Originally posted by Karl
View Post
The perfect 11, speed, skill and grit!!!!
A nuff man just a wait fi di sowjah (Pepe) fi mek ah mistake fi seh seeit ah long time mi didah tell yuh. Pepe ah di bes defendah wi have fi years widout tears. An any man pan yah can forwod ah bettah one weddah RB40 or odah wise, stan up an shout it out. Mi ah guh say it again, "di greatest central defendah dem inna di world" an mi nuh care how far back yuh waan guh from Beckenbar(bwoy mi know mi cyaan spell yuhnuh but Jawge wi tell yuh seh mi nevah learn fi spell pan di plantation),to Gentile,to Baresi ,to Adams,to Leblanc an di beat goes on Nevah have nuh speed or quickness. Suh speed/quickness ah nuh prerequiste fi being ah great defendah membah.
Mi nah guh argue wid Granny Marshall still, kah yuh have it right wid Pepe deficiencies dem. Ah my two defendah dem deh. but fi shear defensive ability ah Pepe ebry time fi mi, ah dat him have weh Granny Marshall nuh have. Jus like di likkle short man (Shorty Malcom) ah nuff man use to cuss him seh him nuh good kah him cyaan pass an rae rae but fi shear buss tackle an hole di miggle togedah dere was and is ongle one.
Yes myYout big talk that! The only other Jamaican defender we've seen in the last 20 years who was as good as Pepe and Granny is Tatty Brown, period!! Pepe, is short on pace right now but he makes up for the lack thereof by his quick thinking, good technique and his ability to anticipate the moves of opposing forwards.
Still, if the choice is mine I would play Granny and Nugsy at central defence, and then bring on Pepe as a relief for 15 to 20 minutes per game. That way we can save his legs throughout the qualifying campaign and into the 2010 World Cup."The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
True true, not very quick but he was another Johnny Cool!!!"The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
Originally posted by myYout View PostA nuff man just a wait fi di sowjah (Pepe) fi mek ah mistake fi seh seeit ah long time mi didah tell yuh. Pepe ah di bes defendah wi have fi years widout tears. An any man pan yah can forwod ah bettah one weddah RB40 or odah wise, stan up an shout it out. Mi ah guh say it again, "di greatest central defendah dem inna di world" an mi nuh care how far back yuh waan guh from Beckenbar(bwoy mi know mi cyaan spell yuhnuh but Jawge wi tell yuh seh mi nevah learn fi spell pan di plantation),to Gentile,to Baresi ,to Adams,to Leblanc an di beat goes on Nevah have nuh speed or quickness. Suh speed/quickness ah nuh prerequiste fi being ah great defendah membah.
If in Simoes' eye Pepe peforms well he is in.
..but as I see it Pepe cannot run with top quality players. It is simple...if he cannot get to the ball first or match or beat the man running with the ball he is likely to be often 'left'! That would not be good!
I do not think he can run with the better players!
btw - The players you mentioned were very good. ...and the being good was relative to the time/period during which they played.
Today the game and the players are 'miles' faster. Some of those you mentioned would be 'left' often by a simple 'push the ball beyond them and run'!
Now it is midfielders who can get-away with being somewhat slow. Not forwards! Not those at the back!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
This is what most of the man them still dont understand, what is the goal of our program it needs to be to win the gold cup to make qualifying for the world cup a every 4 years experience, be the brazil of concacaf, to do that you have to set very high standards.
You must build on your advantages, we have very clear advantages over most countries in Concacaf size, speed, skill, but never in the right combination, we still have a lot of work to do on the tactical stuff and just the way we play teamball, i still believe that Mex style ball is one of the most elemental, yet intelligent ball style, if they had the athletes we had and play like that no one could beat them. man like Hue, Williams and Pepe all bring goiod things to the table but if we are to get to that next level we cannot put guys like that on the field.