vasques, Wilfred Cotto, Christopher Fiegenbaum (Alberto Reigo 78th), Antonio Pacheco, Fernado Gonzalez (Javier Fiol 73rd), Joel Rodriguez, Richard Pardo, Andres Cabrero, Nicholos Ramirez.
      Booked: C Fiegenbaum (60th)
      Subs not used: Gabriel Negron, Jerry Luna, Mauel Mazo, Jorge Padial.
      Referee: Sandy Vasquez (Dominican Republic)
      Assistant Referees: Alberto Castillo, Jose Luis Jarquin (Dominican Republic)
      Fourth Official: Francisco Bautista (Dominican Republic)
      Match Commissary: Boris Punch (Trinidad & Tobago)
      Referee Inspector: Luis Yero (Cuba)

Had we lost, which a 1-0 scoreline suggests could happen, what would we be saying about the decision to not send the best team?

Bahamas and Cayman ended 0-0.

"had me lost?"

We won so so far it may have been the right decision.

HAHA! Of course! When that happens we can always rejoice. But...yuh know what, mek mi low dis one.

ah di chance you tek inna football.

If Jamaica lose to PR you have all right fi make as much noise as you want but remember the big under 23 team lost to Bahamas so.......

thanks for making my point, even as you have no clue that you did.

yeah mi pay fi girl go a college

I'm thinking that the Young Boyz getting 3 points in their first game against maybe the next toughest opponent in your group is significant.