The perfect 11, speed, skill and grit!!!!

• The perfect 11, speed, skill and grit!!!!

PLAYING THE 4-4-2 FORMATION, UTILIZING THE POTENTIAL BEST WE HAVE TO OFFER, playing some in unconventional positions, that they have played before, playing one that has not played for JA AS YET. Playing one that is not even in the national setup anymore.

-------------Ricketts----------------

Not happy bout this but he is the best we have.

O. Daley--Nosworthy--J. Taylor---Yes that is G. Reid (the one and only)

We must have superior speed & grit. The ones we have been playing cannot get it done, sorry!!!

Fuller---Austin--Marshall, Gardener (Fuller is probably our most skilled player, but he strikes me as a man who is not hungry, he needs a Break to make it happen, in the forward position i see King and Shelton as having significant advantages over fuller, king in holding and passing also in pure finishing and Shelton's speed and dexterity strike me as so overwhelming with potential this youth needs to be out there evrytime up front. Fuller is just too laid back for the jakan front line, he can play a hell of a role on the right flank, creating mayhem with his skill and opeining up the field for the two forwards.

--------------King--Shelton-----------

This is the best possible combination we have now, King has yet to explode and with application he will do just that, his ability to hold the ball as well is perfect for Shelton to play off him.

This is the best possible combination that we have every man on the team is tested fully except for G. reid coming off the injury and inactivity at this level. Marshall is not fast but fast enough and with his talent, intelligence and hard nosed gritty play he is perfect for the middle, playing that holding role.

this can easily be transformed into a 3-5-2 a la the german wing oriented style (which will win today), with Marshall possibly dropping back and reid and daley moving up.

Subs - Demar Phillips, Burton, Thomas, yes Shavar, not so quick but loads of ball intelligence and faster and younger than Goodison by far.

That team will win the group of death and qualify for South Africa. Playing Goodison, Evan taylor etc will surely result in mistakes that we cannot afford at this time. If mistakes are made speed can possibly change the result, like we saW with taylor and the bahamian forward breakaway in the second game.

noo dat cannot be rite why would you put tyrone marshall in in the middle of midfield??.....dat is nonsense......marshall is a defender........and we have too much natural wingers to be wasting fulla on the wing.....he is a forward.......and tyrone could replace omar daley at right back.....and i honestly dont think thats the best formation for the boyz.....

Interesting!
      ...and yes I do see Pepe (...and thus our REGGAE BOYZ) being left for dead time and again by the opponents!

Interesting - ...and appeals to me!

Interesting view SG. I would probably make a couple edits to your starting 11 though.

I would use McCallum (Waterhouse FC) in goal as I'm more confident with him than Tall P as our starting custodian.

The holding position (#7) is an interesting one but, unlike The Prof, I'm not ecstatic about Evan Taylor playing there. My players for that position (not necessarily in this order) are: Rudy Austin, Damien Francis, Tyrone Marshall, Khari Stephenson and Omar Daley. But essentially what I would do is leave Omar Daley at right back, delete Jerome Taylor and then insert Granny Marshall in central defence, bring in Damien Francis to play the #7 and give Rudy Austin the freedom to roam. In a case where Damien is unfit or out injured, Rudy or Khari should get first crack at that holding midfield position.

I would find a spot in that midfied for Andy Williams; for more reasons than one.

I'm okay with King and Shelton up front.
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Evan Taylor could be more like a Fabregas. No he does not have Fabregas' skill or understanding of the game...but he is learning and presently competent.

Like Fabregas hs is slow! ...but as he uses his pace, just as Fabregas, it is adequate pace!

One of the very interesting things about the suggested team is the insertion of the big strong and fast defender wide on the left at the back - Garfield Reid. Reid is far and away our only player who could, if he applies himself, become a TOP OF THE WORLD player.

Marshall is our "headiest and grittiest" player, he is perfect for that role, he is also cool with the ball at his feet and under pressure, he also know how to fight fi the ball like say is him only chance for dinner, very unlike a guy like say Andy Williams. We won't put Fller on the wing but he can roam down the wing when the space is there or pull in the middle as necessary he has enough speed and more than enough skill to do both and bust open the sardine can of the opposing team's defense. We do not want Marshall or Gardener at wing back they are our best players in every sense, we need them in the middle of the pitch where it counts and they can pull back into defense when necessary.

Omar and Garfield have plenty speed, toughness and determination, from that perspective not position you can see the latter two (toughness and determination) plain no hide up biz, as opposed to man like Hue or Andy who are great (brilliant even, Mo don't smile when you see brilliant) in attack but have no comparative or competitive advantage in defending or are naturally disposed to fight for the ball like say is the last chance at dinner, I have seen it so many times with these guys it makes me sick every time I see it, believe me I do want to see Ja in another world cup before 2040.

This aggregation is the best for the talent we have it has a defense first toughness, with loads of speed and grittiness, it also has the perfect counterattack staffing, Gardener in transition, Fuller on the attack the ball can go anywhere, Austin with the big kick surprise, Marshall with the insightful and heady plays. Shelton and King up front complete it.

This is Anansi ball at it's best defense first, lightning counter second, hold the ball if necessary and rebuild. If you think about it this is the same strategy the Maroons used as well. This is the team to do it man, if we can get Nosworthy that is going to be one hell of a rock in the middle of the defense as well.

Karl,

You know the deal there, it will be one play in a 0-0 game in the next round where we need the point to go through and a breakawaygoal is scored that prevents us from moving on.

I haven't seen much of McCallum, but if him have anything like the heart of Mike then I would put him in, I see Tall P doing too mmuch strange things and quirky behaviour makes me feel very unsafe at times.

Andy cannot make my team at all, too slow, not enough natural fight and beat back if he loses the ball, I just don't see the spirit never have, but from an attack standpoint and distribution he is brilliant!!

fact is Jamaica need 5 defenders. that is our weakest part on the field. Bibi and Marshall needs no help outside and is a threat going forward. In my opinion if we can't win then we draw and move on. Our record with 4 defender over the past 3 years have been horrible. The defenders have not been in sync. WE have two defenders tackling at the same time, broken office and the middle of defense have been a strainer. We need one man fi marshall the backline.

Tell that to Simoes who likes to play a 3-5-2 system. He said it works well for us.

Willing to take my chance on Demar Phillips, and I like Langley;he is unique, and already one of the Boyz.

Blessed

I AGREE garfield is one of our best wing backs, he is fast strong and he knoows how to kick the ball,,but he just came off a long term injury and hes rusty and at the end the season he was hardly gettin playin time at waterhouse,

another good wingback that simoes called up when he came back,but didnt use him, was christopher 'iggy' jackson, he has a lot of pace and skill and ball sense and he really knows how to kick a ball......when tappa became the temporary coach he used iggy as a left back in a match and he controlled the left flank......i fogot who the opponent was....

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                          Karl,

You know the deal there, it will be one play in a 0-0 game in the next round where we need the point to go through and a breakawaygoal is scored that prevents us from moving on.
                          Serious thing!

Willing to take my chance on Demar Phillips, and I like Langley;he is unique, and already one of the Boyz.

Blessed
                            Langley has what we call a football brain...but he is also very slow.

Iggy's movement off the ball is not that great and his defense needs quite a bit of work. His kicking is definitely the best of all our wingbacks.