• U-20s fine-tune with 3-0 win over Waterhouse

U-20s fine-tune with 3-0 win over Waterhouse

Friday, July 11, 2008

Striker Dever Orgill rested while Senior team player Evan Taylor was released from camp to tend to family matters as the National U-20 team continued their preparation for their first-round qualifiers in the Cayman Islands with a practise match against Waterhouse at Drewsland yesterday.
    Vancouver Whitecaps' Orgill twisted his ankle on Tuesday in another practise game against a UWI side, but coach Alfredo Montesso says he will be okay for the qualifiers and resting him was just a pre-caution.
    "It's swell but nothing serious; he'll get some physiotherapy so he'll be good for next week," Montesso revealed.
    National midfielder Taylor was given permission to return home yesterday due to an emergency situation.
    Meanwhile, goals from Levaughn Williams, Romeo Parkes and Romario Campbell gave the young Boyz a 3-0 win over their NPL opponents.
    And after eight weeks in training, Montesso believes the team has covered much ground and are fine-tuning and just trying to avoid injuries ahead of their departure next week.

"After eight weeks we are really satisfied; we are really organised now. They are getting to understand the game... and this is what we expect from them. They were tight in the midfield and they did not give any space for the opponent," he said.
    "Now we have to focus on finalising the approach of the team, some set-plays and few things the players are doing that they can do better...," he added.
    The Brazilian said more international games could have helped the team prepare better; however, he believes they are ready for this level of competition but must just guaurd against overconfidence.
    The final 20-man squad will be selected next week, according to Montesso.
    "Some like Taylor will be in the Senior team, so the few cuts that we are going to have will be early next week," he said.

Talk Back No comments have been postedPost your commentsRelated ArticlesNo related articles were found

Real refreshing read for me.

We are fairly well prepared and have to guard against over confidence?

We are fine tuning.

8 weeks of training?

Good work sah

please move dis fi mi nuh Missa Moderata

Why do you keep doing this, sass!!!?

on di run these day.

is like a Klangsman mi join.

sorry bout that.