• Freddy Adu goes to Monaco on loan

Adu heading to Monaco on loan

Freddy Adu has completed his switch to French club AS Monaco on a season-long move. The U.S. national-teamer had been on the radar of the Ligue 1 outfit for some time after learning that the 19-year-old was not part of coach Quique Sánchez Flores' first-team plans at Portuguese club Benfica for the next season.

Adu failed to hold down a regular spot at Estádio da Luz during his first season in Europe, but nonetheless scored five goals during his few appearances for the club.

He has now joined the ranks of Monaco with hopes of getting more games under his belt before a possible return to the Eagles.

(continue)

Is that bad or good news Zep?

Good news, in my opinion.

At Benfica he performed well when he was given the chances, but unfortunately that didn't happen very often. The fact that the club had three coaching changes in one season didn't help him much either. And this summer they went crazy on the transfer market and added several reinforcements for next season (one of them happens to be Pablo Aimar), which certainly didn't bode well for Freddy's chance of playing time.

Basically, last season went poorly for Benfica so they threw out everything but the kitchen sink in their attempt to build a new team with a new coach for next season. However, they still see promise in Freddy, so they chose to loan him rather than sell him outright.

I think that Monaco is a good situation for him. The French league is a stronger competition overall compared to the Portuguese league. And they have a great reputation for developing talented, young attacking players.

Of course, none of this will mean much if he doesn't see time on the field. But it seems his chances are pretty good.

All the best to Freddy! He will be in my favourite league!

YAY!!!

haha!

Phenomenal!! at worst he should return to the USA trilingual; years aback I met a Bordeaux player (German) who was studying french at the University of Bx in his spare time. The club suggested that he go to school in his off hours to improve his spoken french.

Hopefully Freddy will do the same with all the spare time he will have.

Poor Freddy

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Poor Freddy?

I am sure you said that in jest.

Monaco boss lauds Adu

Monaco President Jerome de Bontin spares few superlatives in his excitement over landing U.S. phenom Freddy Adu on loan from Portugal's Benfica.

"He is the leading figure of a new generation of U.S. players," de Bontin says. "He is going to be an ambassador for the United States. I can picture Freddy Adu as the player to do for U.S. soccer what Greg LeMond did for U.S. cycling."

(continue)

"He is going to be an ambassador for the United States. I can picture Freddy Adu as the player to do for U.S. soccer what Greg LeMond did for U.S. cycling."

Man can talk crap eeeehhhhhh?

I know! I love that one!

"cast a cloud over the sport"?

No man we still have Becks who is "what Jordon is to bball and what Greszky is to hockey" as per the top MLS man.

Them hyping deh just kill me.