• Inter teen star chooses Italy over Ghana

Inter teen star ready to commit to Italy

Italian champions Inter Milan's teenage sensation Mario Balotelli told La Gazzetta dello Sport on Monday that his first call up to Italy colours cannot come soon enough.

The 17-year-old striker - who was born to Ghanaian parents - will celebrate his 18th birthday on August 12 and with it receive his first Italian passport that should signal the start of his international career.

"I've been waiting for years for this August 12 and becoming an Italian citizen because I am Italian," he told the paper.

(continue)

He looks italian

He certainly can pass for Italian.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
      He certainly can pass for Italian.

Mis-guided fool...Still each to his own.

Fool?

The yute spend his entire life in that culture and that is what he knows? Why should he play for Ghana?

He doesn't have to but he needs to respect them, not dis them.

How exactly did he diss Ghana?

He simply declined their offer to play for them.

Yes if you read what he is saying you will see.

You can simply say as Freddie Adu did. You are delighted to get the oppurtunity but........

Not by deny your heritage.

You can simply say as Freddie Adu did. You are delighted to get the oppurtunity but........

Not by deny your heritage.
                Say as Freddy Adu? Adu was born in Ghana and raised by his mom from over there. This yute only know bout Italy. That is his language and culture. His family is Italian, what you expect him to think about himself.

As I said he just need to say thanks but no thanks.

I have no problem with him making a choice but it seems a little grandstanding to be boasting about his Italian heritage while not even acknowleging his Ghanian roots. Just say I am delighted to be give an oppurtunity from Ghana but ........ .

As I said he just need to say thanks but no thanks.

I have no problem with him making a choice but it seems a little grandstanding to be boasting about his Italian heritage while not even acknowleging his Ghanian roots. Just say I am delighted to be give an oppurtunity from Ghana but ........ .
                    He NEEDS to say so for whose sake?

So that we feel better about it?
                    For his family members sake?

For all we know he told Ghana, thanks, but no thanks.

The yute showing people why is only Italy him want to play for and not a thing is wrong. The man only knows one language and culture. Is him life and him don't need to tell anyone thanks.
                    Last edited by Me; July 14, 2008, 01:57 PM.

Here are his quotes from the article:

"I've been waiting for years for this August 12 and becoming an Italian citizen because I am Italian."

"Italy is where I was born, where I studied and where I play football."

"My language is Italian and my family is Italian. It is only because of some absurd law that I have had to live for 18 years as a foreigner in my own country."

If he's dissing anything in those statements it's the Italian citizenship laws, but he's certainly not dissing Ghana.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                        Here are his quotes from the article:

"I've been waiting for years for this August 12 and becoming an Italian citizen because I am Italian."

"Italy is where I was born, where I studied and where I play football."

"My language is Italian and my family is Italian. It is only because of some absurd law that I have had to live for 18 years as a foreigner in my own country."

If he's dissing anything in those statements it's the Italian citizenship laws, but he's certainly not dissing Ghana.
                        Agree. Is this because he is black? Somebody please correct me if I am wrong, but the youth name Rossi who was attached to The Empire, isn't he from NJ, and yet he got to play for Italy.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Agree. Is this because he is black?
                          No, it's because of Italian citizenship laws and the agreements they have with certain countries. As soon as he turns 18 he will automatically have it.

Italy also places more importance on bloodlines for citizenship. That is why Rossi has always had it; he was born in New Jersey, but both of his parents are Italian so it was no problem for him.

you wouldn't see the suttle message. Remember Ghana was after him. Remember he wasn't born of Italian parents or he wouldn't need any law to make him citizen. If he played for Ghana would still be Italian?

Yes Ghana was after him and he told them no a long time ago.

Yes he wasn't born of Italian parents, but he was raised by them as far back as he can remmember (went to them at two). If he went to Ghana yes they would consider him an Italian, especially since him act like an Italian and has a Brescia accent.

Next thing we going to hear is that Podolski is a sell out also.