• Spurs report Liverpool and Utd

Friday 18 Jul 2008

Tottenham Hotspur have reported Manchester United and Liverpool to the Premier League for their actions in their attempts to sign Dimitar Berbatov and Robbie Keane.
    Sir Alex Ferguson's claims that United expect to sign Berbatov have infuriated Spurs chairman Daniel Levy, who revealed that he has complained about them and about similar comments from Rafa Benitez regarding Robbie Keane.

DIMITAR BERBATOV

"It is unbelievably hypocritical given his comments in respect of Cristiano Ronaldo and Real Madrid," Levy said.

"The behaviour of both clubs has been disgraceful. We told both clubs very early on that we had no interest in selling Robbie or Dimitar, respectively, and that they should refrain from pursuing the player.
    "Both clubs arrogantly chose to ignore this request and we now have evidence that both clubs have systematically been working to prise the players away from us, outside of Premier League rules of conduct.

"Today's public comments by Manchester United's manager, announcing that he has made an offer for Dimitar and is confident that the deal will go through with time working in their favour, is a blatant example of sheer arrogance and interference with one of our players.

"It is also probably one of the worst offences by any manager in the Premier League to date.

"As a result, we have today made an official complaint to the Premier League about the conduct of Manchester United.

"Benitez made similar comments in respect of Robbie recently and we made an official complaint to the Premier League about the conduct of Liverpool earlier this week.

"I have absolutely no wish to sell either player and to date we have not accepted any offer for either."

United issued a brief response to Tottenham's claims with a spokesman saying: "We are aware of the allegation and will co-operate with the Premier League as necessary."

---------------------------------------------------------------
    Wonder what Lazie thinks about this?
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

ManU might be my side but that does not stop me from calling them a bunch of HYPOCRITES. Them worse than Mosiah, might be as bad as Karl, not quite as bad as Tilla. I knew they would be doing this just after tracing Real Madrid.

Good weekend to all!

Originally posted by Westman View Post
      ManU might be my side but that does not stop me from calling them a bunch of HYPOCRITES. Them worse than Mosiah, might be as bad as Karl, not quite as bad as Tilla. I knew they would be doing this just after tracing Real Madrid.

Good weekend to all!
      Wait .. care to explain the HYPOCRITE label?

I knew you would not get it Lazie. Oh well. . .
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I knew you would not get it Lazie. Oh well. . .
          Den explain it nuh?

Read the article fi yuh self. Mi know yuh ah nuh eediat.

Again, where is the hypocritcal part? Since no one nuh waan stand up .. does it have anything to do with Real Madrid?

Guh back guh check. Real is yet to make an offer for Ronaldo ... Manu made a 20 million bid for Berba ...which was rejected and an improved offer has been made. Since when making a bid for a player is illegal?

Is it because of Fergie said he likes Berba? What is Levy bitching bout? A manager cannot be honest about players he likes? Rednapp said he likes Kabul, how Levy nuh upset?

MAnu made 2 offers for Berbatov ... remember that next time unuh jump to conclusions. If a MLS team waan sign an NPL player unuh would glad fi him guh .. hell .. if its a Bronx League team .... Real Madrid is back to back La Liga winner ... The Empire is back to back EPL champs .... nuh bother wid the Spurs comparison ... there is none.

Manu made a 20 million bid for Berba ...which was rejected and an improved offer has been made. Since when making a bid for a player is illegal?
                Therein lies your problem. You obviously do not understand the rules as it relates to "tapping up" a player.

ManUre made an approach to Tottenham for the player. Nothing is wrong with that. The fact is, Tottenham told them point blank that they are not selling. Fergie continues to pursue the player behind the scenes to upset the player so he will demand a transfer from Tottenham.

What is hyproctitical about it? The Real Madrid/Christiano Ronaldo saga of course! Real might not have put in an official bid to ManUre for Ronaldo, but they have been testing the waters and knew the club would not be selling the player. When they realized for sure ManUre was not selling, they started working the player to upset him so that he wants a transfer. It is the same thing if you open your eyes and look at it Lazie!

The difference here Lazie between Real and ManUre is that the latter made the approach to Tottenham about the player. Once they heard no, Fergie continued to work his plan from the same angle as Real - tempting or upsetting the player. Under EPL rules that is called "tapping up the player" and it is illegal if you did not know.

But then, yuh will continue play fool fi ketch wise. . .

Therein lies your problem. You obviously do not understand the rules as it relates to "tapping up" a player.

ManUre made an approach to Tottenham for the player. Nothing is wrong with that. The fact is, Tottenham told them point blank that they are not selling. Fergie continues to pursue the player behind the scenes to upset the player so he will demand a transfer from Tottenham.

What is hyproctitical about it? The Real Madrid/Christiano Ronaldo saga of course! Real might not have put in an official bid to ManUre for Ronaldo, but they have been testing the waters and knew the club would not be selling the player. When they realized for sure ManUre was not selling, they started working the player to upset him so that he wants a transfer. It is the same thing if you open your eyes and look at it Lazie!

The difference here Lazie between Real and ManUre is that the latter made the approach to Tottenham about the player. Once they heard no, Fergie continued to work his plan from the same angle as Real - tempting or upsetting the player. Under EPL rules that is called "tapping up the player" and it is illegal if you did not know.

But then, yuh will continue play fool fi ketch wise. . .
                  Never recall stating I'm a tappinig up expert. Yuh second paragraph proves yuh expertise though. Are you certain they told the Empire Berba wasn't for sale? Based on reports I've read .... they're holding out for 30 million. Sounds completely different from not for sale, but .. you're the expert.

