I'm not criticising Simoes, says Barrett

yow... my take is simoes has his reasons for using other subs instead of a goalkeeper... he could have surmised that making a change for a goalkeeper in this game would be useless... the gk still would not be tested... he could learn more about his team by using other players in different roles and attempt to build team chemistry...

if we should look at it without the emotion, what would sawyers contribute in the game, coming on as a sub...

if an argument was being made to start sawyers that would be more plausible... that argument has not been put forward by any of the 'coaches' on the forum...

the short, simoes is in charge and he has his plan... all this second guessing and strident oppositon to his work is plain arrogance...

to question his moves is different than to attempt to tell him what is best for the team... none of us really know his motive or logic why he does what he is doing... he has been successful in his work... give him some space...

if an argument was being made to start sawyers that would be more plausible... that argument has not been put forward by any of the 'coaches' on the forum...
      So, suh now wi ah coaches? What does that make you who put forth your opinion too.

I was not making a case for Simoes using Sawyers as a sub. My concern was that you play 6 games since you have taken over the team. Four of them are friendlies and two are WCQ. At least give the man some minutes in one of them, whether it is at the start or the end. I only emphasized the end of the last game because we saw that poor Bahamas could not score 13 goals to beat us in under 45 minutes of the second half of the 2nd game.

Anyway, is missa Simoes side, but let us hope Ricketts nuh go fi a ball and pull a hamstring or stomach muscle.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

We could easily have missed WC98. But I guess, we didn't! So we can chat like this till kingdom come!

Tilla, lets not get into discussing the man's salary.

I dont see how we can be making a big issue out of this. I doubt he is the first coach to have started 6 games on the trot with the same keeper on the starting lineup. In all honsetly, The Bahamas wouldnt prove Simoes with a good indication of how good/bad the 'keepers are, as they wouldnt have much to do in the games anyway.
          President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

There you go again missing it RF. Yuh know, is a bigger argument than yuh, leave it alone.

I only mentioned salary because some folks seem to think Simoes cannot do wrong. We are paying him to make the best decisions to get us to 2010 WC. Anyway, I won't mention his salary anymore sar.

It is only in Jamaica you see you are not able to talk about the salary of a public servant like Simoes. Everybody knows that for example Scholari was making $2.5 million as coach for Portugal. He gave it up to take up Chelsea's job for $6m. Jost Murinho now is the highest paid coach in the world with Interr, making $7M annually. Alex Ferguson makes $2.5M as manager of ManUre. I could go on and on.

If Simoes wants his salary to be a private issue, then he need not take jobs which put him in the public spotlight. Once he is a public figure however, then his salary is fair game for discussion by anyone.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

But simoes salary is not a private matter Tilla, the JFF already disclosed that. Fact that the man make more than the Prime minister shouldnt be used against him. I doubt people judge the Maurinhos if this world based on what money they make.

Simoes might have a very good reason for going along with Ricketts in all games since he's been in charge. Didnt Whittaker, McCallum and Sawyers get an extended look during the Bora era? I dont recall Ricketts playing under Bora...didnt see anyone criticizing back then.
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

So if his salary s not a private matter, why can I not discuss it?

RF, you are preparing for World Cup. Yor are coach you have to make sure that all your charges are properly seasoned forr the games at hand. Why play one man in 6 games and not give the other even a minute? What happens if Ricketts gets injured?

Moreover, don;t tell me about those guys got time under Bora. Was Simoes supervising the team then to see what Sawyers was doing?

Anyway, I am going to leave this discussion alone as you guys are irritating me with your weak arguments.

its not about discussing his salary...point I am making is that the fact that he is highly paid (or poorly paid) shouldnt give us more or less right to cast judgement on his team selection. We dont kn ow what transpspire at training, we dont know if the goal-keeping coach (Santos) have influenced his choice of keeper etc. We are well within our rights to criticise/praise, but we must not do so blindly.

And you are a know Rickettes hater too

Yuh got that right. Notice I have been saying he has shown improvement in his ball distribution though. I do not hate Ricketts, I just think his keeping is more like he is not thinking the game. He used to play against us with his big punts each time he got the ball. Seems as if the goalkeeper coaches are working wonders for him.

I still think we have better keepers than Ricketts at home.

I am unlike Barrett and believe should have given the backup

goalkeeper even a 15 minutes. He should have rest Pepe or take him off and give another defender a chance.