Claude sees red

• Claude sees red

as he gives away a penalty against Everton today. Commentator thinks it's an unlucky call against him. I disagree. Clear penalty!

If the commentator was referring to the red card, then yes, I agree, that was too harsh. Yellow card, perhaps, but to be sent off because of challenging for the ball, however clumsily, too harsh!

RE: Claude sees red

not a penalty. Sheffield United lacks imagination and movement going forward. Their weakness is in attack. Davis is outstanding for them in defence.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

the penalty was dubious, they both were tusselling. the only mistake claude made was allowing him that much space. Johnson wisely move the ball away from claude, Referee was harsh at best that was a yellow.
      "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Then what counts as a penalty? Did the player trip on a grass root? He was certainly bundled over! Or should Claude have given him a bruk foot tackle for you to see the penalt?

Mosiah (10/21/2006)Then what counts as a penalty? Did the player trip on a grass root? He was certainly bundled over! Or should Claude have given him a bruk foot tackle for you to see the penalt?
          Unfortunately I stepped away before the penalty call. I'll have to wait until halftime to see it. Mosiah, the fact that you and Sickko nuh like the youth, may cloud yuh judgement. Jangle, Peejay and the commentator see it differently from you? I wonder why?

Claude had to challenge for the ball, but Johnson wasn't bundled over. He felt Claude and the best thing he did was to take the fall and fool the ref.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Totally agree with you Jangle.they are too hasty while moving forward.

I total believe they need a forward who can hold the ball longer and a midfielder ala Jermaine Hue. It stink to high water how Jermaine and R Kelly was drowned out in their prime by Mr. CB. It is ridiculous when I watch these none skill ballers parading around the EPL.

Mosiah call up Hue agent, Sheffield would fair well with a Hue and a baller skillful like fuller or Jermaine Johnson; wheh di agents dem dehdem nuh watch EPL ball and see need fi dem players.:hehe:
              "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

HA HA! Okay.

There might be 6 to 8 clubs (max!) in the EPL who play anything close to modern football. Sheffield and Watford are not two of them! And players like Hue would never stand a chance at those places. They don't understand the beautiful game, and apparently are not capable of doing so.

I feel sorry for Marlon King who has to suffer with the ridiculous football within which he finds himself at Watford. He too must be saying that international ball easier than club football. He looks horrible playing in the EPL with that side.

Well remember that we are just getting the chance to see the likes of Watford, Sheffield and Reading playing regularly. King is playing with the same team and teamates where he was the star. I've watched Watford playing and they are woefully lacking in theirfinishing. Sheffield just don't create enough chances. Reading I haven't seen much of to make a comment.

Ask me in April what I think about those sides. They will not change by then. It's just a fact - ever since the EPL and before, only a handful of teams play good football. The rest? Kick and run!

Handful? You are missing quite a few fingers!

My point exactly is that I would think the coaches would want to play the beautiful game. Why would they insist on the kick out and run when obviously it is not successful. Sheffield need a holding midfielder real bad.

I the first half the midfielders ruch their passes even when they weren't pressured as if they were scared. I can see why Claude is outstanding on this team. He was the most relax on the ball through out the first half. Personally I think Andy would also be an asset on this team as a matter of fact any midfielder with ball skill and wicked pass would do well in this system.

Yuh not getting it. Any good midfielder would fail in this team. They don't understand that kind of football! When I read the Mjallby site, and they talk about the rash of bad passes by Maestro, yuh have to laugh. When Maestro is thinking about a ground pass into space, his teammates are thinking about a long ball over the heads of defenders that they can run on to. Hence the bad passes.

Please!

I wish the site had a whistling emoticon...cause that is what I am doing now.

Wonder what Squattah have to say now about headless Claude Davis.

BTW Mosiah any foul in the penalty box that prevents the striker form a clear chance at goal must be a red card.