Pele says: Honour your contracts

• Pele says: Honour your contracts

in the meantime Man U looking to get Berbatov just in case certain players decide to get out of their "indentureship".

pr

Honoring a contract is the ideal when it is fair and relevant for a player and a club. However, since the club usually has most of the power and may dismiss a player when it suits their purpose, honoring a contract can sometimes be a one sided proposition. Usually, the player is more bound to honoring the contract than the club that can cut the player on a whim is what I'm saying.

So you think a player should walk just a few months in their contract because he is playing better than expected and can get more money and play for his dream team?

What about the players who don't live up to expectation? Can the club just cut them and not honor their contracts too? When our players get hurt and is of no more use to the club should the club just cut them as well?

Ronaldo is no slave. He signed last year with some high profile agent and lawyers so him fi stop whine. Is not like he has one year left on his contract.

in the meantime Man U looking to get Berbatov just in case certain players decide to get out of their "indentureship".

pr
        No PR ... Berbatov has nothing to do with Ronaldo.

Originally posted by Matter View Post
          Honoring a contract is the ideal when it is fair and relevant for a player and a club. However, since the club usually has most of the power and may dismiss a player when it suits their purpose, honoring a contract can sometimes be a one sided proposition. Usually, the player is more bound to honoring the contract than the club that can cut the player on a whim is what I'm saying.
          Madness Matter. A club pay millions to sign a player, plus pay the player millions and a player can simply walk away? Don't listen to Sepp Blabber.

Yes...but if the player is discontented... and it's not like they not getting anything to "sell" him.

However, the multi-year contracts to me favour the player, giving him a sense of comfort etc etc. I would think most players would prefer that, and if they have a good agent, have a review clause or whatever based on performance for an increase in salary, or a bonus based on performance.

There will always be a player like Ronaldo who wants to move to whereever in the middle of the contract. If it looks like he might underperform, then what does the club do? Keep him? or mek a money off of him?

pr

No problemo, just speculating. BTW Is Berbatov's contract up?

pr