Visited the Compound last evening to witness the first day

• Visited the Compound last evening to witness the first day

of Wally's training session with HVFC. They went through some drills, nothing too exciting to report.

More importantly, I saw Damani Ralph and asked him how he was doing. He said about the same as the last time I saw him. On thinking back, the last time I saw him he was on crutches. This time he was walking without them but it was his ascent up the HVFC stands that was somewhat alarming. Damani went up, a step at a time, and maybe it was my mind playing tricks on me, but it did appear that his knee even looked messed up. Really sad to see. I will try and find out more if I can.

how log ago was the last time you saw him.

little over a year ago, I believe.

wow that does not look good.

taylor, kelly and nicholas also had what seems to me to be EXTENDED periods of recovery from surgery and or injury......

Is he getting and applying the same level of discipline to his physical therapy as his technical skills and his game? Delayed recovery is mostly caused by the athlete cheating on his physical therapy. Not saying this is the case for Ralph, but being ijured for a year seems long

a dat mi a seh.....as with kelly, taylor and nicholas.....

ya the recovery requires more work than anything else.

yes but i'm seeing in excess 12 month rehab.....and consistently so...that is not normal.....in fact has christopher nicholas recovered from his ankle surgery of 3 years ago?

his ankle is not the problem right now. it's more like the weight it's carrying!

Re: "...but being ijured for a year seems long."

Not at all. A joint injury takes a much longer period to heal than.. say.. a broken bone. So the one-year lay off is expected. Maybe we can get Rico to expound a bit on the healing of a bone fracture etc, as opposed to a damaged knee joint.

I recall three athletes (basketballers) who had very long rehab time, lasting into two seasons before they could return to their professional game. Older forumiites might remember the great Knick forward Bernard King. Not-so-old forumites might also remember Mashburn and Steve Smith both of the Miami Heat. All three players had serious knee injuries like Damani Ralph, and they took a shyt-load of time to heal. But heal they did, eventually!

But as OJ alluded to, the athlete must have the discipline to adhere to the rigours of the therapy. Any cheating is usually to the detriment of the athlete!
                      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

how yuh can figget grant hill....

Backside!!! Yes!!! Grant Hill tuh!!! But his rehab almost seemed like it took 'bout three years to rahtid!
                          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

The good thing is, he has not put on any weight. Might have lost some, but that's not a bad thing when trying to recuperate from a knee injury.

Mosiah, how does things look? Hae you visited the compound lately to check on proceddings?