William Moravek Jr. Update
Savage was a nice person...he worked hard...tell all the players I said hello please. I was young and inexperienced...same as when I was with Seba...but fortunately we had a nice little tournament when I was in the BVI. Certainly after leaving Seba and going to England I changed as a coach quite dramatically. Anyone who saw me with Seba...then 2 years later with the National team would agree I am sure...wish I had had that experience before going to the BVI...and with Seba for that matter. Some of the things I was doing with those two teams I cringe at now.
No...but I underestimated just how tough their lives away from the field was..and didnt relaise how bad their nutrition was...some of those guys never ate. I was ill prepared in that way..in addition my training methods I believed at the time were dated. But that is what I was seeing in the US at the time...so how was I to know...it wasn't until I saw Clovis and what they were doing that I realized I had alot to learn...and then of course spending 2 years in England around Gordon Strachan (manager of Celtic), Steve Wigley (England 21 assistant and Bolton first team coach), and George Prost ( Marseille Youth Director)....helped me a great deal. When I did go back to Jamaica with the national team...the difference was quite significant.
You may remember that when I had Seba...the beginning of both rounds we were actually on top of the league after like the first 3-4 games....but then we dropped like a rock after..both times....I drove those guys to hard..like we were in the US...and I had no idea what they were going thru away from the field...it was my fault really for not taking the time and making a better effort to find out what their lives were all about. I was much more informed the second go around....at some point when my boys get older I wouldn't mind coming back and coaching one of the club teams...we'll see..
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostGood!
Things have certainly changed from when I used to play football! Not sure some of our coaches realise that it's a dynamic sport, in the way it's coached and played.
Good God Mosiah! Things nuh must change since you used to play football. Man stop walk round and a light lamp post a night time. We have electricity now... yuh caan chat to we!!! A modern times now.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015