• Becham disrespect Pele legacy, claims Zidance was best

Zidane is the best player ever, says Beckham

31 minutes ago

MADRID (AFP) - Former England captain David Beckham claimed on Sunday that his ex-Real Madrid team-mate Zinedine Zidane is the best player of all time.

The 33-year-old Englishman told sports daily Marca that it had been a dream come true to play alongside Zidane for three years at Real.
    "To train with Zidane for three years (2003-06) was a dream," confessed Beckham, who has been capped over 100 times by his country.
    "For me he is the greatest player of all time."

Beckham, who is now playing for Los Angeles Galaxy, also believed that the best Spanish player at the moment is Barcelona's playmaker Xavi, who inspired Spain to the Euro 2008 title last month and was judged player of the tournament.

However, Beckham also thinks that goalkeeper Iker Casillas, who he knows from his time at Real, should be awarded world player of the year after several outstanding performances at the Euro.

Beckham also denied he wished to become an actor even though he is living in Hollywood but that he would like to return to Madrid - where he still has a house - one day and work with the youth side at Real.
    Last edited by Tilla; July 13, 2008, 04:28 PM. Reason: Clean up formatting

I don't consider that being disrespectful at all. He was just voicing his opinion of whom he considers as the best ever.

Not everyone sees Pele as the best ever, and I think most people are split between Pele and Maradona. Pele himself once said that the best player was Eusebio (the Mozambique born player who went on to play for Portugal).

I have some Brasillian friends and they themselves are split on who was/is the best player ever. Some of them say it's Pele, while the others said it was Grarrincha.

The bottom line is that unless one comes up with a set of criteria from which to show an empirical value, it will always be a case of opinion over fact. So Beckham feels Zidane is the best ever...so what! Maybe another 25 to 30 years from now someone will claim that either Ronaldinho, Messi, Robinho or Cristiano Ronaldo was the best ever. It will not be a disrespect to Pele et al, just a voicing of an opinion.

If you ask Jawge he'll probably say it was Tappa; X will probably say it was Onandi Lowe; Zeppo will probably say it was was Landon Donovan; HL will likely say it was Downswell; Shatta will surely say it was The Pearl; Karl will tell you categorically that it was Bibi; Mexxx will say it was Makelele; Mosiah will draw the Jerry Hue card; Assasin will tell you in no uncertain terms that it was O'Brien White; Tilla might tell you it was Noel "Sweetie" Smith; OJ will repeatedly tell you that it was Tegat; The Emperor will swear it was Shorty Malcolm; BrickTop will forever think it was Tevez; mi Brasillian bredrin at work, Ricardinho, will tell you that it was Zico; and I man will always say it was Allan "Skill" Cole. It's just an opinion Bro; no disrespect intended by anyone!
    Last edited by Farmah; July 13, 2008, 09:56 AM.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

create controversy, sell newspaper, keep Becks in the headlines.

Just proving that he is a fraud afterall.

Yuh ruff!
          Still is not Pele fault sey Beckham neva play wid hym.

Blessed

Farmah...yuh rufff nuh reese cleet!!........ hahahhahaaa

BTW Peter R seh "Skill Cole"

pr

Well Zidane a the second best behind Pele.

So whe you put Maradona?

Mara-wharra? Him was a legend in him right yes but technically, Zidane a the greatest. Zidane always turn up fi di big occasion. Like how him turn up and turn dung Brazil last WC when everybody say him too old. Plus Zizou excel pon both the club and international level.

Yuh young.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NBpu-M6kXCk

So Becks, if they didn't play along side
                          you they can't be great? Thanks man.

thanks for the memories. The one left foot bad nuh hell.
                            Make sure Lionpaw said.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dYUtKKbBTkw

Remember say Zidane thrive in a time where defense got tighter. A wasn't no wild man run in ting like back in the days. You haffi well talented fi mash up defenders in these times. Don't talk bout Shistiano Ronaldo neither cause EPL defenders a the foolest.