How you get to tapping is amazing Tilla. This is the 3rd season Manu tried to sign the player ... they made offers last summer and so far they've tabled 2 offers. Your argument about Fergie trying to unsettle the player is mere conjecture. To admit that you've tabled a bid for a player is tapping up?

Lazie, I know when you want to take a position you can be very selective with your sources. Here is an article from a very reputable source for you - The Times.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
                    Sir Alex Ferguson feels wrath of Spurs

Tottenham Hotspur chairman accuses Manchester United manager of 'arrogance and hypocrisy' in approach for Berbatov

Gary Jacob

Daniel Levy, the Tottenham Hotspur chairman, accused Sir Alex Ferguson of arrogance and hypocrisy last night after making a formal complaint to the Premier League about Manchester United's pursuit of Dimitar Berbatov.

Levy also criticised Liverpool's attempts to sign Robbie Keane, branding the approach of both clubs as “disgraceful” in a scathing attack.
                    Tottenham have turned down United's £20 million offer for Berbatov - as well as a lower bid from Liverpool for Keane, the Ireland forward - and Levy is furious that Ferguson said that he expects a deal to be concluded.

“This is a blatant example of sheer arrogance and interference with one of our players,” Levy said. “The behaviour of both clubs has been disgraceful. We told both clubs very early on that we had no interest in selling Robbie or Dimitar and that they should refrain from pursuing the player.

Continue. . .

Lazie, I know when you want to take a position you can be very selective with your sources. Here is an article from a very reputable source for you - The Times.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
                      Sir Alex Ferguson feels wrath of Spurs

Tottenham Hotspur chairman accuses Manchester United manager of 'arrogance and hypocrisy' in approach for Berbatov

Gary Jacob

Daniel Levy, the Tottenham Hotspur chairman, accused Sir Alex Ferguson of arrogance and hypocrisy last night after making a formal complaint to the Premier League about Manchester United's pursuit of Dimitar Berbatov.

Levy also criticised Liverpool's attempts to sign Robbie Keane, branding the approach of both clubs as “disgraceful” in a scathing attack.
                      Tottenham have turned down United's £20 million offer for Berbatov - as well as a lower bid from Liverpool for Keane, the Ireland forward - and Levy is furious that Ferguson said that he expects a deal to be concluded.

“This is a blatant example of sheer arrogance and interference with one of our players,” Levy said. “The behaviour of both clubs has been disgraceful. We told both clubs very early on that we had no interest in selling Robbie or Dimitar and that they should refrain from pursuing the player.

Continue. . .
                      Yuh didn't have to go through the trouble ... I even posted Sky's version of the story earlier. There has been NUMEROUS articles about Manu's offer for weeks. Levy's issue is that Fergie went public.

Berba's agent on July 12th told Sky Sports that an offer was made for the player .... where was Levy's outburst? Or Skysports isn't a reputable source like the Times? By the way, other sources like the Sun and The Telegraph are reputable?

Again 20 million was offered ... Spurs said they wanted 30 million and now an improved offer has been made. Sounds like negotiating to me ... anti Empire fans will call it tapping up.

Well, I hae not seen all those post you said you did from those sources. A quick search so I could put forth an apology I did not find anything. That does not mean it is not there however.

Lazie, if a club approach another club about a player and they say they are not interested in selling, then the club seeking to buy should back off. According to the president of the club, they told Alex that they are not selling but he still continues to pursue the player. That now is against the rules if that is what has happened.

Also, you know that clubs slap a high price on their players to ward off other clubs. Take Arseal's Adebayor and Barcelona. Barcelona was chasing hte player and Wenger said he is not selling. He therefore put a price which he thinks Barca will not pay and leave it at that. That is not negotiation.

OK, to work the player now to get him to demand a transfer is what I have been reading. I can send you to to sites also like The Telegraph, BBC Sport, The Sun, The Independent among others. From what I gather, Tottenham has stated that if they were to sell the player, they would sell to a foreign club, but not to a team in the EPL.

Anyway Lazie, I know you are only going to continue argue and try to prove that ManUre is right. I will therefore leave you alone.

louis saha....

Well, I hae not seen all those post you said you did from those sources. A quick search so I could put forth an apology I did not find anything. That does not mean it is not there however.

Lazie, if a club approach another club about a player and they say they are not interested in selling, then the club seeking to buy should back off. According to the president of the club, they told Alex that they are not selling but he still continues to pursue the player. That now is against the rules if that is what has happened.

Also, you know that clubs slap a high price on their players to ward off other clubs. Take Arseal's Adebayor and Barcelona. Barcelona was chasing hte player and Wenger said he is not selling. He therefore put a price which he thinks Barca will not pay and leave it at that. That is not negotiation.

OK, to work the player now to get him to demand a transfer is what I have been reading. I can send you to to sites also like The Telegraph, BBC Sport, The Sun, The Independent among others. From what I gather, Tottenham has stated that if they were to sell the player, they would sell to a foreign club, but not to a team in the EPL.

Anyway Lazie, I know you are only going to continue argue and try to prove that ManUre is right. I will therefore leave you alone.
                            Yuh talking madness Tilla. Blackburn said Bently wasn't for sale .. suh why Spurs made a bid for him then? What has been Juande Ramos' attitude? Check that and mek mi know. In case you don't know ... he has not ruled out the sale of Keane and Berbatov. Levy said one thing ... Ramos said another thing ... mixed messages.

Now compare that to how the Real Madrid attempt was shut down ... the Glazers said no, Gill said hell no and Fergie simply went on vacation.

Levy just vex because Fergie went public.

louis saha....
                              Well, his case is similar to Berbatov. Offer was put on the table and due to bad mine dem refuse it .. now Saha has won how many medals? Spurs in their badmindness prevented Berba from winning an EPL and a CL medal.