We open up against Canada on the road

• We open up against Canada on the road

I dont know where the schedule is but I heard our first game is away to Canada then we're home to Mexico and then away to Honduras.

A first game win followed by humbling of the Mexicans would be a dream start.

wonder where canada will chose to play the game... i am thinking... hmmnnn, saskatchewan...

I think I read somewhere that they wanted to play the game in Toronto. But i recall there being some opposition from some quarters.

I think its August 20th in Toronto.. But there is some pressue to change to Montreal due to the coaches and player like the natutal and cozy confines of Supato Stadium. However the power brokers want it at BMO which seats more but play on field Turf

field turf - what do u mean?

U nuh know say u have non-field turf and non-turf field.?

huh?!?

Any word on tickets and when they will be available?

pr

Field Turf is the actual company that makes the new generation synthectic Turf field. Montreal is suppose to be some new type of grass and i s drawing rave reviews. BMO in tornonto is artifical turf and although sanctioned by fifa for the u20s the coaches and players dont like it and are trying to play in Montreal. The last I saw the game is schedule for BMO but dont know for sure.

http://www.fieldturf.com/fifa/
                  http://www.fieldturf.com/soccer/high...ghProfileID=65
                  Last edited by OJ; June 23, 2008, 11:33 PM.

They may choose to play in Edmonton where they normally play some of their qualifiers but Toronto will probably host one of their qualifiers as well.

Originally posted by Nemesis View Post
                      I dont know where the schedule is but I heard our first game is away to Canada then we're home to Mexico and then away to Honduras.

A first game win followed by humbling of the Mexicans would be a dream start.
                      That will be a very difficult game mi friend. I dont need to tell you what Canadas midfield looks like. Not to mention the problems we have in defence midfield and our frontline.

Lets see wat Simoes does between now and our first game. He has yet to address our deficiencies in defence. midfield or in attack. He's got a month and a half to start coming up with some credible solutions to our problems, because if he doesnt we will have a tough time in the semifinal round.

Artificial turf is not allowed for WC matches as far as I know, whether it's the new type or the old.

Mo, The field at the Centre of Excellence where T&T played Bermuda for the first leg has thhis new type of surface. Remember when we played T&T the friendly there two weeks ago there was some concern about it by the reggaeboyz.

pr

Canada's national stadium is BMO Field (with artificial turf) in Toronto, so they can use if for World Cup qualifiers if they wish.

But their own players prefer to play on grass.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
                              Canada's national stadium is BMO Field (with artificial turf) in Toronto, so they can use if for World Cup qualifiers if they wish.

But their own players prefer to play on grass.
                              Fyah box him yes white man:

The awarding of the CONCACAF qualifier to Montreal instead of Toronto's BMO Field - which is the national training centre and has artificial turf - could be seen as coup for the city. But factors such as stadium availability and the fact Saputo Stadium has a natural-grass field played a significant part in the association's decision to have the game played here.

"It's what the players are used to," said national team head coach Dale Mitchell, who insisted on having the game played at a grass facility. "Ninety per cent of the guys on the team are based in Europe and grass is what they're used to, not turf. So it's an issue of them feeling more comfortable playing on what they're used to.

"It doesn't mean the players can't play on it," Mitchell added. "One of the things I mentioned when the guys played against Costa Rica at BMO Field last September, I thought they played well and handled the turf well. But from their point of view, grass is what they're used to and we said if we can make it happen, we'll try to do that."