Sad News - Indy City U-15

• Sad News - Indy City U-15

Earlier this year, we chipped in and bought a set of Admiral brand shirts for Indy City U-15 and U-17 teams.

I received an e-mail from Uken Campbell of Indy City FC this afternoon.

This is a classic example of how one punk can screw everything up for the rest of the team.

Indy City took first place in group play, but was disqualified from the playoffs after one of the players was found to be over-age. He had submitted a false ID during the registration process.

Uken did not tell me the boy's actual age, or how large a role he had played on the team. I am assuming this boy was new to the program.

During the off-season, Portmore FA announced tighter procedures for registering youth players. Apparently, it was felt that many teams were using over-age players in the U-17 league last year.

When I visited Indy City U-17 last summer, the players on the opposing team (Daytona) looked older and bigger than Indy City's players. Uken told me that last year's U-17 team, which had a horrible season, did not have any over-age players.

The 2008 Portmore U-17 league starts Sunday.

Uken has promised me that he will soon send me a team picture of the U-17 team in the Admiral shirts.

I am hoping that things get better for the U-17's, and maybe we can post a picture of the U-17 team in a "pig pile" with the championship trophy.

Bruce

Yuh tink mi gi unnuh mi hard earn money fi a run bandoolo wit? Next time mek sure unnuh get a good counterfeiter fi mek di ID next time

Whew! I thought yuh were going to ask back for your $5.

In the future the club fi require the yutes bring dem birth papers and develop a tougher identify process, cause the club is jeopardizing future sponsorship with an incident like this.

Whew! I thought yuh were going to ask back for your $5.
          Now that yuh mention it. And that's $6.50 wit interest

lol... funny mosiah... that is sad indeed... dem really need a better counterfeiter fi real... cyaan play fair an win dung a yawd... well it hard, cause tuh much odda people a cheat...

What "club" yuh talking?

I can assure you that the league tries to ensure that cheating does not take place. I went to a meeting (must have been 4/5 years ago, when we just started this sponsorship this thing) with organisers of the tournament, where they sought to implement certain guidelines to minimise such occurrences. Obviously, it was not good enuff.

We have expressed our disappointment to Indy City who are also very disappointed and have promised to do as much as is humanly possible to ensure that this does not happen again.

The RBSC will continue to support Independence City and we hope the forumites, and Bricktop, will continue to support the youths.

Yuh come home from dance Mosiah? Just read mi post again.

Tomorrow is Passa. Monday night - which dance keep pon Monday night?

"In the future the RBSC fi require the yutes bring dem birth papers and develop a tougher identify process, cause Indy City is jeopardizing future sponsorship with an incident like this."

Is this what was meant?

Actually this "In the future the Indy City club fi require the yutes bring dem birth papers and develop a tougher identify process, cause Indy City is jeopardizing future sponsorship with an incident like this."

Thanks! Was that so hard?

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
                        Earlier this year, we chipped in and bought a set of Admiral brand shirts for Indy City U-15 and U-17 teams.

I received an e-mail from Uken Campbell of Indy City FC this afternoon.

This is a classic example of how one punk can screw everything up for the rest of the team.

Indy City took first place in group play, but was disqualified from the playoffs after one of the players was found to be over-age. He had submitted a false ID during the registration process.

Uken did not tell me the boy's actual age, or how large a role he had played on the team. I am assuming this boy was new to the program.

During the off-season, Portmore FA announced tighter procedures for registering youth players. Apparently, it was felt that many teams were using over-age players in the U-17 league last year.

When I visited Indy City U-17 last summer, the players on the opposing team (Daytona) looked older and bigger than Indy City's players. Uken told me that last year's U-17 team, which had a horrible season, did not have any over-age players.

The 2008 Portmore U-17 league starts Sunday.

Uken has promised me that he will soon send me a team picture of the U-17 team in the Admiral shirts.

I am hoping that things get better for the U-17's, and maybe we can post a picture of the U-17 team in a "pig pile" with the championship trophy.

Bruce
                        that punk is ANTI-TEAM!

is Karl on vacation? - just filling in

I know nothing of this situation so understand that I am just coming from my own thoughts on this. Sometimes these "overaged" kids are more victims than "punks". They are often times used by scheming adults to try and get an edge in a competition. So I would say that before we demonize the offending player a hard look should be taken at the adults. If I was betting man I would say that the grown ups share the brunt of the responsibility of this. Just my two cents. - T.K.