Cutting A 10 Year Old From The Team

It is a pleasure reading all the comments on Matter's thread. For the most part every ite is aware of the importance of learning the game first at such a tender age. Hopefully from reading the responses Matter is now currently on the phone with this child's mother asking her to bring her little one back into the fold.

Cut him backside yes. Jus tell him some eediat story like Michael Jordan never made his high school basketball team or sumting suh him nuh feel like the loser he is

He should buy the lady some flowaz too....

erm...this is aaout the kid?!!! is which been yuh deh drink...miller genuine draft?

erm...erm...

Matter's second paragraph vividly described the Mother's anguish....

BTW: I drink Stella Artois, Heinikin Lite, Becks light...Molson Lite......

Domestic: Bud Light, Yuenglin Lager

mi si dat but him must not put himself in dem siti-aytion deh wid soccer moms.....chuss mi or chuss mi not...eidah way mi know whey mi a talk 'bout.

ok sah!

Many thanks massive for all the responses. You are right that I felt terrible to have had to cut the kid. I don't accept that "I know I was wrong for doing it". But I will take all of what you've stated and I will learn from them next time.

There were other issues besides his playing abilities that made me cut him. When I consider the parents' reaction to the kid's lack of playing time; the kid's pouting and body language on the bench when he didn't play much in games and the projection that we'll be playing against an age group of kids that I know will be stronger and faster than he'll be able to keep up with, I felt I had no choice. I honestly could see where the kid and his parents would soon become a distraction to the team's mission.

To be honest, this kid was also cut from another team last year and so the parents (even if they don't admit it) might be well aware of the kid's limitations. At least they should be because the other parents of kids on our team are fully aware.

Today when I spoke with our team manager and explained that I had cut the kid, she said the boy's mother had called her and was resigned to the fact that the kid lacked stamina and that he could barely keep up with everyone else on the team. The boy's mother said the kid is better at another sport that doesn't require as much running as football so I think the kid will be encouraged to focus on that sport (baseball).

If there's anything I can say for the kid, he took his cutting like a man. I called him over to tell him that I had cut him and he looked me dead in the eye and shook my hand and said, "thank you coach" and didn't blink. He looked disappointed but he took it like a man.

I'd be surprised beyond belief if he turns out to be the next Ronaldo but I'd be happy if he pursues his dream and proves me wrong. I don't think he will prove me wrong though.

Matter, I would say you should not have cut the youth. I would only cut a player that age for disciplinary reasons, not for lacking the ability to play. So the player is athletically challenged, I say you give him as little playing time as possible until he improves his game. A Farmah said, at that age it should be about getting the fundamentals of the game and having fun.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Is this the reason why Simoes is afraid of cutting certain

players from the squad because him afraid of gun shot.