• I'm not criticising Simoes, says Barrett

BY PAUL A REID Observer writer reidp@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, June 22, 2008

MONTEGO BAY, St James - Former Reggae Boyz goalkeeper and captain, Warren Barrett, said his comments that technical director Rene Simoes should have made more changes for the return-leg CONCACAF World Cup qualifying game against the Bahamas on Wednesday were taken out of context.

Barrett was quoted on a local television station as saying if he were the coach he would have given other players a chance, especially the back-up goalkeeper.

For full story see: "I'm not criticising Simoes, says Barrett"
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Barrett, just get some balls and criticize the man and done. You have every right to do so.

It is something I have said too about Simoes. He has played three friendlies plus two World Cup Qualifiers and he has not given any playing time to the back up goalkeeper in any of them. That is short sightedness on the coach's part if you ask me. I guess he does not think that Ricketts can get injured or sent off because of card etc.

After beating Bahamas by 7-0, if I were coach I would have given some playing time to some more players. What is the chance of us losing by 8 goals to Bahamas even if we used a total second eleven team? It was pointless to beat the Bahamas by another 6 goals after you had a comfortable 7 goal lead already.

A coach's decisions make or break teams. Let us hope Simoes had good reason to do what he did for that second game against minnows Bahamas.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

He has kept the lineup because he said he is not yet comfortable with the Chemistry in the team. Drastic changes to the lineup would not help that chemistry.

While we have a right to criticize the man can't win. playing against Trinidad the man gave so many sub a run and man cuss the man fi it.

What if the backup nuh ready? what if him spilll two goas.

Sass, yuh nuh easy at all. Suh when you want fi fine out if the backup ready? When we have to play Mexico in WCQ and Ricketts is injured? Do you realize that the backup goalkeeper has not seen any action at any level of competition since Simoes arrived?

Would you have a problem if he spilled two goals against Bahamas and we still go through than he makes serious errors when it counts and it affects us going forward? Do you realize that it would take eight goals (8) from that Bahamas side against us and us not scoring any for them to go through over us?

Chemistry or not, the second goalkeeper has to be figured into the whole team chemistry too. It shows poor planning on the part of Simoes as a coach that he has played 5 games in the past three to four weeks and he has a player like his back up goalkeeper not seeing any of the action.

I am not like you wearing blinkers Sass. I call it how i see it.

I don't think the second keeper getting a run against the Bahamas would be of any more help than NPL training.

It is not about me and you. It is more about our supporters and analysts in Ja.

I had no problem when he made all the subs in the Trinidad games and I have no problem if he put in anybody in an uncompetitive game.

It is just ime for us to realise that developement is not just about beating teams by providing the highest possible scoreline.

Don't see how a goalkeeper change, even at half-time, would have wrecked that chemistry.

And by the way, I am not criticising Simoes either!

what r u really saying, sass?

then do it. no?

Yuh still missing the point Sass. Even with all the changes he made against T&T in Jamaica (which makes that 6 games for your info), he did not give the second string GK any playing time. When then is he going to play him? It is madness on the part of Simoes if you ask me.

It is just ime for us to realise that developement is not just about beating teams by providing the highest possible scoreline.
                      Exactly what I am saying. I however said it differently, that it was pointless trying to hammer Bahamas in the ground in the second leg, while missing an opportunity to give your second string GK some playing time.

Watch Bradley and the USA side today. He is leading by 8-0 already, so he has made sweeping changes to the team to play Barbados. He realizes this is a good chance to give exposure to this other players on the squad. So what if they lose to Barbados by to, three or even four goals. Do you think this Barbados side will beat the second elevel USA side by 9 goals? That is highly unlikely.

The chemistry comment was with regards to the team as a whole, not the goalkeeper. Although Simoes may feel that Ricketts needs more time to brainwash him into not kicking the ball away.

Jamaican people want win and win now. Spotlight is on every starter and sup in every practise or meaningless games. They are also the ones who full up the stadium and whether the coach like it or not they also influence some decisions.

Right the masses of Jamaicans want to win and by the biggest margins possible.

Good God Me man, it nuh matter how you spin it. You should not play 6 games, 4 of them meaningless and of the two with meaning you do not give the backup keeper some playing time. Prudent team managment demands this!

I bet you if it were CB or Boyus, they would have figured a way to get the second string keeper some playing time?

Tilla the difference is America only have die hard football fans and they can full up a stadium regardless of the choice of players Bradley put out there. Regardless of one result the fans will be there.

Not so with Ja. One bad result against the Bahamas now and you see how many supporters start cusssing etc. It them can boo in the game against Trinidad what would they do in a world cup qualifier against Bahamas.

Also take into consideration the scoreline when our under 23 last played against them andthat teamd included Luton Shelton amongst others.