• Ah Stab B. Mr. Bucknor Blast Brazil model

EDITORS' FORUM - Bucknor blasts use of Brazilian football model
    published: Friday | July 11, 2008

Adrian Frater, News Editor

Bucknor
    Western Bureau:
    RENOWNED INTERNATIONAL cricket umpire and former FIFA referee Steve Bucknor has blasted the Brazilian model being used in the national football programme, claiming it is inhibiting players' natural flair and undermining the development of the local game.
    "We cannot play Brazilian football because it is something inborn with them, not with us," said Bucknor, who was speaking at a Gleaner Editors' Forum in Montego Bay, St James, yesterday.

"When you go on the Copacabana beach in Brazil, everybody can do everything with the football. You can't teach that in Jamaica, our culture and local experience is different," he said.

Utilise natural assets
    According to Bucknor, instead of trying to adopt the almost romantic style of Brazilian football, Jamaica should be utilising its natural assets, such as speed, which are evident in the fact that the nation has the two fastest men in the world - Usain Bolt and Asafa Powell.

"We are natural athletes and that is why we are able to produce the two fastest men in the world right here in Jamaica," said Bucknor. "Our netballers are ranked number three in the world and at one time we had the best batsman and the best fast bowler in the world … . We are naturally better athletes than the Brazilians," he said.

Bicknor said the national football programme would be better served by sending local coaches abroad instead of the current policy of a Brazilian coaching outfit. Bucknor said it would be better to send Jamaica's local coaches to various countries with a view of having them learn different styles, which could then be blended with the local way of playing to have something that is essentially Jamaican.
    Last edited by Tilla; July 11, 2008, 01:21 PM.

Still wouldn't work. I have resigned myself to the fact that we will, at least not for a long time, give any local coach any respect.

Send fi di Brazilian dem, send fi di Dutch dem.

yeah but speed alone naw dweet ..... fundamentals ...... brasil and argentina oh ...... and the dutch have the best technique .....

Brazilian style ah inhibit wi ballahs dem, ah joke dis or wha. Ah when dis yah style start inhibit wi ballah dem. Cho dem ting yah just mek yuh wondah.

Make me ask Mr. Bucknor suppen, how comes the Dutch Man go a Spain and so successful? How comes the Portugese Man go a England and so successful? How comes the French man go and so successful? How comes the Dutchman go a Trinidad and so successful?

Is either Mr.Bucknor a say we baller them head tuff, or our coaches can't measure up. I don't know which one him a say but blame the coach them that Mo a say wan't rest and compain bout 5 hours instead of blaming the man dem who instill discipline and structure. Discipline and structure is what our game is lacking most.

Local footballers just need to master the fundamentals.

The other attributes like speed, seal-like skill (mosiah)-- comes naturally.

Good playing surface should be another important factor that is considered. Surface that allow the ball to roll...not bounce.

And yes...Assasin just mentioned an all important good football trait: Discipline!!

I don't know which one him a say but blame the coach them that Mo a say wan't rest and compain bout 5 hours...
              When did I say that, Assasin?!

This is the profundity that Lee Kwan Yew spoke about.

While we sit on our haunches and tryto re-create the wheel, other move ahead with di 'farin' ones.

Pride goeth before the fall.

I believe Bucknor has been lost in the fact that Jamaica is a semi profesional football nation and any professionalism we get is from a forgein source , at the moment it is from the Brazillinas and rightly so.

To say that we can develop our own style of football based on speed is unrealistic , because the foundation on any development is professionalism .

The Brazilians have brought that professionalism and I have no qualms in them instilling it Island wide for the next 20 years to root out our morbid football culture.

Fact again Mr Bucknor is the Dutch , French , British & German cannot teach us to play a Jamaican style of football which is based on speed , or pace.

We have to do that , they can all teach us professionalism and thats where Bucknor gets lost confusing the two.

The only nation that could teach us about speed is the americans because they are our only T&F rivalaries and they dont have a clue on developing an american style football .

Well they call it soccer , so thats how far they have to go .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Our journalist should ask O.K we have MVP to develop /teach us to play with speed whom will teach us to play with professionalism ?

Is thier any Jamaican qualified to do that ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

yeah but wat would the once noble chiron formerly sagest of all centaurs have to say to bucknor about this as one "west" man to another.

I guess he would ask why dont you volunteer , then we would all know if we didnt already his proposition is a farce.

Tell him fi stick to cricket

I don't know exactly what Sta B (that's what we call Steve Bucknor in the west) means by what he said. In my view, Jamaica has never attempted to play like Brazilians. I'd venture to say that Jamaicans CANNOT play like Brazilians. We are nowhere as skillful and nowhere as technically gifted. We only want to think that we are skillful but we're not.

Aside from maybe Tappa (and that's a stretch), I've not seen one Jamaican in the last 15 years who reminds me of Brazilians such as Denilson, Robinho, Djalminho or any of their ilk. None of our current crop of ballers look skillful in the Brazilian flair kind of way to me. I'm sorry.

Also, if you line up our 11 starters to sprint against Brazil's or Mexico's first 11, our ballers would probably finish in the 1st 9 spots. But put us on the football field with those same Brazilians or Mexicans and we'd look like we have little to no speed. The fact is, if football was only about speed, Jamaicans would be dominant. But we all know that speed's just a part.

Of course, you cannot be good in football without speed, but having only speed will only get you so far. Sta B was/is an excellent football coach but he lost me with the above comments attributed to him.

Bucknor is exposing his ignorance here.. speed of what . speeed of play or raw speed. I saw ben J play football,, he cant.. football required speed of play not necessary raw speed. Do you really think the spaniard are all that fast.. no they think and execute quickly...