Instead, the match is slated for Puebla, which is only 7,136 ft above sea level.
Reggae Boyz spared the Azteca when they meet Mexico
Yuh mean a whole 213ft lower than Cuidad de Mexico!
Well, apart from the altitude in Mexico City, I understad there is the smog as well as the size of the stadium (120K screaming Mexticans)!
Estadio Cuauhtémoc holds only 42,680 people. It should be a much more comfortable place for us to play. The intimidation factor is reduced big time!Last edited by Tilla; June 24, 2008, 11:49 PM."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
You are right, Azteca is not banned. Azteca is just at the threshold of the height FIFA will allow games to be held."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Here is an image of a model of the stadium.Attached Files"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
J.f.f need to do a major medical study and advise of this
aitude to minimise the effects of it on our aging players. We might have to beat mexico there to have a chance of making it to the next round. I hope we send in some medics in the changing room to test for chemicals before our players go in. We should try and learn about some of the local products that they eat or things that they do to be able to coupe with this altitude . We need some other strategy like try to get a couple of the mexican them sent off early.
Yeah you are right
Azteca is 2200
RICH, May 27 (Reuters) - No international soccer matches will be allowed to take place above an altitude of 2,500 metres in future, FIFA president Sepp Blatter said on Sunday.
A number of countries, among them Bolivia, frequently stage home international games at high altitude but Blatter said FIFA was following advice from its medical committee.
'I know there will be complaints about this, especially from South America, but we have to think of the health of the players first. It also leads to a distortion of the competition if matches are played at such a level.
'The Executive Committee have listened to a proposal from the medical committee and have decided to act because to play at above that altitude is not healthy or fair.'
Bolivia traditionally play their home matches in La Paz, which, at more than 3,600 metres above sea level, is the highest capital city in the world.
Blatter was speaking at a news conference following the last executive committee meeting before the start of FIFA's 57th Congress this week and the inauguration of FIFA's new headquarters in Zurich.
He also said that the associations of Macedonia and Kazakhstan had been given a deadline of June 15 to resolve their internal problems or else face possible sanctions from world soccer's governing body.
He said FIFA would not relax its rules on shirt advertising for international teams and reported that of 23,000 doping tests carried out by FIFA in 2006, 91 had proved positive and of those just seven were for steroids.
'Most of the others were for marijuana or other things players use - they were not even performance-enhancing,' said Blatter, adding that FIFA would be using doping controls at all its major tournaments this year including the Under-17 and Under-20 World Cup matches in South Korea and Canada respectively.
He said he was delighted that 750,000 tickets had already been sold for the Under-20 World Cup in Canada from June 30.
Originally posted by Naminirt View PostYeah you are right
Azteca is 2200
RICH, May 27 (Reuters) - No international soccer matches will be allowed to take place above an altitude of 2,500 metres in future, FIFA president Sepp Blatter said on Sunday.
A number of countries, among them Bolivia, frequently stage home international games at high altitude but Blatter said FIFA was following advice from its medical committee.
'I know there will be complaints about this, especially from South America, but we have to think of the health of the players first. It also leads to a distortion of the competition if matches are played at such a level.
'The Executive Committee have listened to a proposal from the medical committee and have decided to act because to play at above that altitude is not healthy or fair.'
Bolivia traditionally play their home matches in La Paz, which, at more than 3,600 metres above sea level, is the highest capital city in the world.
Blatter was speaking at a news conference following the last executive committee meeting before the start of FIFA's 57th Congress this week and the inauguration of FIFA's new headquarters in Zurich.
He also said that the associations of Macedonia and Kazakhstan had been given a deadline of June 15 to resolve their internal problems or else face possible sanctions from world soccer's governing body.
He said FIFA would not relax its rules on shirt advertising for international teams and reported that of 23,000 doping tests carried out by FIFA in 2006, 91 had proved positive and of those just seven were for steroids.
'Most of the others were for marijuana or other things players use - they were not even performance-enhancing,' said Blatter, adding that FIFA would be using doping controls at all its major tournaments this year including the Under-17 and Under-20 World Cup matches in South Korea and Canada respectively.
He said he was delighted that 750,000 tickets had already been sold for the Under-20 World Cup in Canada from June 30.
http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/federa...hosts+revealed
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FIFA_altitude_ban