• Austin to join Stoke, if he gets work permit

Football: Jamaican set to Stoke up the Premiership fires

LONDON, July 14, 2008 (AFP) - Jamaica international midfielder Rudolph Austin is set to join Premiership newboys Stoke City for just over a million pounds from Jamaican Championship side Portmore United.
    ADVERTISEMENT

The 22-year-old has been a long term target for the club even before their promotion but was not able to get a work permit because he had not made the requisite number of appearances for his country.

However, another stricture for getting a work permit is that the player's country of origin must be in the top 70 in the world rankings which Jamaica is not.

"It wasn't a straight forward negotiation with Portmore because we had some competition," chief executive Tony Scholes told BBC Radio Stoke.

"We've done the deal to sign him. We now need to get the work permit."

Stoke manager Tony Pulis is a great admirer of Austin's.

"He's got everything in his locker," said Pulis last month.

If he plays in the EPL; look for him to
    transfer to some big club

Jawge welcome back!!!! Your absence was very much noted. You have quite a bit of responses to make as your name was called frequently in your absence. I'm looking forward to your responses.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

on what subject that boss? Some
        you may already know the responses. I rubber stamp the Prof. in his work on football in Ja. Tappa is Ja's greatest player to date. Brasil is the best football team on the planet. Robinho the King is the best right now.
        Am I not being consistent?

Consistent you are!
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

True, welcome back Jawge. Jawge has always been a voice of unreason.

Liverpool, who have already sold Peter Crouch to Portsmouth this summer, are keen to free up transfer funds as they look to finalise a deal for Villa captain Gareth Barry and continue to chase Spurs striker Robbie Keane.
              Stoke, meanwhile, will hope that Carson follows midfielder Rudolph Austin into the club, the 22-year-old midfielder being close to signing in a £1m deal from Jamaican side Portmore United.