Inter teen star chooses Italy over Ghana

Originally posted by Me View Post
    This yute only know bout Italy. That is his language and culture. His family is Italian, what you expect him to think about himself.
    This is exactly why he is misguided! from what you are saying he knows very little of his roots and it seems he cares not to find out. Yes he is Italian by birth, but Ghanian by heritage; it's a dis-service to him not to know about his heritage. To top things off, he is a"second class" citizen because he can't claim citizenship until after he has lived there 18 years. I see nothing wrong with him choosing to play for Italy, but I do see a problem denying your heritage. Reality is that he is black living in Italy which has very strong pockets of hatred for peoples of African descent.

Originally posted by TheDread View Post
      This is exactly why he is misguided! from what you are saying he knows very little of his roots and it seems he cares not to find out. Yes he is Italian by birth, but Ghanian by heritage; it's a dis-service to him not to know about his heritage. To top things off, he is a"second class" citizen because he can't claim citizenship until after he has lived there 18 years. I see nothing wrong with him choosing to play for Italy, but I do see a problem denying your heritage. Reality is that he is black living in Italy which has very strong pockets of hatred for peoples of African descent.
      Now what parts in the article cause you to come to the conclusion that the young man does not know of his heritage?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Now what parts in the article cause you to come to the conclusion that the young man does not know of his heritage?
        Read my post again and the quote it referenced.

"Podolski is a sell out also" how you come to that? If you have to make a choice then you do that but in the same breath acknowledge your heritage.

Podoski score against Poland and fail to celebrate because of respect for that country. Whatever country you are from, and where you are playing respect other people. Him young and hopefully sooner rather than later he will realise that.

You hear the man say him heritage is not from Ghana?

The fact is the man say him is an Italian. Whether him heritage is from Ghana or not, you would have to ask him that. You think the man nuh know him black and of W. African descent. Unu acting like is the first black Italian unu ever see.

Black Man hated all over the world and claim many countries where them born and raised. Him saying he is Italian seems completely natural. Worse how is Italians raise him.

This was predicted to happen a couple of years back. If you can't beat them then join them.(the Europeans know its Africa time now and they have to get speed and power in their team, they see the change happening all around them and so they are moving with the times)

Its nothing different from taking our talented teachers, scientists and other brains. The reason it seems strange to us is that we haven't looked at it from an historical perspective.

Even in the bible when they used to take the isrealites into exile etc. The book of Daniel even showed that they would take the cream of the crop and leave the society behind to fail(much like Jamaica)

However in time we will soon start realising that we don't need them to develop us as we were the ones to teach them in the first place.

NOthing happens before its time and all these things have to take place

One day we will sit down and start thinking and realising that hey! if Greece is the foundation of civilization with medicine and maths etc how come dem no have no building on the scale of the pyramids standing to this day and how come dem no have no bodies preserved like the mummies.

Until that day when we start knowing and not believing the Europeans will continue to play mind games with our youths as they believe that they need them. Its not a matter of if we need them or not, its a matter of if we "believe"

It will take more home grown success on the world stage like the MVP track club for us to start believing and also it will take global money coming in to support our local football and track leagues for us to stand up and admit what is right before our eyes.

We are always the last to believe in ourselves

respect

It not only what he says, it is what he doesn't say, and it shine through brighter than the Italian side a him.

the fact that he knows that Ghana was in the runnings he should at least acknowledge them.

Assasin this new generation of Africans coming up don't remember or really know the struggle and we don't really have institutions and media to pass it on like the "friends of the negro"

So what you have is kids growing up in Africa, the caribbean and the world without their culture and so they are easily programmed by the media

We have to now start using the internet to deprogram them

respect

All these things have to happen for us to realise how serious the problem is

It not only what he says, it is what he doesn't say, and it shine through brighter than the Italian side a him.

the fact that he knows that Ghana was in the runnings he should at least acknowledge them.
                    Please. Him must say more so you can feel better. You have no idea about his response to Ghana from the few quotes a writer has selected.

By now it should be obvious to you that some posters here just have an overactive imagination.

you have your opinion and and so do I. We will leave it at that.

So the thing set up.

In the end the African teams will be much the better for all these experiences. We too need to step up our game and become more competitive in the way we do things.

Memba our track and field how we used to take our stars for granted until they started defecting to other countries.

Would love to hear both side of the story so we could better understand the problem

respect

So France shouda win Euro hands down? Dem get duss out early o'clock.

pr

So where you put Barack Obama? Is he part of the problem or the solution?

He is a child of the diaspora, has recognized his African heritage, but is an American first, just like many of our kids who are born outside of Jamaica.

pr

Inter Milan's tennage star Balotelli can be great, says Lippi

Inter Milan's teenage forward Mario Balotelli is an Italy star of the future according to national team coach Marcello Lippi.

Lippi, the man who guided Italy to World Cup glory in 2006, is preparing his squad for their first two World Cup 2010 qualifiers, in Cyprus on Saturday and then at home to Georgia on September 10.

And although he didn't call up the 18 year-old Ghana-born player to his squad, he believes that Balotelli has a bright future ahead of him.

(continue)